Does God text?

I’m just curious and mean no disrespect, but do you think God texts, tweets, or posts? Have you gotten any messages?

Hand-written cards and letters have basically disappeared, email is frowned upon by the under 50 crowd, telephone calls take a back seat to social media feeds, and the vast majority of today’s society seem to prefer text messages to any other form of communication.

Births, deaths, marriages, divorces – they’re all reported on social media.

So, when it comes to religion, are people still praying or are they looking for God on their various feeds?

Facebook and Twitter have numerous pages devoted to God. Did you know Jesus Christ has more followers than God while The Holy Spirit falls way behind them both?

I just read a blog post asking readers how to increase Twitter stats and found an interesting comment: “What I do love about Twitter though is the variety of Tweeters I follow, including…God herself!”

With stats like this, I’m really leaning toward God texting. But, I’m not hearing any dings on my phone so just in case I’m going to say an old-fashioned prayer tonight before bed so I’ve got all my bases covered.

Have a great Monday, and if your phone dings today with a Godly text, by all means let me know. 🙂

 

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Blogging and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

46 Responses to Does God text?

  1. pbmgarden says:

    LIkewise, please keep us posted Judy.

    Like

  2. I love sending out old fashioned Christmas cards, envelopes, stamps, etc. In fact, I love greeting cards of any kind, beautiful stationary for letter writing, hand made books.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dan Antion says:

    I called a family member that I almost always text or email (it’s OK, he’s over 50) and his first response was “what’s wrong?” – I’ll stick to old fashioned prayers for now.

    Like

  4. libbylottie says:

    Loved this post! 🙂

    Like

  5. Judy, I’ve often thought it would much simpler if God send me an email or text letting me know what He wants me to do, telling me the answer to my prayers (delivered in the normal way), or imparting whatever other information He wants me to know. Fortunately, quite a lot is pretty clear from the Bible and I’m pretty sure the waiting is good for us. Sigh. Following God by Twitter would be much too easy and superficial. But if you look for Him i the twittering of birds, that’s a different story.

    Regarding other methods of communication, I love to send cards and letters, even though I enjoy the immediacy of texts and emails. The problem is that people then expect answers immediately, solutions immediately, and so on. Often a time gap is profitable, especially if you want a soft answer to turn away wrath. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • He does make us work for our answers doesn’t he? But, that’s okay because we learn something along the way. Twittering of birds, beauty of flowers, puffy clouds, water crashing on shore, trees blowing in the wind – all good signs. Love your communication comments. 🙂

      Like

      • If we got all our answers right away, we wouldn’t learn most of what we need to know. I made the mistake of asking for patience and He put me in situations where I could develop it. I must have been a slow learner. 🙂

        Like

  6. Oh, I would so love to see God in my feed. Or be able to text back and forth directly with Him, as it’s often hard to hear his voice. Thankfully I do have a few Godly folks sharing Godly messages in my feeds. That, I think, is how He’s showing up in social media. At least every now and then.

    Thought-provoking post, my friend!

    Like

  7. Lorrie says:

    I’ve heard from God via posts written by others – sometimes it’s just the quote or verse to challenge or comfort me when I need it. I stick to old-fashioned prayers for direct communication with God. So glad his wi-fi is never down or weak!

    Like

  8. And here I am not even realizing that email is out of fashion. Who knew? I haven’t even made it to phoning God, much less texting. I think I won’t go there.

    Like

  9. Dawn says:

    I feel the same, Judy! I love email for its ‘fast’ responses. However my young friends and relatives tell me that they need 7-10 business days to reply to an email. I’m not a texter or a tweeter, I think I must need more words than that! Blogging is just perfect for me, with plenty of words and photos. I love the chance to share little stories through blogging! It feels like having wonderful pen pals throughout the world! Nothing makes me happier than mailing handmade cards with handwritten letters to friends and family, near and far. I love my old-fashioned ways! ♡

    Like

    • Didn’t you do a double take the first time a younger person told you they needed more time for email? 🙂 I text to one family member because that is the preferred method for them. I may have been the fastest typist in high school but the only thing I needed thumbs for was the space bar. Now I need a remedial class for thumbing. And, then I need another class to avoid autocorrect when it thinks it knows what I want to say and then another class on how to put the phone away without hitting the phone or message icon without knowing it until my family member texts to ask me what I want. 🙂 As you can tell, I prefer email any day of the week.

      Like

  10. The Bible says that God speaks in a still small voice so of COURSE God would text rather than call on the PHONE. ha ha ha…you must have been working in the church gardens today. When I came over here and saw the post title I just bust out laughing thing this has to be a Good one! 🙂

    Like

    • Yes, the church gardens are what brought this to my mind. 🙂 I dig, weed, plant and I listen but it’s pretty quiet except for the walkers who stop to talk which always makes me wonder if he is talking to me through someone else. 🙂 You are right, texting is much quieter than a ringing phone.

      Liked by 1 person

  11. I am a reluctant late adapter. I have to text for work and to communicate with my kids, but I still do it by hunt and peck and frequently feel that my fingers are too big for the screen. As for social media, I can barely keep up with facebook and find twitter bewildering. And all those other, newer media – I’m not even sure what they are/do.

    Like

  12. And let me add I have not intention of switching from real books to ebooks.

    Like

    • You had me at ‘real’ books. There is something about holding that book, turning a page, getting to the end of the chapter, using a book mark – I love it. I understand the lure of ebooks with the ability to download, increase font size and carry it in a purse or briefcase, but I still love ‘books.’ 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  13. adaliza says:

    What we believe, we’ll never know, but what I do know is that life’s a mystery and there’s more to death than meets the eye! I think the universe moves in mysterious ways. Thanks for popping by my blog Ax

    Like

  14. Grandma Kc says:

    Great post! Jenna told me the other day that one of the upper graders (8th) had told her only old people send emails anymore. Freaked Jenna out to be classified an old person!

    Like

    • I’m laughing here because I’m picturing that conversation because it is the same one I’ve had on several occasions with some people around that same age. 🙂 But, tell Jenna we’d be thrilled to have her in our group because she would be by far the youngest and could lower our average age. 🙂

      Like

  15. Haha, it seems email is getting increasingly outdated! Who knew!

    Like

  16. Paige says:

    Love your take on this. Well said! : )

    Like

  17. Your post made me LOL!, No, God doesn’t text. Texting, and especially twitter is a something from the pits of hell! Can you tell I HATE texting?
    I communicate with God the old fashioned way, through prayer and waiting on the Holy Spirit to speak to my heart. I still enjoy receiving handwritten correspondence, but never find the time to write myself…plus my penmanship is so lacking, even I can’t read my writing, thus I have gone over to the darkside and mostly communicate with long-distance loved ones through facebook. Does that make me a bad person? 🙂

    Like

    • I grew up in an era where cursive handwriting skills were valued but must admit as I get older the fingers don’t work quite an well as they use to. I also think using Facebook for staying in touch with long-distance loved ones is the absolute #1 purpose for it. I’ll leave it at that because if I say more I’ll have to do a whole post rant. LOL

      Liked by 1 person

  18. Cath says:

    What a great post! 🙂 I’m right there with you – I’m a praying the old fashioned way but never discounting Him hard at work with someone texting me…stay tuned! 🙂

    Like

  19. Tina Schell says:

    Laughed about this one Judy, till I realized it’s not really funny. There’s more texting than writing or calling for sure – and getting worse every day. The only thing that’s ever in my mailbox are bills and the occasional wedding invitation (those are still, thank goodness, hard copy). I must admit tho that my friends and I do still practice the ancient art of hand-written thank you notes occasionally. Don’t you just love it when one shows up?!

    Like

  20. Psalms 119:8 says – “Open my eyes that I may see…” It is interesting that many are asking for a message on their social media feeds. Messages comes from friends on the feed. Is God your friend?

    Like

  21. lumar1298 says:

    We are loosing some amazing communications due to social media… I still send out cards and I still phone people… I also like face to face conversations rather than texts. Times have sure changed and I’m not sure it’s for the better…

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think time is going to tell if it is for the better, but I’m not seeing it right now. I still love to have coffee spend time with people – smile, nod, laugh, listen, talk. Today’s communication involves a few characters sent and received immediately. I’m thinking the old ‘drive through mentality’ has taken over the world. So, I’m grateful for these few minutes of conversation we’ve had here. Have a great day. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  22. Amanda Larson says:

    I don’t even know how to text so I hope he also sticks to more traditional forms of communication and sends an email or Christmas card every now and then 😉

    Like

  23. Joyce says:

    I really enjoyed not only your post, but the lively conversation that follows! I do wonder what God is thinking. Stone tablets were good enough for him, and now we use air waves to say what we want in as few strokes as possible! Personally, I love visiting our local Carmel chapel and just silently conversing with my creator there. And there were times where I think he clearly told me what to do, too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

