Painting Flags Across America

Last Wednesday, the local news covered the Painting Flags Across America Tour, which was here in New Hampshire.

Artist, Scott Lobaido, was painting a three-dimensional stars and stripes at the American Legion Post 47 in nearby Rollinsford, New Hampshire.

FlagCollage

On a six-month tour, Lobaido’s goal is to paint an American Flag on either a Veterans of Foreign Wars building or an American Legion post in all 50 states. The New Hampshire flag was #29 out of 50.

Lobaido is hoping to raise awareness about the over 2 million veterans under the age of 35, and “to remember why we have this awesome freedom and what that flag stands for and who raised that flag for us, which is the men and women of the armed forces.”

I would have driven wherever to see this flag, but as it was, I only had to go five miles. But, when we got there, a car and a truck were parked right in front of it. As the driver exited the car, I asked him politely if he could possibly park in another space, and he readily complied. But, the truck? My husband was talking to a dog walker who had stopped, and he said he knew who owned the truck. So he went inside and asked. It always makes for a fun moment when you request a stranger leave and move his car in order to take a photo. I was asked by the driver if the new parking space was okay with me. LOL But, I got the shots. 🙂

And, if I had a drink in my hand, I’d raise it to Scott Lobaido for this patriotic adventure he’s on across this vast Country to remind us all never to forget about service and sacrifice.

Celebrating America, Thanking our Veterans

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Painting Flags Across America

  1. What a great cause and his artistry is beautiful!

    Like

  2. Joyce says:

    Beautifully done! I have never heard of him but will research if he’s been to Michigan yet. Who knows? There may be one 5 miles away from me, too….with a car and a truck parked in front of it….and I’m a fearless grandma with a camera too, so…….!!!! “Get out here and move those vehicles please!” ASAP!

    Like

  3. libbylottie says:

    Wonderful! I’ll have to see if he’s been here in West Virginia yet! Thanks for sharing….

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Dan Antion says:

    What a cool project. Kudos to you for clearing the scene for a better shot.

    Like

  5. What a wonderful way to thank our veterans! So glad the people were nice about moving their cars so you could get these great photos!

    Like

  6. Grandma Kc says:

    It was worth the effort to get the shot! It is wonderful and I do think that NH got one of the best flags that he did! I went and looked at the others and they are all amazing but that one is extra special. Thanks for sharing this as I had no idea about it!

    Like

  7. I need you to go with us when we go travelling. Neither Judy or I would have had the courage to request that the truck be moved.

    Like

  8. Big and bold, so naturally I like it Judy! Great to see patriotism especially when it’s expressed so attractively and meaningfully.

    Like

  9. I don’t know what is more impressive…the artist, the flag, or you bossing people around for your photo shoot, LOL!!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Annie says:

    This is so interesting and uplifting. What a nice post to read after being on the west coast for a week. It makes me happy to return home.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Dawn says:

    I’m so happy that you shared this wonderful story, Judy! The beautiful flags that Scott Lobaido is painting make my heart swell with so much pride and gratitude. Honoring our veterans is so very important! ♡

    Like

Leave a Reply

