Weekly Photo Challenge: Muse

Bath, One dollar fine to drive any team faster than a walk on this bridge. 1832

I’ve posted about Bath, New Hampshire before, but it came to mind with today’s challenge – muse.

My grandparents’ small dairy farm was 4.6 miles from Bath so I traveled by and through it too many times to count on my childhood summers on the farm.

Today, I’m always in awe to think I’m standing on a 374′ 6″ bridge spanning the Ammonoosuc River  that was originally constructed in 1832 for $2,900.

This bridge is the fifth structure to stand on this site. The first one was constructed in 1794 for $366.66 and was destroyed by flood waters as were the second and third replacement bridges.  The fourth bridge was lost to a fire.

When I get up north to the White Mountains, the trip just isn’t complete if I don’t get to visit the covered bridge. My husband doesn’t get my attachment, but he patiently waits for me.

I walk a ways, lean on the wood rails, watch the river flow beneath and contemplate the families and the traffic that have crossed over this river under the safety of this covered bridge for over 220 years.

American history – I love it. 🙂

In response to The Daily Post’s weekly photo challenge: “Muse.”

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
Quote | This entry was posted in Photography, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Muse

  1. Love covered bridges!

    Like

  2. I love covered bridges. We have one down the street. It is no longer in use, but it’s beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. pbmgarden says:

    Covered bridges are iconic in my impression of New England.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Karen says:

    The covered bridges are a delightful part of New England history. I’m like you, I love them.

    Like

  5. Pingback: Muse | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  6. Grandma Kc says:

    I totally get it! If that bridge were in my life I would have to visit it every chance I got and I would have to walk out and stare down at the water. Silly husbands!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Nancy says:

    I also totally get it… A covered bridge is a beautiful sight.
    And when I go to my lake house… I have to walk the whole road up and down the lake… every time I visit!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. What wonderful memories. I love covered bridges and I’m pretty sure we visited this on on a trip to New England in 2004. Love the i tires.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Wonderful to have a structure with so much history. Love the sign.

    Like

  10. Amanda Larson says:

    Oh my goodness, that bridge is older than my state. I’ve never seen a bridge quite like that—the construction is amazing!

    Like

  11. Pingback: Thrift Story Candy | litadoolan

  12. Love those shots! Such a beautiful bridge. And the photograph taken inside looking through to the outside is especially effective. I can feel what it’s like in there: old, cooling, timeless, and sturdy. And it’s in such good shape. Lovely work (yours and the bridge’s)

    Like

  13. Eliza Waters says:

    That is a very long bridge! The cost of repairing them is astronomical these days. We have one down the road that was built in 1869 and the reno. cost a few years ago was over a million dollars! Grant money was the only way it got done.

    Like

  14. Tina Schell says:

    Before I moved south I lived in Pennsylvania and we had several covered bridges near my home. I agree they’re wonderful and pretty awe-inspiring! Hadn’t thought of them in a long time, thanks for the reminder!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Pingback: Muse : The Daily Post’s weekly photo challenge - Sylvain LANDRY

  16. Joyce says:

    I love how you live in an area where “built in 1794” is just part of every day life! The people who crossed that first bridge gazed down at the exact same spot you do now, and I share your interest in wondering how they looked, what they wore and who they were!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Happy Fourth of July!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

