Tuesday talk

I always post on Monday, but I was busy. My church lady gardening friend asked me to help her bring some gardens back to life at a summer chapel near us. First, we shopped in my yard to get the plants we wanted as there was no budget.

We loaded up her car and my Yukon and headed over to redo a long driveway bed and a wonderful rock wall garden. Next time, we have to attack the back side of the rock wall garden and cut back the shrubs there and replant buckets of hosta that we dug up.

We have been getting rain about every other day, the grass grows at mock speed and the weeds are running rampant. The veggies and fruits are having a challenging time. They are growing but they are getting no sun (it’s shining today-yeah). The majority of the tomatoes have no blossoms.

VeggieCollage

So, when it rains, I quilt. My project right now is a king-sized quilt for my daughter’s wedding anniversary this year so I guess it is good I’m getting some rainy days.

Joe B. ParksI don’t know if I’ve mentioned it before, but I’m directionally challenged and always have been. So, I received an email about weeds at one of my plots that I tend at Joe B. Parks Riverwalk Garden downtown. After a couple of exchanges, it was determined that I’ve been working in the wrong plot. What can I say except I hope the other tender enjoyed my assistance. Now, I need to get back down there and weed where I’m suppose to, and I’m guessing I’ll be there a while.

Last weekend we enjoyed a couple of brewery visits – good beer and good food. This coming holiday weekend we’ll stay closer to home. Fourth of July means one thing when you live in NH – tourists and lots of them. We enjoy their spending money, but it also means you have to stay off major interstates at busy times and avoid tourist attractions. Good time to get out the smoker and enjoy some good beer and good food at home.

Gotta go – plots needs weeding, grass needs mowing, weeds at home need pulling, raspberries need picking. 🙂 Here’s hoping you are having a good Tuesday.

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Tuesday talk

  1. Couldn’t you have taken a wrong turn and ended up here to weed my garden? That’s quite the story about your weeding the wrong plot!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. pbmgarden says:

    Hope the other plot owner is appreciative for the weeding help.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Why is it that weeds always seem to grow even when we can’t get the “good” plants to grow????

    Liked by 1 person

  4. quiltify says:

    I so agree about the 4th. Stay home! And summer weekends as well. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Crazy growing season!
    It’s not even gotten hot out to get things going either. Well, if everything was the same, life would be boring!
    Next time get directionally challenged my way. . Just go west for a few states and right at the big lake. I’ll be waiting! 😉

    Like

  6. We too are directionally challenged too. Sadly, so is our GPS which sends us in strange directions. So I’m back to printing out direction from MapQuest and Google. Usually we get there. Sometimes, late. Occasionally, not at all. Those raspberries made my mouth water 🙂

    Like

  7. Please send some rain my way! Hope we get a peek at the quilt when it is done.

    Like

  8. I bet the lot you’ve been giving love to looks fantastic! Good luck with the one in the other direction. And best wishes for a happy Fourth of July holed up and free of tourists. (I can see why they flock there; such a gorgeous area… with lovely lots of flowers and foilage tended to by directionally challenged residents!) 😀

    Like

  9. sally says:

    Hi Judy, It’s so nice of you to volunteer to take care of public gardens! I manage to help a friend or two on occasion but that’s it…..
    Sorry to hear you’ve had so much rain…..it can make for a horrid growing season.
    We’re doing the family cookout thing on the 4th……low key and no driving for us!
    Happy Independence Day!

    Like

  10. Eliza Waters says:

    Summer keeps us hopping in the garden to be sure. It feels like we’ll never catch up!
    I’m with you about staying home and off the highways this weekend. I can’t even fathom why folks want to go to a crowded beach and sit hours in traffic!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Joyce says:

    I get lost going out to the mailbox…surprised I don’t come in with my neighbor’s mail!
    I admire people who have a special skill and then share it by volunteering to help others. I’ve done free artwork for years for several charities and as I age, and begin to look back, it’s one of the things I am most proud of. You are making the world a better place – and beautifying houses of the Lord himself!

    Like

  12. Grandma Kc says:

    Sure do wish I could come help you eat some of those raspberries! They look so yummy! We are getting all of your sunshine and you are getting all of our rain. It doesn’t seem right! I knew we had a lot in common, I’m also directionally challenge but not as bad as husband. 7 years later and he can still get lost driving home from work!

    Like

    • I think of you every day that it rains and it’s been raining a lot. 🙂 I would gladly share my raspberries with you while we laugh about directions. That is one thing I love about having a GPS – I hit ‘home’ and I can get there from about anywhere unless that is she makes a mistake. 🙂

      Like

  13. Funny about tending the wrong garden plot. Maybe the person with that plot thinks that it comes with free gardening service! I too am directionally challenged. I remember a summer job in an orchard where we were supposed to mow the grass (with a scythe, if you can believe) between the rows of trees, but I always ended up switching to the wrong row.

    Like

    • Thank you – I like to know I’m in good company. 🙂 I went back down to see the plot I suppose to be tending. Well…it is full of horsetail weed and vines and it is a hill that goes right into the river above the falls. LOL I emailed the project coordinated and said I’m not thinking this is a plot I can maintain so please take my name off this one and I’ll be glad to help somewhere else. 🙂 At this point in life, I’m picturing going in my sleep not going over the falls. LOL

      Liked by 1 person

  14. Well it is bad enough to have to weed. Worse to have to weed with all of the rain we are getting and they grow so quickly but weeding THE WRONG PLOT? Sorry but LMAO! 🙂 That’s a good one 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

