Thursday Doors in Blue

Door1

Elizabeth Barrett Browning said it best – How do I love thee? Let me count the ways.

I stopped at this door in Bruges (Brugge in Dutch) and wondered if someone would call the police about a woman lingering outside their door.

The blue color drew me in at first glance. Then I saw the lovely 9Β panelΒ windows above the door. How striking.

And as I started to leave, I kept staring at the door hardware. Never have I seen door hardware with a rabbit.Β Is it the door handle or is it a combination handle and bell? I don’t know but it certainly is unique, and it makes me smile. πŸ™‚

Door2

Linked to Norm Frampton’s Thursday Doors – July 2, 2015.

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Photography, Thursday Doors and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Thursday Doors in Blue

  1. Norm 2.0 says:

    That is just beautiful – excellent choice!

    Like

  2. KerryCan says:

    What is it about doors that’s so engaging? This is a beauty!

    Like

  3. Dan Antion says:

    This is a fantastic door. I love the large detailed transom and the rabbit handle is a very nice feature. The color would draw me in too. Maybe Norm should issue “Door Photographer” cards so we don’t get arrested on days like this. I’m glad you took the chance, this was a great find.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. pbmgarden says:

    I love a blue door. The rabbit is unique.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sammy D. says:

    Gorgeous door and door art! Not only a rabbit but an upside down rabbit. Very Alice in Wonderland! I’m glad others have qualms about being arrested for ‘looking suspicious while photoing”!! I never know whether to knock and ask permission or just furtively snap away. I love Dan’s idea of a photo card. I think I’ll make one up and have it laminated to wear around my neck πŸ˜€

    Next time give that rabbit a twist to see if it’s knob or bell. If you’re going to jail you might as well get all your q’s answered first!

    Like

  6. taphian says:

    that’s so beautiful and unique, I love old doors

    Liked by 1 person

  7. That door looks so cool set in the bricks. Cheers =)

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Judy, I’ve often wondered if someone will emerge from whatever or wherever I’m taking a photo and accost me or, at very least, wonder what I’m doing. So far, so good. Love the door and the details. I’m going to have to join this challenge as I have a number of doors from different places.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Paige says:

    Just beautiful!

    Like

  10. Peaceful. Lovely. Truly beautiful. A door I want to knock on as there surely must be pleasant things inside.

    Like

  11. Nancy says:

    Love this door! And… I did not notice the rabbit at first!
    Is there smoked meat behind that door? πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜‰

    Like

  12. Eliza Waters says:

    Beautiful door and a central door handle that is so unique! A marvelous find!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Joyce says:

    I didn’t notice that rabbit at first either! I wonder how long it has been there. Everything in Bruges has that charming, ages-old, lovingly-weathered look. beautiful shade of blue, too!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Grandma Kc says:

    That door knob or whatever it is — love it! You sure did find some cool doors on your trip and I can see why you were drawn to this one especially — that color! Thanks for “The Doors Tour”!

    Like

  15. Elizabeth - Lili and Mum's says:

    Love the rabbit! This might be my favorite of all your doors!

    Like

Leave a Reply

