Weekly Photo Challenge: Symbol

SymbolCollage

Lighthouses are certainly a symbol of living in New England, and these four are close to where I call home. šŸ™‚ Happy Weekend.

In response to The Daily Post’s weekly photo challenge: “Symbol.”

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
Quote | This entry was posted in Photography, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Symbol

  1. Dan Antion says:

    These are besutiful.

    Like

  2. Indeed if I had to pick one single symbol of the New England coast, it would be a lighthouse. Inland? The small, white clapboard church.

    Like

  3. Joyce Gillis says:

    The lighthouse that I’ve been closest to is the one at Edgartown on Martha’s Vineyard. It’s the same style as these and equally beautiful! You are fortunate to live by so many of them!

    Like

  4. Eliza Waters says:

    Iconic symbols! Neddick is my favorite ā¤

    Like

  5. Great idea and beautiful selection of lighthouses. Cheers =)

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Photo Challenge; Symbol | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  7. I love lighthouses! Great photos for the challenge.

    Like

  8. Sammy D. says:

    I love love lighthouses. Of course there’s nary a one in Colorado, but Michigan had its share on treacherous places along the Great Lakes.

    We visited Portland and enjoyed the setting on that point along with the lighthouse and museum. A most generous, informative museum host that day.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Beautiful photos of these lighthouses. They are a treasure. I live in the Great Lakes region where lighthouses have been invaluable for navigating in the past.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. KerryCan says:

    Do you know the band, from Maine, I think, called Schooner Fare? They do a great song about the light at Portland Head.

    Like

  11. Grandma Kc says:

    I just love where you live (except for the snow part) – so many interesting places and history! Love your collage and really got to looking at it. Thought it looked like some big waves coming at that Ram Island Ledge Light and it looked like it was the one in the distance of the Portland Head Light and so I Googled! The Ram Island one has an interesting history. I love that it is now solar powered. Thanks for the education!

    Like

  12. There are some lighthouses on the Great Lakes as well, but yours have a special character.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Nancy says:

    Excellent choice!

    Like

  14. Judy, I love lighthouses. I have a small one in my bathroom which my grad daughter has taken a like to and in my absence, she’s ‘borrowed’ it and taken it home šŸ™‚ Your post has just reminded me of it and of course, my grad daughter šŸ˜ Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Annie says:

    Wonderful photos! I love lighthouses. I heard an excellent talk on New England lighthouses by Jeremy D’Entremont so now I’ve added a area lighthouse tour to my bucket list. So far I’ve only visited the one in Portsmouth, the Portsmouth Harbor Light.

    Like

  16. Wonderful photos!
    Lighthouses have always been beautiful beacons to many sea travelers. They have many meanings to others. My MIL loves the fact they guide and help travelers when there seems to be no other help available. Anyway, now that she is retired, her and her 3 buddies all travel to cool lighthouses around the US.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Pingback: Old Volcano | litadoolan

  18. I’m not familiar with the Ram Island lighthouse, but the others are three of my favorite lighthouses!

    Like

  19. Elizabeth - Lili and Mum's says:

    I’ve always loved lighthouses. Your photos are lovely!

    Like

Leave a Reply

