Thursday Doors

GrayDoorCollage

Beautiful isn’t it?

In May, I encountered this handsome door while walking around Bruges, Belgium. Its transom window is quite large capturing the neighboring house in reflection while the wreath on the door is pretty and softens the lines, glass, and heavy metal accents.

Let’s talk metal. Have you ever seen anything like this? Any thoughts on the design?

The little black opening at the bottom makes me smile. Do you remember the cartoon duo Tom and Jerry? Doesn’t this look like a perfect entrance and exit for Jerry? 🙂 But, seriously, what do you think it is? Drain of some sort?

I like this door – stately with a substantial dose of character.

Bruges – it was so gorgeous that I could have spent a couple of weeks there instead of a couple of days. If it isn’t on your bucket list, consider adding it. I’d be ready for a return visit with a couple of hours notice.

Linked to Norm Frampton’s Thursday Doors on July 16, 2015.

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Photography, Thursday Doors and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. It’s not a mail slot? If not no clue but what an interesting door !

    Like

  2. Norm 2.0 says:

    Nice one Judy! I would love to know what was the real purpose for that “mouse hole” 🙂

    Like

  3. Dan Antion says:

    What a fun door. I love the details on this, particularly the mouse door (I’m going with that, as I have no clue). Great photos!

    Like

  4. Very cool door, Judy! So much character.

    janet

    Like

  5. Annie says:

    I bet you have a library of great door photos from that historic city. Being a canal city, I’m guessing the small openings are for water drainage in case of flooding. But I like the mouse idea…

    Like

  6. Joyce Gillis says:

    Fairies. Definitely fairies!

    Like

  7. taphian says:

    very beautiful door. I love old doors.

    Like

  8. quiltify says:

    Ditto…and I love the reflection of the neighborhood in the window.

    Like

  9. Quite a creative effort for a metal door. We used to have steel security doors when we lived in Boston and I’ve seen some very attractive ones with all kind of interesting metalwork. I guess you could call it an urban art form?

    Like

  10. Eliza Waters says:

    Great door! Bruges sounds wonderful. From your description, I know I would love it.
    I had a poster in my early 20s of a swan on a canal in Bruges– it really captured my imagination in a magical way. Funny, I haven’t thought of that poster in years until I read this! Maybe the universe is giving me a nudge? 😉
    Maybe you can find out from the tourist bureau what that little door is. Lots of folks probably ask!

    Like

  11. sally says:

    Hi Judy,
    Re: your question about pollinators. It started very slow but has picked up. When it’s quiet, I can hear them buzzing away. We don’t have any honey bees and although we’ve seen Fritillaries, no Swallowtails and I’ve never seen a Monarch….there are a lot of smaller butterflies. But, we border conservation land and it’s heavily wooded…..maybe that’s not many for our location….. plenty of mosquitoes!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. rjbailey says:

    Nice photo. That “mouse hole” is mysterious… 🙂

    Like

  13. Grandma Kc says:

    You really did find some interesting doors and I think you’re right — it is an exit for Jerry the mouse!

    Like

  14. Lovely door and the shape of that tiny ‘mousehole’ reminds me of an old cast iron fireplace.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

