On the way to Maine

DoorFernwoodNurseyOn our recent trip to the midcoastal region of Maine, we realized we were going to pass right by fellow blogger Denise at Fernwood Nursery and Gardens in Montville.

I’ve been following her blog for quite a while enjoying her gardening and farming posts.

Fernwood Nursery and Gardens is located in a beautiful wooded setting, and Denise is the warm-hearted person in real life that she is on her blog. Her gardens are full of lush plants, lovely garden art, several vegetable gardens, some handsome animals, and a door worthy of Thursday Doors.

Fernwood2Collage

I am happy to report that we didn’t have as long as we would have liked to talk because she had a traffic jam of potential customers. Business was brisk and people were waiting for parking spaces early that Saturday morning, and that is always a good thing.

Fernwood1Collage

If I lived closer, I know I’d be buying some of her beautiful Hosta, signing up for her classes, and just stopping by to have a chat because she is a knowledgeable woman.

Blogging is a lot like having pen pals and when you actually get to meet a fellow blogger, it is pretty sweet.

Here’s to a great week for everyone.

I’ve got gardening at home and at the river walk, berry picking, sewing, and a tour on Thursday of Roger Swain’s personal gardens in Greenfield, NH. If you are ‘mature’ enough, you might remember him hosting the television show the Victory Garden on PBS.  He is also the former science editor of Horticulture Magazine and has authored five books. Stay tuned.  🙂

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Gardening, New England and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to On the way to Maine

  1. pbmgarden says:

    Denise’s place looks amazing. Glad you were able to meet up.Enjoy your busy week Judy.

    Like

  2. Thanks for this close up of Denise’s garden. I love her blog too. Have fun with Roger, he is such a hoot!

    Like

  3. Dan Antion says:

    Beautiful gardens and photos. I am old enough to remember Roger Swain and to say that I don’t think the show has been as good since he retired. I look forward to the post that follows that visit. I noticed a beautiful arched wooden door in those photos, is that a preview?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Looks like a delightful place to stop by!

    Like

  5. Lush and inviting! These are lovely photos. I especially love the little piggy in the doorway. Thanks for the introduction to Fernwood Nursery & Gardens. Yes, I certainly remember Roger Swain …… Looking forward to your review…. Happy Week!

    Like

  6. Yes that door is something!! What a beautiful place…so many pretty photos and even the little pig is cute 🙂

    Like

  7. Ogee says:

    Thank you for introducing us to Fernwood and their blog. I can’t wait to hear about Swain’s garden tour!

    Like

  8. What a lovely spot! Thanks for letting me visit as well. Meeting fellow bloggers is one of the biggest joys of blogging. I’m happy to have met quite a few. Maybe one of these days we’ll get up to Maine and can say hello.

    janet

    Like

  9. Beautiful 🙂 It is very satisfying to meet people we know virtually “in the flesh.” It hasn’t happened often, but every once in a while it is a great treat. I’m glad you had such a fine time.

    Like

  10. Cheryl Robertson says:

    That’s so fun you were able to meet her. If you ever come to California, look me up! I really miss Victory Gardens. I loved that show! I would go in my bedroom (hiding from my two boys) and watch the show. It was the most wonderful relaxing half hour. I learned so much from Roger. Is he still alive?

    Like

  11. Annie says:

    Oh, what an amazing place Fernwood Nursery and Gardens is. Lucky you! Roger Swain delighted our garden club with a presentation a year ago. Good practical advice. Bet his veggies look better than mine!

    Like

  12. These photos are lovely. I took a road trip from Toronto to Boston back in May and took the scenic route through Vermont and New Hampshire. We didn’t quite make it to Maine but I’ve heard it’s absolutely amazing. I’m going to recommend you blog to my aunt, she runs garden tours in Edmonton, out in Western Canada, she’d absolutely love this.

    Like

  13. Eliza Waters says:

    Meeting fellow bloggers is fun – attaching a person to their writing/posts. Fernwood looks wonderful. If you ever visit western MA, look me up, too. 🙂
    How lucky to get an invite to Roger’s garden. I guess I am really ‘mature’ because I remember watching Crocker as host. He spoke at my college commencement as one of our famous alumni. He was such a kind man.

    Like

  14. Wow! Nice gardens 😃
    I will be having my first meeting with a fellow blogger next month. So exciting!

    Like

  15. A place full of charm!

    Like

  16. what an amazing and magical place! xo Johanna

    Like

  17. What a treat! I enjoy her blog as well and would love to visit the nursery.

    Like

  18. Grandma Kc says:

    It sounds like you will have a wonderful time! Someday — we will meet, too!

    Like

  19. Hi Judy,
    You are awesome! Thank you for the kind words and posting the great photos of our home and nursery. I did truly regret not getting a chance to sit down for a real ( long) chat and some scones….what about those scones I thought I’d be whipping out that morning!!!!! Well, perhaps we’ll find another time to sit together.and sip tea and eat baked goods, sounds like a plan, heh? You are so right about the very fun thing about blogging ( I think way better than facebook), a nice way to share common ground and to be invited into other worlds. Always so glad to have found your site…..it too is a delight.
    Thank you again, Judy….from your friend,
    denise
    P.S. hello to Dennis

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Joyce Gillis says:

    What a charming, lovely setting! But Denise’s place does remind me of yours, too. Every square inch lovingly brought to life with plantings and comforting shade and shelter. Cutest little piggy ever! I love this lady’s spirit and am so glad you got to visit her in person!

    Like

  21. dennyho says:

    Wonderful fotos and I do remember The Victory Garden, or at least reruns of the same. How nice you actually met a fellow blogger!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

