Thursday Doors in Black

BlackDoorCollage

A simple black door is like having a simple black dress in the closet. It is always in style. 🙂

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Photography, Thursday Doors and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Thursday Doors in Black

  1. It does have a clean, sharp look, doesn’t it. Love it with the white brick! Very nice, Judy!

    Like

  2. How different the design of each is! Is that wisteria growing from a single stalk on the white building photo? I have a “clump” in my yard and it is always sending runners across the yard and up the neighboring trees.

    Like

  3. Dan Antion says:

    The door in the red brick building is stunning!. That’s the perfect color for it. I also like that the other door’s transom window matches the window above. Those little details are often missing on modern houses. Great doors!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Norm 2.0 says:

    Yes indeed it does. I really love the Portsmouth one. The red brick really offsets that door and those planters.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Personally, I favor barn red for a door color, but black is more elegant — and these are very elegant doors.

    Like

  6. Very sharp. I love the look of brick and black and am actually considering re-doing my kitchen with such (one brick accent wall).

    Like

    • I have one small brick wall in my family room area next to the fireplace/pellet stove. I didn’t like the way it stuck out in color so ended up painting it the same color of the wall. I like that effect because I get the texture and look but it still blends in. But, I’m a monochromatic person or some might say boring. 🙂 My Hoya is sprouting new growth. 🙂

      Like

  7. Joyce Gillis says:

    This is fascinating! A world apart, yet each black door is balanced by plantings and a window above it. It must just be human instinct to flank an entry that way!

    Like

  8. joey says:

    Both of them lend a certain formality to their facings 🙂

    Like

  9. Lorrie says:

    Very elegant doors on both continents.

    Like

  10. A fun contrast, those two 🙂

    Like

  11. Grandma Kc says:

    I love your analogy and those are sure beautiful doors!

    Like

  12. narami says:

    Love the bricks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

