Weekly Photo Challenge: Close Up

Closeup

We haven’t seen butterflies for a couple of years, but I had a real treat yesterday when I visited Roger Swain’s garden and saw this Eastern Tiger Swallowtail. (If I’m incorrect on that identification, feel free to correct me. )

There were quite a few butterflies visiting his vast array of gardens, and I couldn’t snap pictures fast enough. I like this one and hope you do too. Enjoy your weekend. 🙂

For other beautiful macro shots, please visit the other entries in Close Up.

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Photography, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Close Up

  1. quiltify says:

    This is beautiful! What size lens did you use?

    Like

  2. Dan Antion says:

    What a great capture Judy. Beautiful photo.

    Like

  3. Dawn says:

    Just gorgeous, Judy! ♡

    Like

  4. A tiger swallowtail! Even when I was a kid, getting to see one of those beauties was a special moment. Still is. Thank you!

    Like

  5. Joyce Gillis says:

    Oh Judy, this is stunning! (Who do you think you are? Debra? lol) – but seriously! – the composition, the clarity, the colors…..and you caught it at the perfect eye level too! Congratulations! A real winner you’ll cherish always – especially next winter!

    Like

  6. My favorite butterfly on my favorite flower! Have a lovely weekend, Johanna

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Sammy D. says:

    You captured it perfectly! Such brilliant colors and clarity in her position. My echinacea are blooming too. I love their hardy ‘attitude’ 😉

    Like

  8. Ogee says:

    Great shot!

    Like

  9. Wow! Great capture there!
    I have been seeing so many butterflies this year, I wonder what woke them all up? I hope it isn’t just a trend and they are back in masses for good. 😃

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Laurie@hinterlands.me says:

    Beautiful photo!

    Like

  11. Mary says:

    Great shot!

    Like

  12. Eliza Waters says:

    Beautiful swallowtail, Judy. What a treat to see Roger’s gardens, too.

    Like

  13. Both beautiful and encouraging! Well done, Judy.

    janet

    Like

  14. pbmgarden says:

    Wonderful photograph Judy. Where did your butterflies go? Last year we saw very few, but this year there are more–not many still, but definitely more.

    Like

  15. Gillian says:

    I’d get excited if I saw butterflies like this. I’ve never seen a Swallowtail. We are trying to help butterflies here in the UK by growing food plants that butterflies need to lay their eggs on. The adults need nectar plants but their caterpillars need specific leaves to eat. Here’s the link to the British Butterfly Conservation site… maybe they can help you encourage them back into your garden. http://butterfly-conservation.org/679-731/swallowtail.html

    Like

  16. Glad you got to see lots of butterflies at your friend’s garden. Maybe they’ll pay you a visit!

    Like

  17. Grandma Kc says:

    That is just beautiful. I hope we get things fixed and your butterflies come back soon!

    Like

  18. Pingback: Napoli unplugged | litadoolan

Leave a Reply

