Garden Tour

Last weekend, I went on a Garden Tour, ‘diggin’ it,’ sponsored by the York County Maine Master Gardeners. Entry to eight gardens was a modest $20.

I started writing this post to include all of the gardens, and I was putting myself to sleep it was so boring. So, I decided to write about the things that I really liked.

FarmCollage

This was a ten-year old farm on which the land had been cleared, house and barn built and farm animals tended by two women and their families. I was impressed with their hard work, dedication and their desire to live off the land. The house was cute, the rock garden of perennials handsome, and the wooden raspberry fence unique. I loved the painted bee hive, and I haven’t even mentioned the goats, pigs, chickens, sheep, turkeys, and rabbits. Nice farm.

MeditationCollage

These were two different gardens on the tour. The water feature on the left was the nicest one we saw and interestingly enough the lot had a water front. The meditation garden on the right was on property so far out and bordered on all sides by dense woods, it seemed like you could meditate by just looking in any direction. But if you wanted a separate space, this was gorgeous and meticulously maintained by the resident Master Gardener and her husband.

CSACollage

These photos are from a farm that offered a CSA program. I was impressed with the quality and design of the hoop house which included raised beds on both sides and in the front and a hanging shelf from the roof for drying things like onions. I also liked the staking system for the tomatoes which was like a trellis system.

The garden of a late 1700’s cape style home owned by a Master Gardener and landscape designer included an extremely small vegetable garden but with a similar tomato trellising system only on a smaller scale. This vegetable garden was in the front yard with the flower gardens and was so good looking it was a show stopper.  I had never seen Astilbe used as a planting under a tree, but I liked it. The perennial gardens were in big curved plots with large groupings of the same plant so there was real punch wherever you looked.

GardenCollage

I had a great time touring these gardens and hope something here caught your eye and gave you an idea for your own garden. I could post another 30 photos of gorgeous flowers from the tour, but I’m going to give you a break and keep them for another day. Well, maybe just a couple.

FlowerCollage

Happy August and enjoy your gardens. I’m struggling with patience because I have numerous plants I want to move around, but it’s too hot. Patience is something I have to continually work on.  🙂

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Garden Tour

  1. pbmgarden says:

    So interesting to visit other gardens like this Judy. Thanks for sharing the highlights of your tour. Of course I like that meditation garden.

    Like

  2. Joyce says:

    I’m impressed with the dedication and skill it takes to plant and maintain these lovely gardens. Even without meeting the owners, I know they are people with intelligence, creativity and a strong work ethic. They are at peace with themselves, the land, and others.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Laurie@hinterlands.me says:

    Yes, patience is a virtue. Unfortunately, not one of my virtues, so I do understand 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Love garden tours, and it looks as if this one was well worth the time and $20! My favorite of your pics is of the little vegetable garden. We have deer in our area, so this might not make it here. So many gardeners have to put up rather tall fences. But this one you’ve shown is a delight!

    Like

  5. Gillian says:

    How brilliant Judy. No wonder you found all those gardens hard to write about first time around. There’s so much to see, photograph and write about in just one garden… never mind eight! A photographer friend once advised me to walk around a garden quickly once then pick a theme… say pink flowers or seed heads or paving and then focus on just that one thing rather than trying to capture it all. But that’s easier said than done, especially if you want to remember it all!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. quiltify says:

    I so admire gardeners. But I particularly love the Cape. I love Capes, but the work in the yard alone!

    Like

  7. Ogee says:

    This garden looks like it has always been there…which makes it perfect in my book!

    Like

  8. I adore garden tours…I have been on so many and enjoyed every one of them. Yours was no exception.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Thanks for the wonderful tour, Judy.

    janet

    Like

  10. Dan Antion says:

    Looking closely at the pole and twine contraption for holding plants up. I’m trying to figure out how that is working. these are beautiful photos Judy.

    Like

    • There are three poles put together like a teepee. Then across the top there is another pole. The tomato plants are trimmed and staked with twine to the top pole. The structures at the farm used an elbow of sorts to hold it all together and the small garden had a green plastic elbow that did the same thing only on a smaller scale. I have a photo and will email it to you.

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Dawn says:

    Just lovely, Judy! Thanks for sharing so much inspiration today. There is something so specialabout the gardens of New England! We had much needed rain here in the Midwest last night. So our gardens are much happier today! I’m headed out to play in the garden now. Cooler days, just perfect for digging, are on the way, Judy! ♡

    Like

  12. Wow! What a great day of gardens. They all seem to have their own little highlights.
    I need to work on patience also, but I’m not patient enough 😲

    Like

  13. Paige says:

    Nice post – thanks for the tour! : )

    Like

  14. I always wanted to put in a water garden, but never felt up to the maintenance. Not in this climate. That one’s a beauty!!

    Like

  15. Quite a beautiful water garden. Your tour shows how well kept small farms and edible gardens can be quite wonderful to look at.

    Like

  16. Grandma Kc says:

    I can sure see why you enjoyed your day! I’m surprised you left!!!!

    Like

  17. reocochran says:

    Your post was a delight, beautiful photos and need to come back and read some more. Sleepy and long work day tomorrow. Take care and see you later! 🙂

    Like

  18. I have my niece staying with me this week Judy so I am getting nothing done, unless you court building sand castles and playing with Lego! Good to catch up on your latest news and escape from domesticity 🙂

    Like

  19. Eliza Waters says:

    As a gardener, I can really appreciate the work that went into all these gardens– blood, sweat and tears! 🙂 I bet it was inspiring.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Oh i just love that first one! Talk about cottage style! I wouldn’t be surprised to see someone in a long dress and bonnet strolling around there.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

