Thursday Farm Doors

On a recent trip to McKenzie’s Farm Stand in Milton, NH, to purchase blueberries, peaches, and their famous apple cider donuts, I noticed a large yellow barn. Well to anyone who always carries a camera, you know what that means – turn around and check it out.

Much to my surprise it was the New Hampshire Farm Museum, which is a working farm that includes the Jones Farm and the Plummer Homestead both dating back to the late 18th century. They offer tours, special events, summer day camp, and a country store that sells fresh heirloom vegetables, eggs, and NH made products like maple syrup.

FarmCollage

It wasn’t open, but there were four women, two in period dress, meeting on the front porch while the free-range chickens grazed.

Ten1I walked around a little and saw this tiny little house on the side of the property.

The sign said it was a ‘Ten Footer.’ Hmm – a ten-foot square 19th century shoe shop where families could store their tools and make their own shoes as well as extras to earn money. Interesting.

TenFooterCollage

Big barn door or little Ten Footer door – I liked them both. Here’s hoping you do too. History lesson thrown in for free. 🙂

Linked to Norm Frampton’s Thursday Doors, August 6, 2015.

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Photography, Thursday Doors and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Thursday Farm Doors

  1. pbmgarden says:

    I found this so interesting (once my eyes settled down–they kept flitting back to “apple cider donuts.”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. KerryCan says:

    I’m with pbmgarden–you had me at the cider doughnuts!

    Liked by 1 person

    • My grandmother made home made donuts when I was growing up – great memories since I slept upstairs in their old farm house and would wake up to the smell coming up through the floor register. These are the closest to hers I’ve found. They are GOOD. 🙂

      Like

  3. Dan Antion says:

    I like them both as well. the big barn door is impressive, but the Ten Footer is so cute (and practical). I like that for even such a tiny structure there is a nice sense of design. Great choice and it sounds like very good eating.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Joyce says:

    What a charming place – doors both large and smaller included! This reminds me of the “House of the Seven Gables” era when you could open part of your house as a shop and sell whatever you wanted to without government interference or regulation! Just a society getting by, sharing talent.
    I wonder if that yellow and green were the original colors on these buildings?

    Like

    • I went back to see if I could find anything about original paint color but after scanning through a 22 page document about all of the windows, doors, trim, mantles and handwritten notes, I couldn’t find anything about the paint. It would be interesting to know though. 🙂

      Like

  5. What a great old homestead and so nice that is being maintained and there is activity surrounding it. And homemade donuts……well, that just seals the deal!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Love both of them…the colors of the paint and the style…such a beautiful old homestead!

    Like

  7. Norm 2.0 says:

    Two lovely doors indeed, but apple cider donuts!!!??? Okay that’s it, I’m jumping in the car right now 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Grandma Kc says:

    I love your history lessons — and your photographs are pretty special, too! Happy Thursday!

    Like

  9. Sammy D. says:

    I can never resist stopping at places like this, and that seems to be a very unusual paint color for barn and outhouses, but I like it! Glad you took time to explore. My eyes kept flitting back to fresh blueberries 😀. Ok, donuts too!!

    Like

  10. joey says:

    I enjoyed the history lesson, of course, the building is beautiful, too. It reminds me my own shed could benefit from a lot of TLC!

    Like

  11. quiltify says:

    How idyllic! I just bookmarked this farm to my ‘local things to do’ list. I love seeing places similar to where my ancestors might have lived and just walk and inhale. Thanks for this, as usual, interesting post.

    Like

  12. Eliza Waters says:

    Love that little 10-footer (and its brightly painted door). It’d make a nice little retreat cabin. 🙂

    Like

  13. Corina says:

    I love the doors, both the large one and the smaller one. I also love all the color in your photos.

    Like

  14. Like that combo of green and mustard yellow.

    Like

  15. jan says:

    Your pictures are making me crave maple sugar candy, something that only tastes good in New Hampshire (or Vermont!)

    Like

  16. dimlamp says:

    Thanks for sharing a bit of the history, along with these photos.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. pbodwell says:

    So fun to just come across these things.

    Like

  18. That little TenFooter is just gorgeous Judy! What a fascinating snippet of history too 🙂

    Like

  19. Such an interesting place, I love the little ‘Ten Footer’ so cute and colourful.

    Like

  20. Dawn says:

    What great discoveries, Judy! I’m sure I could find room in my garden for that sweet, little ‘Ten Footer.’ I’m already thinking about how I would decorate it. 🙂 ♡

    Like

  21. Aditix says:

    The little house is cute. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

