Hot, humid and still gardening

Word3It is hot and humid, but I’m not complaining because I’m surrounded by color everywhere I look. How humid? Well, I have to let my clothes dry out before I can put them in the dirty clothes basket.

I’m not spending time weeding, the weedsWord2 are on their own when it is this hot. What I am doing is moving shade plants that found themselves in the blazing sun after a huge maple tree came down. The transition is complete, but now I’m having to water a couple of times a day and there are a couple of the smaller ones I may lose. Good thing I always have more plants.

StumpI’m also working on converting a tree stump to a permanent fairy house. Feel free to join the rest of my family who think I am nuts and wish I’d get over my fairy house fixation. My husband built me a roof structure so today I painted it before we affix it to the stump tomorrow.

As long as the AC keeps running and the ceiling fans keep turning, I’m okay with the heat but the humidity could sure come down a little. Hot days also mean we have a bumper crop of tomatoes, slicers and cherry, cucumbers by the bags full, peppers, and carrots for our resident rabbit, Herbert Menninger. Good eating.

When I have to give up being outside because I feel like my brain is frying, I get back to work on my quilting project. All 50 quilt blocks are done, now on to squaring them up and sashing.

Gardening, quilting, and planning a mid September road trip to see Gettysburg – life is good. 🙂

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

50 Responses to Hot, humid and still gardening

  1. pbmgarden says:

    Welcome to my summer–hot and humid. I wasn’t even sure if you had A/C. Glad to hear you do. Hope the plants thrive in their new spot.

    Like

  2. reocochran says:

    Oh, goody! I cannot wait to see the fairy house. Will it be a simple one or a palace? I peeked in to see your gardens. Sorry about humidity and having a maple tree cut down. Moving shade plants is a ” chore.”

    Like

  3. We had such perfect, comfortable weather last summer, I almost forgot how smothering the humidity gets this time of year. Phew. It is hard to breathe out there. Like breathing through soup! Our roses are having a field day this year. Usually, they die off, but this year, the pink ones have gone berserk and totally taken over the garden.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m on your side with the fairy house, can’t wait to see some photos! I think the heat does get to us after awhile, nice that you can retreat indoors to indulge in another passion. Have fun! Stay cool! ( It doesn’t seem that long ago that we were saying ” stay warm”).

    Like

  5. Murphy's Law says:

    Can’t wait to see your fairy house! I don’t have one (yet!) but I love them!! Humidity and heat here in the Hudson Valley is brutal….like everywhere else. Seems like I no sooner put hose away when I’m out there watering again. Yet my flowers are absolutely gorgeous this year. Go figure! Impatients, which prefer shade, are thriving in boiling sun! Think if I throw some dollar bills in garden they would multiply and flourish too? Hmmmmmm…….

    Like

  6. Ingrid says:

    I must admit, the Midwestern humidity is starting to really bother hubby and me. So much so, that we even thought about canceling our time in the UP. But we won’t, since I’ve been looking forward to returning to this part of the country for a while. Plus it could dry out neck week…. fingers crossed. In the mean time, I’ll keep using a machete to slice through the air LOL.

    Like

  7. Wow. You’ve completed FIFTY quilt blocks? Congrats.

    Like

  8. Awesome! I hope your make a post for your fairy house! If they think you’re crazy for building one. . I’m must be a complete loon 😍

    Like

  9. quiltify says:

    I’m impressed. I hide from this heat…and gardening!

    Like

    • quiltify says:

      PS, I meant gardening in this heat. I’m a terrible gardener, but I love the result. I stick to perennial bushes and container plants, usually. I love being surrounded by flowers on my patio in the summer.

      Liked by 1 person

      • This heat and matching humidity is oppressive. When I first went out this morning around 9 I wasn’t sure I was going to be able to stay out there – I could hardly breathe normally. At least it has now dropped from 90% to 56%. Thankful for small favors here. 🙂

        Like

  10. Joyce says:

    I am hooked on fairy houses now, and I do believe it was you who brought my attention to them several years ago when you posted the tour and showed entries by your grandchildren! Can’t wait to see your permanent one!
    Your property is so beautiful and so well tended. A place for strolling, gardening and just sitting to enjoy it all. But on some humid days, that sitting and admiring is best done from inside your air conditioned house!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Sammy D. says:

    Loved this post – living deep activities 😀 i can’t wait to see your fairy tree or your quilt! It’s invigorating to have 2-3 projects going and shuffle between them during the day -especially when heat and humidity can zap our brains. But that sweat running under my shirt has gotta go!

    Like

  12. Ogee says:

    Not a fan of humidity either…but just look at that lush green lawn and those happy trees. We are “green” with envy here in parched California!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. sweetk8 says:

    I guess I was a hot-house tomato in another life. I love hot weather – humidity? Bring it on. Yes, I know I must be some sort of freak, but I embrace it 😀 Living in Finland might force me to acclimate to a cooler clime, so it’s only a matter of time before 70 degrees seems too hot. haha
    Enjoy your trip to Gettysburg! I took my kids there years ago and even they were impressed!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. That is what I call sheer determination. You really have no regards for weather changes. Love it

    Like

  15. KerryCan says:

    It’s hot and humid in upstate New York, too. Not like it is in so many other parts of the country but enough to make me just want to stay inside and read. But, like you, I have to venture out to water the plants! I’m looking forward to fall!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Dan Antion says:

    I’m hot and tired after just reading this. My wife did weeding/picking duty in her veggie garden and I don’t know how she did it. That you have energy left after coming back inside is a miracle. I’m looking forward to seeing the Fairy House Judy, I like it when people deal creatively with stumps.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. I can’t wait until the fairies move in! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  18. It’s hard for me to imagine that you get such hot and humid weather so far north of where I live. Our entire summer is hot and humid here. Luckily we usually have a nice breeze and being outside in the shade is bearable. My weeds always get overlooked during the hottest part of the summer! Love the idea of the Fairy House!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Although it cooled off today, it’s been hot and humid here, too. When I go for a walk in the morning, I can feel my hair curling from the humidity, even though it’s only about 7 AM. Your garden sounds delightful.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Pingback: Fairy House Tour | Old Herbaceous

  21. Laurie Graves says:

    No A/C at the little house in the big woods. Mostly we don’t need it. However, the past few days…I think a fairy house is a wonderful idea. Perhaps some day I’ll construct one of my own. I hope you’ll include pictures when yours is done.

    Like

  22. Yup, all you can do in this kind of sticky is get into some A/C! We’ve let the garden mostly alone. At least, the squirrels are happy with that decision! 😉

    Like

  23. joey says:

    We’ve reached the point of summer where I seldom look at the weather, because I know it’s just gonna be too hot! The humidity has been crazy here lately! I haven’t done much weeding, either. I pick the veggies at 7am and then do the exercise, and I love days when I don’t have to go out and get hot again after my shower! 🙂
    I have mostly shade in the front of my house, and I do worry about whether the huge trees will ever have to come down in my lifetime…Love a shade garden. But you know, sunny spots mean a lot more color, so there is that!

    Liked by 1 person

  24. Grandma Kc says:

    I just love the idea of a permanent fairy cottage! Your yard is truly amazing! What are the flowers around the tree stump? The leaves remind me of lily of the valley but the flowers are all wrong. What is it?

    Like

  25. Dawn says:

    It’s so wonderful to have activities that you love depending on the weather, Judy! As I was reading your hot, humid descriptions, I thought maybe it would be a good day to work on your quilt. It’s amazing that you have completed fifty blocks already! Can’t wait to see your finished quilt! 🙂 When I can’t be in the garden, I love to spend time making cards in my basement paper crafting studio. I call it my ‘Paper Garden’, with dried flowers and herbs hanging from the ceiling. Some days I have muddy fingers and other days I have inky fingers. Such a blessing to be able to spend my days playing in the ‘garden.’ Sending cool breezes your way! ♡

    Liked by 1 person

  26. Lorrie says:

    A woodsy fairy house sounds delightful! It’s still hot here, but rarely humid and things are definitely starting to cool down. I hope the same happens out your way soon.

    Like

  27. mariannegv says:

    A fairy house from a tree stump? That sounds lovely! I can’t wait to see your fairy house finished. I hope you will post some photos. Have a great week-end!
    Marianne

    Like

Leave a Reply

