Sweet Thursday Doors

On our recent trip to Maine, we stopped in Camden. I love Camden. I know, I know, there are locals who think it is too sweet or too expensive, but it is one beautiful little New England town.

It has a lovely harbor, sidewalk art available, waterfalls for viewing, and shops up and down the main streets.

CamdenCollage

As we walked around town, we found the doors to Cappy’s Bakery wide open. How could we not go in? 🙂

Bakery6

Cappy’s Bakery is part of and around the corner from Cappy’s Chowder House on Main Street.

When we entered, there were sweet delicacies of every type, and they all looked delicious. We enjoyed some wonderful muffins and delicious cappuccinos outside on their little patio so we could see and hear the waterfall.

It was so good, we went back a couple of days later for another breakfast and got a bag of sweets to go on the way home.

BakeryCollage

What can I say, it was definitely one of the sweetest doors I’ve ever entered.

If you’re ever in Camden, stop and enjoy because where else but in a cute Maine town like Camden would you find a cute dog of this proportion willing to pose to photographs while waiting for his owner to finish breakfast. 🙂

Dog

Linked to Norm Frampton’s Thursday Doors – August 20, 2015.

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Photography, Thursday Doors and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Sweet Thursday Doors

  1. KerryCan says:

    I’m thinking of a trip to Maine soon–I think I need to add Camden to the list!

    Like

  2. Dan Antion says:

    Oh, Judy. This is so not fair. It’s early and these sweets are making me so hungry 🙂 – Beautiful doors, photos, town and the dog is precious. Great choice for this post but you’re responsible for any weight-gain today.

    Like

  3. Yum! Sweet doors is right. Love the dog!

    92% humidity here this morning 🙂

    Like

  4. Norm 2.0 says:

    I’m sure there are some very inviting smells coming through the door of that bakery. Nice one Judy 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Laurie Graves says:

    You’re right. Camden is too sweet and too expensive. But it is also beautiful. Love the dog picture.

    Like

  6. Sammy D. says:

    Oh what a lovely trip down memory lane. Years ago Hub and I stayed at the MOST fabulous B&B ever – Inn at Sunrise Point – outside Camden and not only did we love Main Street, but walking the lovely residential neighborhoods. My favorite though was their Thomas Jefferson-inspired library. Just beautuful in its coastal setting.

    I laughed out loud at your dog photo – such a whimsey and hus expression is priceless. I’ve been looking for some doors on odd vehicles. This fills the bill.

    Like

  7. joey says:

    I love the whole thing and am now jealous. I’m eating pbj on toast with milk on my stupid front porch with my dog tethered nearby (to keep her from running off to eat squirrels.) I, too, can hear a waterfall. If by waterfall, you mean the interstate. What a lovely, envy-inspiring post! 🙂

    Like

  8. Joyce says:

    There’s nothing more charming than New England – in any season! I am enchanted by this open door, but puzzled over the clever oar sign that says “closed.” With all the wonderful things going on inside, no wonder flipping it over isn’t a priority!

    Like

  9. quiltify says:

    We’re heading up to one of my favorite places, Mt. Desert Island, this autumn. It will certainly involve a stop in Camden. Spent time there in the 70’s (gasp) when more eccentric types could afford to live there.

    Like

  10. Grandma Kc says:

    If I ever get to your coast I am going to know all the good places to go but I think I’m going to need a tour guide!

    Like

  11. What a lovely place, and that dog, such a poser, lol.

    Like

  12. Eliza Waters says:

    I like those kind of doors! 😉 That must the most photographed dog in town!

    Like

  13. Dawn says:

    Thanks, Judy, for the wonderful introduction to Camden, Maine! It’s such a charming New England town. I just love it when shops in small towns have their doors wide open to passersby. Such a nice welcome feeling! It would be such fun to visit Camden one day! ♡

    Liked by 1 person

  14. I’d go just for the bakery. Yum!

    Like

  15. Doors which open on to this kind of establishment are truly priceless! Adore the dog pic too!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Camden looks beautiful Judy. I think I’d be like you with the bakery. How can you not go in and as for the dog goes, he’s priceless! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  17. reocochran says:

    I like the way you chose doors and photos with pretty features and added humor with the dog. Camden reminds me of my Rockport, Massachusetts town I featured last week. 🙂

    Like

  18. Oh what I wouldn’t give for one of those cream horns right this minute! Lovely door gallery and the dog is so adorable. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

