Hello September

TreeI could try to deny it, but September has arrived in all its glory anyway.

Some of the maple trees are starting to turn and leaves have started falling, a few here and a few there.

Fall is definitely beautiful here in New England with the gorgeous colors, but it’s also the start of the raking and shoveling seasons.

I cleaned the potting shed yesterday donating a van load of pots, yard ornaments, and things I haven’t taken out in several years and hope someone else can enjoy them.

Then I started loading up the utility trailer with stuff that needs to go to the recycling center. It’s time to make room for all the outdoor and gardening things that have to be stored for the winter.

Seven days ago I planted grass seed, and today I am doing the happy dance because there is quite a bit of grass coming up. I’ll need to keep up the hour of watering every morning for a while longer, but it’s looking good.

Last Friday, we drove west across the state to buy a stock tank off Craigslist at half price. Picture raised bed. Do you know anyone who has used a stock tank for veggies? Did they paint it or leave it unpainted? Exciting stuff for a gardening nerd like me.

I’m also still moving plants around, like any crazy gardener does this time of year, including hydrangeas and balancing out the spacing of other plants. The garden still has some color and the grasses are coming into their own. The hydrangea on the left is turning a pretty pink with a purple butterfly bush in front of it, grasses in the center, and the Knockout Rose on the right has two buds. I’ll take it.

GrassCollage

The next big project will be tearing out the garden, taking the raised beds apart, and starting the rebuilding process.

So, how is your garden as we march into September? Still going strong or winding down?

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Hello September

  1. As I planted my whole front this spring, I’m just hoping everything survives. Things always look a bit stressed after planting. Things still look good for now. Only a few signs of fall here. That last week of 70’s was a fall reminder, however we’re back to 90’s today. .. joy!

    Like

  2. Woohoo, fall is around the corner, my favorite season! Leafs are starting to turn here too…if only those temperatures would go down! Your garden looks heavnly as always of course, xo Johanna

    Like

  3. Can’t believe you’re seeing turning leaves already. We’re not yet — at least not in the area where I live. But Kroger has all their mums, scarecrows, and corn stalks out for us. It’s gotta be fall somewhere!

    Like

  4. Dan Antion says:

    That’s a lot of work Judy, but your photos throughout the summer are worth it.

    We have piles of tomatoes on the porch and we’ve been snacking on beans and eggplant and cukes. I did a poor job of watering the grass I planted over the drain tile, but I have more seed, so…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sounds like you will have a very busy September! At least the first week! I spent the last week cleaning out my big flower bed that had not fared well with me ignoring it all of June-Aug! Weeds standing as tall as me, but now it is in better shape. I spent all day yesterday ripping out mums that have run amok. They got long and leggy and started to take over a whole section of the flower bed. Too much time in the garden and not enough time sewing!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Judy, I’d love to see your garden in person. I need to do some trimming and plant some grass seed, too, although this week is going to be unseasonably warm, so perhaps next week. Hard to believe it’s September and, to me, officially fall, not summer.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Laurie Graves says:

    Definitely winding down. But this year, I am finding the stocks and pods of the spent perennials fascinating, and I hate to cut them down. Great picture of black-eyed Susans.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Joyce says:

    How is my garden, you ask? Well, in mid July the 3 flower boxes of impatiens up and died for no reason! And I DID water them! That was my sole gardening experience except for hostas who never let me down!
    Reading about your hard work sometimes wears me out! And in humid weather too! But I know that gardeners are nurturing, creative and meticulous people and these tasks are what keep you so young and contented. I love seeing your pictures and imagining what those beautiful fresh veggies must taste like!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Ogee says:

    Doesn’t it feel like you just did this?! Summers are too short out your way!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. quiltify says:

    I wish I could find your joy in gardening. I also wish I knew you could plant grass in August as I need quite a bit of a touch up here. The birds loved my “lawn” this year for some reason creating many holes. Autumn is my favorite season, although after last winter, I’m a little more hesitant about the approach…winter has slightly stepped down in my love for it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s interesting about the birds. I made sure I put soil on top of my seed so they wouldn’t think I’d created a salad bar just for them. If we lived closer, I’d do some gardening for you and Millie could quilt something for me. 🙂 Yes, as I age, winter isn’t quite as enjoyable as it use to be.

      Like

  11. Wow! Busy, busy, busy. But so beautiful. You are my idol when it comes to all things gardening. I can’t wait to see photos of your stock tank filled with happy veggies. My garden? Ummm… everything grew BIG and BUSHY this summer but still, very few flowers (except a limited few such as the hollyhocks, which were tall and happy). I’ve already pulled a few zucchini and I believe there are still a handful that will mature enough for use. No pumpkins despite HUGE flowers on them but no little punkins.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I hate to say climate change, but I think every gardener has a story this year about strange happenings. I had a zucchini plant that produced one squash and then died. I have tomatoes coming out my ears and the plants look like death and I’ll end up taking the green tomatoes off to ripen and pulling the plants out. Pumpkins sure would have been fun.

      Like

  12. joey says:

    Still going strong, the autumn clematis is filling out and but the geraniums seem tired.
    I stopped and picked up a mum yesterday. I had planned to buy a pile of them, but then I realized I still haven’t decided which side I want to plant them on, and perhaps some planning (and dare I say, digging!) would would be smart, lol! So, I bought the one and put it in a pot this morning. It makes me happy 🙂
    I never divide in the fall, I’m too worried we won’t get enough rain, and I hate watering.
    Pictures lovely as always — you’re as busy as my bees!

    Like

  13. Gillian says:

    It’s funny what we gardeners get excited about isn’t it Judy? I once found a sack of manure on my back doorstep left by a kind friend. My daughter was horrified but I was thrilled to bits. I completely understand how you feel about that stock tank! My garden is still going strong so I’ve just decided to whittle my million gardening jobs for September down to ten. Would this help you? Here’s the link http://countrygardenuk.com/2015/09/01/top-ten-gardening-jobs-for-september/

    Like

  14. I think you should paint the tank with fairies to match the house 🙂

    Like

  15. pbmgarden says:

    Judy, sounds like fall is going to keep you busy as ever. We’re starting to see a few color changes as well, mostly subtle shifts but fall is near.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Lorrie says:

    Gardening has taken a back seat here while school preparations happen. I pick zucchini and tomatoes as needed and ignore the weeds and trimming that need to be done. In a couple of weeks we’ll get to that. A stock tank garden sounds like fun!

    Like

  17. Still going strong here in Zone 7 but it’s nice to hear what’s ahead of me – though I’m not as ambitious as you.

    Like

  18. Dawn says:

    You have been so busy, Judy! Isn’t it hard to believe that September is really here? Where did the summer go? Our cool, rainy weeks in June kept the garden growing strong all summer long. We still have lots of color everywhere, but the perennials are looking a bit ‘tired’ now. We have a very hot week in Chicagoland. I’ve been thinking about making some changes in our garden beds, too. Hoping that if I wait a few more weeks, the weather will be friendlier for all that digging! Your stock tank garden sounds like a great idea, Judy! Can’t wait to see a sneak peak! ♡

    Like

  19. Grandma Kc says:

    I am running a few days behind schedule — again! I do love your new fall look! Fall is one of the things I do miss about Michigan. It is not fall here. In fact last week I was moving plumeria pots into the shades as the 95+ temps were getting to them! It has finally cooled her. Only going to hit 80 today — so I love that you share all your beautiful fall with me!

    Liked by 1 person

  20. reocochran says:

    I live in a one bedroom apt next to Ohio Wesleyan University. They have a unique area with trees labeled and called an “arbor” and there are 3 bridges across a creek that my grandies love crosding, feeding ducks and throwing oak “keys” spiraling over the railings. My neighboring campus just put in a fantastic labyrinth which I cannot wait for next overnight visit, so we take our flashlights to explore over there. We like listening to the ducks in the Spring quacking and my 10 year old grandson mentioned he thought in the dark they were getting “romantic!” Lol
    This Labor Day weekend, I head towards Lake Erie and will be hanging with my Mom. She is in the rehabilitation part of her facility due to a bad fall and I was up there for her surgery. My brothers live up on Cleveland and I have a sweet sister in law there, too.
    Wishing you a happy Labor Day and thanks for sharing your really cool gardening plans. Not sure about painting your stock tank, Judy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

