Thursday Doors from PA

Steff at 18-200mm suggested we check out New Oxford while visiting Gettysburg, and we did just that.

We parked in the square to look at the shops and talk to an apple vendor.

While looking around, we saw this beautiful Church door. The vine growing on the fence? Hyacinth Bean Vine which was only appropriate since mine originally came from PA. 🙂

PA Church Collage

As we were heading back to Gettysburg, we passed this beautiful home. We backtracked so I could get some photos. But, it was worth it.

New Oxford Collage

This beautiful home was built in 1888, 25 years after the Battle of Gettysburg. If interested, it has 7 bedrooms, 5 1/2 baths and is on the market for a mere $569,900.

Happy Thursday from New England by way of these beautiful Pennsylvania doors. 🙂

Linked to Norm Frampton’s Thursday Doors on September 24, 2015.

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Photography, Thursday Doors and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Thursday Doors from PA

  1. oh these were fun to see! 🙂

    Like

  2. Looks beautiful for the money Judy!

    Like

  3. Norm 2.0 says:

    Love the curved top of the first one, and that Himes house would make a great B & B wouldn’t it? I’ll just need to figure out where I left that spare half-mill laying around to buy it 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks for these pics — so lovely. And for including the Methodist church — I’m a Methodist, so you made my day!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Beautiful Judy! Especially love the blue door on the lower left 🙂

    Like

  6. joey says:

    Lovely! Those church doors are gorgeous! What a warm welcome they have!

    Like

  7. Lorrie says:

    I find the northeastern USA has such appealing architecture. The arch and porch on the church set off its doors beautifully.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Dan Antion says:

    Great little collection Judy. I love the craftsmanship evident in the arched doors with the curved panels. That is one impressive entrance. Thanks for making the extra trip for us.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Great doors and I love the big porch on that house.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. dimlamp says:

    I do like those church doors, and the white border-arch enhances them.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Lovely, Judy. I’m gathering my half mil to go over and buy the house. 🙂

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Dawn says:

    You always find the most interesting doors, Judy! I love the church door and entryway, with its Hyacinth Bean vines climbing the fence. 🙂 Such a beautiful, old home! Wouldn’t it be fun to walk through it? Wishing you lovely Autumn days, Judy! ♡

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Sounds like a bargain at the price. I hope it comes with a nice piece of land, too 🙂

    Like

  14. So were there reenactors (it says ‘Welcome Reenactors” on the church buttetin)? When I retire I want to be a Civil War reenactor. Of course I won’t look convincing as a young soldier so I’ll just have to be a general.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Joyce says:

    Beautiful doors are everywhere – the rest of us need to be like you, opening our eyes to actually SEEING them!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Grandma Kc says:

    Love your choice in doors but I want you to go back and go inside that house for all of us — OK for me! I bet it is just beautiful inside.

    Like

  17. I’m thinking the same as the last comment, it would be so nice to see inside! Lovely post Judy 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

