Thursday Doors

I cannot tell a lie, it was the sign this time and not the door that caught my eye.

We’ll keep the “G” rating here, but I’m sure you can guess why this shop sign caused me to laugh out loud as we were driving down Steinwehr Avenue in Gettysburg. 🙂

HorseDoorCollage

We circled back, and I had myself another good laugh. It was a tack store. Hats, boots, saddles, and everything else you’d need to outfit yourself for a day out on the range. What did I expect?

After I stopped laughing, I looked around because I really wanted a t-shirt with that sign on it. The proprietor laughed too – no t-shirt, yet.

They had some great signs on the wall that weren’t for sale but certainly delivered a message.

SignsCollage

Nice red, white, and blue door, funny sign, and sage advice – more than I usually get from one stop. 🙂

Here’s wishing you a great Thursday.

Linked to Norm Frampton’s Thursday Doors on October 1, 2015.

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Photography, Thursday Doors and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. Love the paint colors. Do you remember what the yellow flag represents?

    Like

    • I contacted them on Facebook and here’s their answer: The Horse You Rode In On 9:28am Oct 1
      Hi Judith. The yellow flag is the “Don’t Tread On Me” flag. We have always flown all three flags at our shop–American flag , Conferedrate flag and the Don’t Tread On Me Flag. We hope you enjoyed your visit to historic Gettysburg!

      Like

  2. Norm 2.0 says:

    Love the door AND the sign. Great find Judy 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What fun all around, Judy!

    janet

    Like

  4. Laurin Lindsey says:

    I enjoy your door posts. Love all the signs too…especially the one “never miss a good chance to shut up”! I need that one! Happy Autumn!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Eliza Waters says:

    Very USA! Sounds like a fun shop. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Dan Antion says:

    Always good to start the day with a door and a laugh. Thanks Judy. I’d be looking for the t-shirt too.

    Like

  7. sued51 says:

    Great find! I wonder if the owner WILL make t-shirts…how many other people have asked before you? Maybe you were the one that made him say, “I should do it!”

    Liked by 1 person

  8. dimlamp says:

    Quite an interesting capture, the colours of the door and the sign do complement one another and catch one’s attention.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Sammy D. says:

    Great feature, Judy! Love all the sayings and can never resist this kind of quaint store!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Great door and sign – got a good chuckle out of that!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Thanks for making me smile Judy 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Great post, Judy The door is pretty awesome and the signs made me laugh too. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  13. germac4 says:

    I love the signs, especially ”never miss a good chance to shut up”…I’m glad people go to the trouble to put signs up, I love coming across them when I’m travelling..

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Sylvia says:

    Great find, magnificent bright colours an tack sharp. Wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. pbmgarden says:

    I always enjoy your “door” posts.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Nice one, Judy. Very colourful.

    Like

  17. Judy, always such a delight to read your posts. Sounds like you are having a wonderful time exploring Gettysburg…….loved the signs! Will hear more, we hope?

    Like

  18. Tack shops have the best signs. We have a few around here. Makes me wish I could still ride.

    Like

  19. Love the color combination

    Like

  20. Great colours (amazing how that red, white and blue combination works!) and fun story!

    Liked by 1 person

  21. reocochran says:

    I always like color in photographs, especially quaint and quirky places. What a great Doors post, Judy! The t-shirt would be fun to wear and get conversations or silly looks. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Joyce says:

    I love those areas of quaint little shops that have things no one else does. What a charming place, fun sign and striking door!

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Grandma Kc says:

    It is a great sign! But I love the door, too — the colors are wonderful. Bet he starts selling t-shirts soon!

    Like

  24. mphedgehog says:

    I can’t believe I missed a tack shop within 50 miles of my house, lol.

    In Fells Point, Baltimore there is bar of the same name. Any Car Talk fans here remember Click and Clack, when crediting the shows lackeys, saying that transportation was provided by The Horse You Rode In?

    Liked by 1 person

  25. This reminds me of a saying of an old colleague of mine (now retired): “Nobody knows how dumb you are until you start talking.”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

