Thursday Doors

House1

This handsome cape code is at a three-way stop here in town, and I pass it a couple of times a week.

The front door is a lovely red, and it is also set up as only New Englanders do when they don’t want anyone to use that door. 🙂

During the summer months they have a planter with annuals, and at the holidays there is a decorated Christmas tree.

I’ve been to a lot of states and never noticed home owners decorating their front door entry so you won’t be tempted to use it. New Englanders are common sense type folks and use side or porch doors where they can drop their coats and snowy or muddy boots.

Having lived most of my adult life in Kansas and hearing more times than I can count “Dorothy you’re not in Kansas anymore” after moving up here, I circled the block last week laughing out loud when I saw those legs with the ruby slippers on them.

House3

Here’s hoping you enjoy a smile and consider joining in on Thursday Doors – we’re a friendly bunch. 🙂

Linked to Norm Frampton’s Thursday Doors, October 8, 2015.

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Photography, Thursday Doors and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. pbmgarden says:

    This did bring a big smile Judy!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dan Antion says:

    Thanks for starting my day off with a big smile Judy. You’re so right about New Englanders and their front doors. They are often more for looking at than using. We don’t block ours, but we hardly ever use it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Norm 2.0 says:

    Thanks for starting my day with a good chuckle Judy 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Dawn says:

    What fun, Judy! I’ve never heard this about the homes in New England. It doesn’t look like there is a sidewalk leading to the front door. Red doors are my favorite! Our back door is a bright, cheery red. ♡

    Liked by 1 person

    • It really is an interesting thing to observe how they block the porch off in so many ways to tell you to use the ‘other’ door. In a lot of cases you are so right, there are no walks or paths to the door anyway. It always makes me wonder if there were paths at one time and after it got easier to use another door they just let it go to lawn. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. joey says:

    That is so charming and fun!
    It’s true for us, here, too. We only use the front door in good weather. We park up front in the drive when the weather is mild, and in the back or in the garage during bad weather, and then use the doors accordingly.
    Great capture 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Joyce says:

    If you get used to using front doors in New England, how will you get in the house when they are drifted shut with snow? This makes sense – don’t even get started there!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. quiltify says:

    Capes are my favorite houses…just wanted to put that out there. I grew up in a cape in a rural area and some people ‘might’ use the front door on a holiday. Most of my adult life has been lived in a cape in an urban environment and I encourage people to use the front door as it just seems more civilized to me. That being said, I sometimes drag my guests thru the cellar for expediency or usher them out the kitchen door at night. I have 4 doors at my house, so a lot to choose from. However, come winter and more than 12″ of snow, there is no longer access to the front door until spring. We New Englanders preserve our energy, I think. Conclusion: I think the use it makes a different urban vs rural, and season of the year, or on the owner. I love the front red front door! Maybe now that Dorothy has arrived home, they’ll use their front door.

    Like

    • I’ve never lived in a cape, but I do love them. New England front doors are interesting because sometimes there isn’t even a walkway or path to them – they’re just there. I didn’t mention those slab wood doors that so many have installed over their regular door that don’t say anything except – go to the other door because there are two here and neither one is opening any time soon. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  8. quiltify says:

    or…who had those stockings? Will Dorothy never get home now?

    Liked by 1 person

  9. mphedgehog says:

    I have seen some Marylanders and Pennsylvanians use decorations to block a front door, but most aren’t this clever!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Judy, thanks for not only teaching me something new, but letting me have a good laugh while learning it. I just finished a book about Maine and food: “How To Cook a Moose.” Warning! Don’t read if it you’re hungry! One of the authors I’ve loved for years is Elizabeth Ogilvie, a Maine writer, deceased unfortunately. Haven’t been to Maine for years and would love to go back soon.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well now, you returned the favor because I had quite a chuckle at “How To Cook a Moose.” 🙂 I spent 18 summers on my grandparents farm, numerous vacations, and have lived here for the past 12 years and have never seen one moose. We see signs to alert drivers as to the ‘moose crossing’ but not one moose have I seen let alone thought about cooking. You made my evening. 🙂

      Like

      • I think you’d enjoy the book, Judy. She really does talk about cooking moose, but about all sorts of other food and cooking, too, as well as life in Maine. We’ve seen a number of moose in Wyoming and always love to see them, although if they’re standing between you and where you want to go, you’d best find a new way there!

        Liked by 1 person

  11. marianallen says:

    LOL! Love it! I never saw anybody block a door to keep anybody from going in. It makes sense, though. I’ve lived in many a house where nobody did use the front door, but nobody ever used anybody’s front doors, so we didn’t need to block them. heh! Great post!

    Like

  12. Gorgeous buildings and doors. I chose white cottages and red doors this week too. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Grandma Kc says:

    That did give me a big smile! Thank you!

    Like

  14. joanfrankham says:

    That is fun! I would love one of those near my front door, great conversation piece.

    Like

  15. reocochran says:

    Judy, the door with decorations makes sense, especially with no “mud room” or place to put shoes or boots. We liked people to come in the side door, too.
    Judy, I absolutely love the wicked witch head down into the planter! Those striped hose covered legs made me giggle! 🙂
    My Mom was a working Mom (and teacher) so she told us to instruct our friends to knock on the side door. One house she was able to convince my Dad to put in a side door- doorbell! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Sylvia says:

    What a great find! love the striped legs!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Eliza Waters says:

    Oh, what fun! Loved this post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  18. What a chuckle!!! Love that they make a point of discouraging the front door use. I have a big wrap around porch, with a “front door” at the center of the house and lovely steps to the front yard and lawn…..no walkway, so nobody ever uses those steps or that door. Everyone parks in the carport on the side, and comes up the steps there, and to the door at the side that comes into the dining room. It is very odd. No mud room there either, but that is where the rug with the shoes is! I keep wondering how I could redirect to the front door, and love the idea of the planter! Often wish hubby would consider putting in a walkway, but he is convinced no one would use it! Old habits!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Our front door is red, too. No one (except the dogs) use it either 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Awesome – love it! I posted a pic on my IG the other day with three pumpkins lined up across the stoop. Someone commented “that’s stupid you can’t even use the door”. I’m all like “what”?? People here (in New England) do that ALL the time. Pretty brilliant if you ask me 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  21. I love red doors but with the added extra of a pair of legs it’s even better.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. If that doesn’t work, they can add the Wicked Witch of the West.

    Liked by 1 person

  23. That is priceless Judy! Love the front door anyway but the legs in the flowerpot

    Like

  24. crown it for me! Sorry I hit the wrong button there – keep doing that this week!

    Like

  25. I have never heard of that custom in regards to the front door but oh my how funny the last shot is!

    Liked by 1 person

  26. germac4 says:

    Well that front door certainly put a smile on my face….coming from Australia, I’m wondering what I could put at the front door….but nothing could beat that one!

    Liked by 1 person

  27. Karen says:

    Your post definitely brought a smile to my face, not only by the door but also your quote. For the last couple of weeks I’ve by saying “we’re not in Kansas anymore” as Florida is so different from what I’ve been used to while living in New Hampshire.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

