Thursday Doors

Bruges Door

This beautiful brown door is from our time in Bruges, Belgium, where they estimate a mere 5 million people visit each year to experience the beautiful canals, cobblestone streets and medieval buildings.

The ironwork on and surrounding this door is amazing. Besides the scroll work, I love the handrails, and be sure to check out the mailbox slot right below the house number.

They take the art of the mailbox to a whole new level.

I don’t have a clue what the rectangle below the mail slot is or the significance of the blue and white envelope style sign. Here’s hoping Denzil at Discovering Belgium decides to read this post and can answer these questions for us.

I really need to go back to Bruges and capture some more doors. Think my husband will buy that as a reason for a return trip? 🙂

Linked to Norm Frampton’s Thursday Doors, October 15, 2015.

 

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Photography, Thursday Doors and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. I wish my front door was that pretty! Definitely fits with the beauty of the rest of the city!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. joyroses13 says:

    This makes me want to take a trip to Bruges, yes convince your hubby that you need to go back 🙂 Thanks for sharing! Love how creative your pics are.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Denzil says:

    At first sight, the rectangle looks like some kind of entry system? I will do some research on the blue and white symbol.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Dan Antion says:

    I love the iron work on these doors, that’s just fantastic. I also really like the short stout grade-level door. It’s a different style, but the hinges tie them together very well. I also really like the fact that the doors open behind the masonry work, instead of being under it. I’d say a return trip is in order.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. What a great shot….the beautiful door and the reflection in the windows as well!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Truly beautiful! Bruges is on my list maybe one day I’ll get to see those doors “in person”.
    Thanks for sharing

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Nadezda says:

    Very pretty front door, Judy! Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Joyce says:

    Lovely! But it’s the smaller, arched doorway that fascinates me. Is it a doggy door? Or more realistically, one for large package delivery? Or storage?
    The room beyond must be flooded in light!

    Like

  9. Denzil says:

    Judy, the blue and white symbol means that it is a protected building.
    Joyce, the smaller doors would open into the cellar, I suspect they are large enough to take a barrel of beer!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Terrific – thank you, Denzil, so much for the reply and the answers. I can see why it would be a protected building. I’m also picturing a nice barrel of Belgian wheat beer being delivered on a regular basis. Makes for a nice thought. 🙂

      Like

    • Joyce says:

      Thanks, Denzil! How convenient for women returning home from shopping with bags to hide from hubby! Open cellar door, push bags in for retrieval later, enter main door and announce, “Hi hubby! I’m home! And didn’t buy a thing today!” (he he he!)

      Liked by 1 person

  10. joey says:

    This door is absolutely begging me to get to Belgium!
    What a gorgeous facade! Love the details 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Sammy D. says:

    Both the wood on the door and the ironwork are exquisite! I thought the mail slot was a quaintly hanging broom with iron handle (like a fireplace broom) to sweep their front steps!! What is that skinny vertical piece abive the slot?

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Eliza Waters says:

    The details are amazing. It’s too bad we don’t see things like this around here. We focus too much on the functional.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. lorjacks32122015 says:

    And it looks like they have two lovely ceramic pug dogs on their windowsill 🙂 Beautiful

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Norm 2.0 says:

    Another amazing set of doors! I’ve been looking at your Bruges doors for a while and asking myself why in the world this place wasn’t already on my list. Well it is now. Thanks for that Judy.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Grandma Kc says:

    I really look forward to your Thursday doors and you really do need to go back! That door is truly a work of art. So glad you went and now you must go back and get us more pictures!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. mariannegv says:

    What a beautiful door! It has very lovely details.

    Like

  17. Paige says:

    Love your Thursday Doors …. so beautiful! Keep it up! : )

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Fantastic piece of craftsmanship. Another lovely door in a long line. I so adore these posts.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. germac4 says:

    Very interesting doors! So lovely to see such craftsmanship. Thanks for the photo, makes me want to go to Belgium..

    Liked by 1 person

  20. I would buy it as a reason for a return trip! That is amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Fab pix! The small door must be to the cellar! Coal, beer etc. Wonder why the building is a “protected” site? Guessing it must be something like our “historical preservation” residences etc. The iron work is wonderful. Thanks for another great share. Like others, it is a place that should be on my travel bucket list!

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Judy, I have a question….Do you think you could ship that door to my address here in Texas?

    Liked by 1 person

  23. I love both those doors, Judy, as well as the reflections you caught in the photo. I’m up for a trip and your excuse sounds like the perfect one. Maybe we need a “Thursday Doors” tour. 😉

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  24. Gorgeous post Judy – I love the details and am now so curious about that letter box and the pull thingy above it – I assumed it was a door bell perhaps, but maybe not. I’m sorry to say I have been to Bruges but only as a kid on a school trip from England when our sole interest was finding chocolate shops and getting back home! Now that I’m on the other side of the Channel I must try and revisit – thanks for the inspiration !

    Liked by 1 person

  25. Wow! Looks like it should be the door to a palace or cathedral.

    Like

Leave a Reply

