Thursday Doors

Welcome to Smuttynose Brewing Company which started out in 1994 as the Portsmouth Brewery, the first brew pub in Portsmouth.

After many successful years in Portsmouth, in 2008, they purchased Towle Farm in Hampton so they could expand operations. As they built the much larger facility, they maintained the feel of the original farm by updating the house to become the bar and restaurant and keeping the barn.

SmuttyDoorCollage

I don’t know what they use the handsome barn for these days, but it is certainly in good repair. The brewery and gift shop are in the red building on the right.

FoodCollage

If the good food and the great beer aren’t enough for you, the entire facility is beautiful. The buildings are surrounded by efficient rain gardens, wonderful stone walls, beautiful plantings and seating areas, and there is special parking for bicycles and efficient cars. The outside is a gardening candy store.

SmuttynoseCollage

Why do we love Smuttynose? Let me count the ways…

  • Great craft beer
  • Delicious food at both the Hayseed Restaurant and the Portsmouth Brewery
  • Supports our local economy
  • AND the head brewer in Portsmouth, Matt Gallagher, is our camping buddies’ nephew. Wahoo – always good to know a head brewer.  🙂

Doors leading to the Smuttynose Brewing Company and their wonderful Hayseed Restaurant in Hampton, New Hampshire are my kind of doors. If you get in the area, I highly recommend pulling them open for a visit.

         Smuttynose Brewing Company, 105 Towle Farm Road, Hampton, NH or Portsmouth Brewery, 56 Market Street, Portsmouth, NH

Linked to Norm Frampton’s, Thursday Doors, October 29, 2015.

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Photography, Thursday Doors and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. Laurie Graves says:

    Looks like a great place!

    Like

  2. joey says:

    Yummy! I’m glad I am full 😉
    Love that old barn!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I know one thing…that’s an unforgettable name, lol! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. These are MY kind of doors too! Perfect location and would love to try their brew!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Donna says:

    Very nice place.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m not a beer drinker, but those mussels look great!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Eliza Waters says:

    Wow, Judy, this place looks great. Not too far from my brother-in-law’s in Epping. Will have to make it over there!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Dan Antion says:

    It doesn’t get any better than this Judy. I don’t care what they use the barn for, I’m glad they keep it looking sharp. Great photos, great info and more than enough reasons to add this to my growing list of places I need to visit in New England.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. This is the first time your “doors” post has made my stomach growl! What a fabulous place. The sandwich looks oh-so yummy and the beer on the far left is the one I’d be sampling first. Good stuff. We have local microbreweries but they’re mostly downtown (and parking is a huge pain) so I sure wish we had one as charming as this nearby. Thank you for sharing. Cheers!

    Liked by 2 people

  10. jan says:

    Smuttynose! My goodness. Gotta love a beer with such a fun name.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Grandma Kc says:

    You really do have a monopoly on really cool places to go! Someday!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Norm 2.0 says:

    Any place named Smuttynose gets bumped to the top of my bucket list 😀
    Will have to check it out the next time we’re down that way – great post Judy.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Joyce says:

    Even before you get inside and place your order, you’re welcomed with such New England charm by that lovely building!

    Liked by 1 person

    • They really did a nice job. The lady who has the role of head gardener (I don’t know what her official title is) is the wife of the head brewer at the smaller brewery in Portsmouth. So, when we visited I found her out in the woods working on plants and she gave me a tour of the various rain gardens. It is a real ‘green’ facility. You would like it. 🙂

      Like

  14. Geert Smits says:

    I must drink it. Smuttynose! Have to visit the US soon anyway so why not: Smuttynose here I come! What is the nearest airport 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  15. I need to sample what’s on the other side of those doors!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Nancy says:

    Would love to try their beer! Great doors!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. reocochran says:

    My favorite part of your post were the stone walls and the way it looked from a distance. Lovely place to enjoy inside or outside. The large green doors with windows, in the photo of the barn, were really pretty evergreen color, Judy.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. pbmgarden says:

    The entire place looks immaculate. Those green barn doors caught my eye.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. What a unique name, Smuttynose Brewery. It looks a great place to visit.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. What a wonderful place Judy! If the idea of beer hadn’t already drawn me in (of course it did) the name alone would have sold it to me! Gorgeous New England architecture and setting to boot – love it!

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Beer, beauty, and mussels??? I’m all over that, but it’s a bit far away, not that I wouldn’t like to visit. I think they sell their beer here, though. I’ll have to take a look.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

