Thursday Doors

About twelve years ago, after a cross-country move and an entire year with only the clothes in my suitcase, I became somewhat of a minimalist.

This includes not needing to own books. I read every day. There is a book sitting next to me at all times, but my bookstore is the local Public Library.

For the history buffs, the first Public Library in the United States opened in Peterborough, NH, in 1833, and NH was the first state to authorize the establishment of Public Libraries. Our first Public Library opened in 1884 with approximately 4,500 books.

Today, through these doors the citizens of our town go to borrow children, teen and adult books. E-books can be downloaded from the comfort of your home or while you are on the go. There are also movies, music, public computers, ancestry and reference materials, conference rooms to book, and magazines to trade. It’s a busy place where most days you circle the lot to find a parking space.

Outside, you can sit at a picnic table, bench, or on the beautiful stone walls to read or wait for a ride.

LibraryCollage

I love my library – it is my tax dollars at work for something that I totally approve of and fully utilize. 🙂

Do you use your local library or do you enjoy owning your own books? Books, as in those with paper pages or with electronic pages?

However we choose our reading materials, I think we can probably all agree – reading is always a wonderful adventure.

Linked to Norm Frampton’s Thursday Doors November 5, 2015.

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Photography, Thursday Doors and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

65 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. Murphy's Law says:

    100% library books. Never without a book to read. In fact, I’m (im)patiently waiting for Lee Child’s “Make Me”. Seems like I’ve been on waiting list forever. Oh! Wait!! It has been forever.

    And I’m with you. Jack Reacher would straighten this country out in a New York minute. In the meantime, however, he can press his trousers under my mattress and put his folding toothbrush in my bathroom anytime he wants!!! Hahahah!!!

    Great photos!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I need a ‘Love’ button for this comment. Oh my gosh, thank you for the laugh. I’ll be chuckling all day when I think about it. 🙂 Goodreads sends out emails with new books, and I head right over to the library website to put a hold on all the new ones. And, when they don’t have what I’m looking for, they’ll buy it and put me on hold for it. It just doesn’t get any better, but you do need a sense of humor when you notice you are #23 or something like that on the hold list. Have a great day!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. marianallen says:

    Gorgeous building! I grew up utilizing the library, so I love libraries and all they contain, but I love to own books, too. I like to lend or give books to people I think would like them, and I like to reread whole or part of books on a whim. Sometimes, when my husband and I think we have too many books, I think of an elderly woman in Richmond, Kentucky, where I went to college, who turned her house into a public library!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have a friend who loans me books she has bought and enjoyed. 🙂 For several years, when I would buy books, I gave them to a lady I worked with to read, she passed them to her husband who then passed them to his mom, who then donated them to a senior center. I loved sharing them, and a personal public library is wonderful. It reminds me of those small libraries/buildings/sheds that people put out by the road to share books. Books – they are a good thing. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Norm 2.0 says:

    YES! Good one Judy. We use our local library too and every time we go I’m always pleasantly surprised to see how many others do too.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Laurie Graves says:

    Love, love, love this post! And I love libraries, large and small. I couldn’t agree more with what you have written, and I was especially tickled by how the parking lot is always full. Let’s hear it for libraries, where it doesn’t matter who you are or how much money you earn!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I moved about 2 years ago, and one of the most difficult things to move was my library. It literally was boxes covering the floor of a 20 foot truck. I have since tried to pare it down, and if I buy anything I look for Kindle, Nook or PDF first… I have a large enough electronic library to last a lifetime, and still have a library card. I want to build a scanner too …

    Liked by 1 person

    • LOL as I picture the floor of the truck covered. Books are a wonderful thing. This whole conversation makes me wonder whether the younger generations will feel the same because they have grown up with everything on line and in their their phone, tablet, computer, etc. I guess we were lucky to have grown up with real books. 🙂

      Like

  6. Joyce says:

    What a beautiful building your library is! I would love to read as much as you do, but my spare time needs to go to quilting now if I’m ever going to finish a big one for the first grandchild – out of a goal of eight! I don’t buy books for myself, but for the grandkids I enjoy going to the library and making a list of good ones to buy on Amazon. That’s how I stock my own family library for them!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. joey says:

    Your library is beautiful! Our library was built in the early 80’s and is kinda…well I’m not a fan of modernism. That being said, it’s been ‘my library’ for 30 years and I still love the way it smells. The Central Library downtown is beautiful like yours, and about five times its size, but we don’t often go there, unless something is only to be retrieved quickly at that branch.
    I get most of my books via the library as well. They’re building a new one even closer to us, so I’m excited about that!
    I read 90% physical books and 10% ebooks. We own a lot of books. ALAWT ALAWT. We pare down and lend like any other library, lol!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. quiltify says:

    OK, I need to learn more about this Jack Reacher fellow… I figure I can live a long time to get through all the books in my library, and then the library system of withdrawal from the libraries in our network. I always have more than one book going at a time. I love to hold a book in my hand but I’m thrilled with the alternatives we have as well. No longer have to pack books to travel, which makes the suitcase much lighter. And now that I have figured out how to download audio books directly from the library to my ipod, I go thru even more stories, while I clean. Our library’s original building is a wonderful Henry Hobson Richardson building, with multiple additions through the years, but with the city’s wonderful desire to blend the modern with the older well. I love our library. And after visiting the library, there’s a wonderful Indian Restaurant just down the around the corner!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Library + good restaurant = great outing. Audio books certainly have a place in our hectic lives. I’ve used quite a few when we go on long trips. 🙂 Okay, Jack Reacher is a character the writer Lee Child created. He is ex military police, has experienced a lot of drama, so he travels around the US with only a portable tooth brush. He puts his pants under the mattress to press at night, washes his shirt, and gets back on the road in the morning. In each book, he arrives in some town and walks right into trouble from which he has to extricate himself and usually someone else. He cares, he’s tough, and he is kind of a MacGyver type. We’ve read every one of the 20+ books and impatiently wait for the next one to be written.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. I LOVE public libraries! I use our own local branch regularly. Years ago we had a bookmobile come to our village once a week. It was a mini library (part of the public library system) in a bus. 🙂 I used to take the kids to get a new stack of books every week. When I travel, I seek them out local public libraries where ever I go. Even though I can’t take out a book, these places are a treasure trove of local culture and community. Nice shots!

    Like

  10. dimlamp says:

    I’m all for public libraries too, your library has character. Well done.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I love libraries and bookstores, especially independent bookstores. However, I am contributing to their demise by purchasing most of my books electronically. I once swore I would never do that, but then I needed a book quickly one time and downloaded it, and that was all it took. I feel pangs of guilt but then the convenience and cost-effectiveness win out, plus the fact that we don’t have piles of books in the house. I have never been a “book keeper”. I prefer to lend or donate my books when I’m finished, although I do have a nice collection of coffee-table books featuring architecture from places I have visited, as well as children’s books I am saving for my grandchildren one day! Beautiful library building – I could work in a library, for sure!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. What a great testimony for libraries. I don’t know where I would be without one nearby. The resources, the programs and somewhere you can go and sit and read quietly for a bit when you need a break from this chaotic world. It was a notable moment when our kids were little when they were old enough to get their own cards. I still have one of them!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. If I order a book online it is usually from a used book seller but it is not too often that I do that and it is usually non fiction. Our little community library is a walk away…they don’t have a lot but I go there for fiction which I read sporadically so it’s fine. Occasionally I’ll visit the larger library in the next town if I am wanting something specific. And it’s books for me, no kindle….

    Liked by 1 person

  14. That is a beautiful library! I waffle between using the library or purchasing a book after reading a quote long ago that has stuck with me as a writer: “Any book worth reading is worth buying.” Often the reader in me wins out over the writer (perhaps because I’ve not yet written a book!). That said, I love libraries and being a librarian has always been my second most longed-for career. 😀

    The library stuff is super cool BUT… I want to hear about your need to live with only what was in your suitcase for a year!

    Liked by 1 person

    • We had our home and acreage on the market in KS, but I had been offered a job in NH. So…for a year we rented a furnished condo, and all we had were our clothes. Once you have done that, it is fairly easy to look at ‘things’ and decide to donate them rather than move them. And, once you have gotten rid of all those things you have no decide to start buying ‘stuff’ again. Of course, I still laugh about when we bought a new entertainment center, and I had absolutely nothing to put on the shelves. 🙂

      Like

  15. Karen says:

    When we had our summer cottage in Maine, we would walk to the library every week to get a little exercise and knowledge all at the same time. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Eliza Waters says:

    We utilize the library system all the time. We can request a hold online and they send an email when it is ready for pick-up – so convenient! Books, music, dvds, and even passes to local museums. What’s not to love?

    Liked by 1 person

  17. sue says:

    The library and librarian were a refuge from a dysfunctional home when I was a girl. I was encouraged to explore literature, biographies etc. So I consider it my first higher educational opportunity. When I was older and could afford it, I put myself thru college and found a profession I loved and worked in for 25 years. It was sparked by a librarian who listened to me as a young girl and directed me to books about Hull House and the work of Jane Adams.
    I volunteer one day a week at a branch library doing whatever, sometimes finding requested materials, sometimes just dusting. It’s a small token payback for the kindness and encouragement
    Shown to me..it’s good to see so many folks here appreciate their library services. Budget cuts and newer ideas sometimes are minimizing services and I’ve even seen calls for eliminating them as “why do we need them with technology today” So go hug a librarian! Or at least say thanks. Support them if reasonable millage requests, donate books if they have book sales. Lots of people still depend on the libraries

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Dan Antion says:

    That’s a beautiful library. Ours is like Joey’s, modern and meh. I tend to read real books that I own. There’s something about holding a book, smelling a book and flipping around in a book that is hard to define and impossible to duplicate electronically. That plus the fact that I work at a computer or laptop or tablet all day long, so I don’t want to go home a read an eBook. I’d use the library if I didn’t already own enough unread books to last me for several years.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Geert Smits says:

    Wow. That is a beautiful building! If all libraries looked like this one E-readers would not have been invented. Shame on me … i love reading an e-book

    Liked by 1 person

  20. pbmgarden says:

    Love real books and libraries. We have way too many in our house but they’re like old friends.

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Grandma Kc says:

    You are talking to the Book Fair-ie here! Of course there is always a book close by — sometimes a paper one and sometimes the Kindle. All reading is good reading! LOVE your library!

    Liked by 1 person

  22. germac4 says:

    We love books in this household…and we do buy quite a few, but I’m getting stronger as I get older…only the most loved ones can stay! I pass them on to our book fair in Canberra (Australia) called the Life Line Book Fair. Life Line is a charity for people who are lonely and just need someone to talk to, a kind listening ear…

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Your library looks like our library on steroids. I would use our library, but I think more than half the books used to be mine. I know ALL the audiobooks used to be mine and I would give them more, but there’s no more room. I don’t buy anything solid in books except new hardcovers by a few favorite authors. Otherwise, it’s all electronic all the time and these days, most likely Audible. Our library desperately needs to be better funded and enlarged, but the town doesn’t get it. None of the towns around here understand why they need a library and that’s a terrible shame.

    Liked by 1 person

  24. Mother Hen says:

    I want to let go of stuff.. How did you go about it? I am curious…I worked in a library and would drag books home that were donated.. Very dangerous…lol!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have one daughter so I asked her if there were certain things she wanted, and the answer was ‘no.’ LOL So, from that point, I would look at something, and if I hadn’t used it in months or years, I drove it and its friends to Goodwill. The books were fairly easy for me because I’m not one to reread a book. I kept books about places we had lived or ones that were signed by the author, and the rest I donated. I don’t ever throw anything away, I always donate it hoping it can be reused or repurposed by someone else. Every year in the spring I go through my attic again to make sure I don’t have stuff I can get rid of. Hope that helps. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  25. That really does look like a splendid library Judy! I confess to being a bibliophile since I was a very small child and have always been a purchaser rather than a borrower but since we moved to France I’ve realised how many unread and wonderful books sit on my shelves so now I buy very few and read what I have or borrow!

    Liked by 1 person

  26. Judy, you’re featuring my favorite building–the library. I confess to loving books in all forms–books, e-books, whatever. I’m still far from minimalistic: I have boxes of books that tend to cling to my hands when I try to get rid of them. I have a library card that I use constantly, a Kindle and Kindle apps for travel, and all those books that I actually own. I make no apologies, although I will still try to pare down both books and other belongings as best I can. Not sure if I could live somewhere without a good library, though. My favorite type of book is the traditional.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  27. KerryCan says:

    I’m a library girl, too! I get most of my fiction from our library and my small quilting group even meets in a library. The library can’t, though, give me the books I want for crafting–weaving, quilting, etc.–so I do spend money on those!

    Liked by 1 person

  28. Elizabeth - Lili and Mum's says:

    Your library is so pretty! I love ours, but it’s tiny. I’ve been volunteering for over a year and enjoy getting my hands on all those books and movies. I love paper books, but I’m not opposed to e-books or audio books.

    Liked by 1 person

  29. Such a beautiful building!

    I work in a public library, so I may be a bit biased – I am a huge fan! 🙂 Even with access to so many books and other materials, I still buy/collect them. I prefer print over electronic.

    Liked by 1 person

  30. reocochran says:

    I would have to look where my childhood friend lived in New Hampshire but I visited her there 2 x, Judy. It is a beautiful place to live or visit. This was a gorgeous and outstanding building. I could not believe it is a library! Lovely multiple leveled doors, arches and details, Judy.
    I live in a one bedroom apartment and can relate to becoming a member of the simple and less complicated life. I have felt someone said this before, “My home is small so my world can be large.” Spending money now at this age is for events, travel, meals I don’t have to cook and gifts for family members. Judy, thanks for sharing your living out of a suitcase. It opened my emotions like, “Aha! She may relate to me, now that we have shared this similar philosophy.” I tell authors, Judy, that our library has purchase request forms. I have copied many books fellow bloggers have written, seen a few make it on yo Delaware (Ohio) County District library shelves. My NH friend met her husband at college and they got married to move to New Jersey. We still exchange holiday cards, too. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

