Weekly Photo Challenge: Transition

PeonyCollage

It seems like magic in the spring when the peonies start to burst forth and transition from tiny buds to beautiful blooms while producing an intoxicating fragrance. I shake the ants off, cut some blooms, and bring them inside to enjoy. I can’t help myself.

Yes, as I sit here the day after Thanksgiving in the land of brown awaiting the season of white, I’m very definitely dreaming about the color of spring and summer. 🙂

I readily admit that is my favorite time of the year – gardening, camping, and day trip season up and down the New England coast. So, what season of the year causes your pulse to quicken?

If you are looking for more interpretations of transition, check here.

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Photography, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Transition

  1. Tiegan says:

    The biggest peony photo kind of looks like a dahlia to me.

    It’s an awesome series of photos, showing the transition from bud to full bloom.

    -T

    https://harbourwave.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  2. joey says:

    I love my peonies, too.
    I must say, your ants are much smaller. Ours are more the size of my pinkie toe! I cut mine at night and I drown them in a bucket of cold water before I bring them in so I only get a few ants.
    Fall is my season, especially late fall. I like the cold, the snow, the damp, the smell of wet leaves (mold, mmm!)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Vonita says:

    These are so beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. RuthsArc says:

    beautifully captured

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Dan Antion says:

    That’s a beautiful flower Judy. I’ll be looking forward to spring at some point, but I am looking forward to winter. I like the cold crisp days and a moderate amount of snow. I also have a few fall things to do.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. A really gorgeous transition, Judy. I think Spring is my favourite season.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Nancy says:

    Love peonies! And once again a great entry for transition!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Flowers are such a wonderful transition to enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. quiltify says:

    The great thing about living in New England is that we have four seasons to enjoy and from which to choose a favorite. My favorite time is Labor Day to Thanksgiving, but others come in a close second. Lovely photos!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge-Transition | WoollyMuses

  11. Joyce says:

    I like spring the best too; usually we wait so long for it. And just getting rid of heavy coats and sweaters and driving with the windows down….stuff like that I appreciate!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Ogee says:

    I love them all. Like a true gardener, you live simultaneously in the moment – and two seasons ahead!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Aian Ramos says:

    I love the transition – a very delicate one 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  14. KerryCan says:

    It’s quite a pleasure to see peonies right now, when it’s so dreary out. I have to admit, though, I’m an autumn gal–love it!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Gorgeous peonies! White…reminded me that I yet again forgot to look for paperwhite bulbs to start in the house.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Pingback: WPC: Transition (Shutters) | Chris Breebaart Photography / What's (in) the picture?

  17. Eliza Waters says:

    Oh, how delightful to view peonies this time of year! They are one of my favorite flowers. Thanks for the mini-vacation to June!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. I love peonies. Except for the ants 🙂 Great pictures!!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. reocochran says:

    I like Summer best for “doing” things, Judy. The season of Spring is glorious in nature but a lot of rainy days in between the beautiful ones. 🙂 Each season has something to “offer,” which makes me appreciate the changes.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Tina Schell says:

    Isnt it weird how much the ants cling to the peonies? On of my very favorite flowers but oh so short-lived!

    Liked by 1 person

  21. aekshots says:

    i like spring as well Judy. While the new year starts in January, I feel like everything really starts in spring. You get thru another winter and then warm weather and all that goes with it is on the way. Nice post.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Tammie says:

    so very love
    our flowers are in the form of snowflakes this time of year 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Grandma Kc says:

    Your photo is beautiful! I love peonies! I like Spring but Summer is my favorite season. Fortunately summer in southern California is really long! When I lived in Michigan Fall was my favorite season. I loved stomping in the leaves and roasting marshmallows!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

