Thursday Doors

Blue School

This handsome blue building with the bright white door is the Blue School in Landaff, New Hampshire.  It covers K-3 and is one of the two remaining one-room school houses in our state.

It has been on this land, bordered by a brook and the intersection of two county roads, since 1858 when James Buchanan was President.

The original curriculum included grammar, penmanship, history, and arithmetic while today they also enjoy physical education, French, and computer science.

A modern building was added a few years ago because of increased enrollment. There is a breezeway between the two building to provide a transition from historical to modern construction. The increase did not hold true so the new addition now houses the school’s library and lunch room. All academic instruction for the approximate 18 students is still done in the original building to retain its historic status.

Landaff was founded in 1774 and has a population of a little over 400 people. My grandparents’ farm was less than 1/2 mile from the Blue School.

To this day, I am always amazed when we visit the area and see that it is still a vibrant part of the community. They really don’t build them like that any more. 🙂

Linked to Norm Frampton’s Thursday Doors, December 3, 2015.

——

Parental comment posted on http://www.greatschools.org

★★★ ★★April 09, 2014

We came from a school with about 125 first graders to the Blue School with 19 students total! My son absolutely LOVES the attention he receives there and has flourished with the help of his wonderful teachers. The staff and students made him feel immediately welcomed and comfortable. The school provides a family-like atmosphere. Totally different from the high volume, “your kid is a number” attitude….They have had wonderful trips that teach the children the history of the area. They also have visitors that further that learning. I have not heard one bad thing from my son since he started there. He looks forward to going to school everyday and strives to make his teachers happy. I can’t say enough great things about this little blue schoolhouse. It has proved to be one of the best things that has happened in my son’s education!!! Thank you to all that work there and take the time to teach these children!!! You are GREAT!

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Photography, Thursday Doors and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. Dan Antion says:

    That’s such a good looking building and a remarkable story. While politicians debate and tinker with education policy, here’s a solution that has been working for almost 250 years! Great doors today Judy and thanks for sharing the history.

    Liked by 1 person

    • We visit the area a couple of times a year, driving down familiar dirt roads, checking our my grandparents’ farm, and stopping at the family cemetery plot to pay respects. I often wonder if young families move to the area so their children can experience such a unique educational opportunity. Glad you liked it.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Murphy's Law says:

    We had a one-room school house where I grew up in Westchester County, NY. It wasn’t kept up as nicely as your blue beauty with it’s welcoming white door, but I always loved it. In fact, I felt cheated that I couldn’t go to it. Instead my school was a “modern” brick building.

    And imagine a time when penmanship was taught!! And we practiced, over and over, our cursive letters. And we all learned how to hold a pen and write!! And yet in my old age here I am responding to your blog on my iPad!! WTH!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I was still taking penmanship along with typing when I was in business college. LOL I wonder if they teach a class on typing with your thumbs now. I could really use one of those because my thumbs are more acclimated to a space bar than the keyboard on a smart phone. 🙂

      Like

  3. My grandparent’s “camp’ was a one room schoolhouse years ago….:)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Judy, who wouldn’t want to go to school here? Although our Omaha parochial school wasn’t nearly one room, we did have three grades in a room and probably only about 100 students in the entire school, leading to lots of individual attention and an excellent education. I ended up home schooling our girls through high school, so we had lots of “home rooms.” 🙂

    The best class I ever had to take in high school was typing, although no one knew I’d be now typing on a keyboard rather than a typewriter. As for typing with my thumbs, I tend to use my forefingers instead and if it weren’t for auto-correct, those thumb typers would send mostly incomprehensible messages! Phone “keyboards” are simply too small.

    janet

    Like

  5. Norm 2.0 says:

    That is just delightful Judy – thanks for sharing this one 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Like New Englanders, this building has a “STURDY” look to it, and is well maintained, built to last. I had to laugh when I saw the basketball posts and the satellite dish. The lucky teacher who gets to work with those children.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Laurie Graves says:

    Yes, amazing that this building is still used as a school. How nice they were able to put a library in the addition. As I’m sure you’ll agree, no matter how small, a library is priceless.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. dimlamp says:

    Charming little school house.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Joyce says:

    My thoughts, as I read, were expressed in the “parental comment” you quoted. What a wonderful experience for the fortunate children who attend that school! I’m sure it’s not for everyone, but for those who thrive on personal attention and the absence of all kinds of crazy “worldly” distractions, this is a real jewel of a school! I wish I’d been able to go there – or my children or grandchildren! I’ll bet every child emerges with self-confidence and recognition for their own unique strengths and talents!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. reocochran says:

    I like the open idea of one room school-houses, Judy. In Europe montessori schools believe in community learning 🙂 The building and area looks so wonderful, too. Happy beginning of December, enjoy! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  11. joey says:

    Wow! That’s a beautiful blue! I can imagine what a joy it is to teach there! Lovely share.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. quiltify says:

    My grandmother taught in a one room schoolhouse in Putnam, CT up to 1907, when she was married. Your post brings back some wonderful stories that she passed on to me. Wonderful photo, too!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. I love this. All my kids have always gone to big schools – their high school had 3,000 students. I think they would have liked something a little more intimate, especially at a younger age.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Mary says:

    Truly enjoyed learning about this little school house.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Eliza Waters says:

    Remarkable! I enjoyed learning about this little school. It is heartening to read about kids in a warm and nurturing learning environment.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Perhaps her son loves the school because there he is taught how to think, not what to think?

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Good to know there are still a few places like this. Add a freckle-faced boy in suspenders and you’d have a Norman Rockwell painting.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. marianallen says:

    How I wish every child go attend such a school! Thanks for sharing it, Judy. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Nadezda says:

    Wonderful and cozy Blue school, Judy. I’d love to study there too. I can imagine the family atmosphere and attentive teachers.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Grandma Kc says:

    And I thought Amara went to a cool school! How wonderful for those students and what a wonderful place on its own! I didn’t know there were any one room schools left.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

