Thursday Doors

GreenhouseDoorThrough this humble metal PoinsettiaTreedoor, my friends and I entered the Macfarlane Research Greenhouses on the campus of the University of New Hampshire to experience the 10th annual Poinsettia Trials that started today and runs through Saturday.

Visitors are treated to more than 100 varieties of Poinsettias and can help in ongoing research by completing survey forms.

As usual, there were every shape, size, and color imaginable. But, this year it seemed like the colors almost took your breath away they were so vibrant.

Poinsettia Collage

PoinsettiaGiftWith all the plants being sold for a modest $12, my problem was that when friends came for lunch yesterday, they brought me a huge, beautiful Poinsettia. One that takes up an entire coffee table. There was no way I could bring home another one.

After voting for my favorites and looking through all the greenhouses, I spent a lot of time in the area devoted to the growing of hydroponic vegetables.

Tanks of tilapia and goldfish provided nutrients for a variety of greens, and cherry ‘holiday’ tomatoes were on sale for $5 each. It makes a New England gardener’s heart sing in the middle of December to see tomatoes on the vine. 🙂

HydroponicCollage

Instead of buying Poinsettias, I picked up a few tomato plants. Here’s hoping on Christmas day I can pick a couple of tomatoes and toss them in a salad.

Before I left, I spoke with a couple of young men about the hydroponic systems they were using, and one man in particular blew me away. He will graduate in June and along with his brother who is two years younger, they have purchased eighteen acres of land in the Mt, Washington Valley area and plan to establish an educational center for homesteaders. He wants to help others be self-sufficient with an ultimate goal of seeing the entire Mt. Washington Valley area self-sufficient and able to survive regardless of the up and downs of our global economy.

This metal door was very ordinary, but the Poinsettia Trials and the UNH students studying and working in the agricultural program at UNH were certainly impressive. 🙂

Linked to Norm Frampton’s Thursday Doors, December 10, 2015.

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Photography, Thursday Doors and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. Sabiscuit says:

    I love greenhouses. Good job on getting the tomato plant. I hope you get to add some to your Christmas salad. I’m sure it’ll be tasty.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I picked through all the plants and got the four with the most tomatoes on them. LOL I gave two to my daughter and the other two I have on my four-season porch so they can get the most sun I have to offer. I’m going to be like a kid at the Hershey plant when I pick that first ripe tomato. 🙂

      Liked by 3 people

      • Sabiscuit says:

        It is a thrill, picking own fruit. Plants make really wonderful gifts. That was thoughtful. I like your method of plant hunting. I am going to try that if I am ever in the market for some indoor veggies. Warm wishes for the season. xo

        Liked by 1 person

      • You would probably be embarrassed if you ever went perennial plant shopping with me. LOL I always look for plants that have more than one base stem so I can divide it into additional plants as soon as I get home. I also don’t hesitate to gently pull the plant out of the pot to see if it is root bound. I had a nursery employee ask me if I needed help one day, and I just smiled and said ‘no thank you’ I’m just checking the root system. 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

      • Sabiscuit says:

        You’re adorable, Judy. I am learning a lot from you. Thanks for this great tip. I appreciate adventurous shopping companions, so rest assured, I’ll watch your back. xo

        Liked by 1 person

  2. reocochran says:

    Judy, I love when unexpected surprises are behind doors. I realize you knew there would be poinsettias, but WE didn’t. 🙂 You were so right about how bright and colorful the flowers were. I liked the tree made of poinsettias. Hugs, Robin

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Paige says:

    Gorgeous photos! : )

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Joyce says:

    What an adventure! There’s nothing about gardening that’s static. Always something new – and those colors on the poinsettias – wow!
    I admire the homesteading effort. That’s the best way to survive, not only to avoid adverse effects of the economy, but also to avoid eating crazy chemicals like most of us do.
    I’m glad you found such great information, all while having fun, after you entered that humble doorway!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. joey says:

    It’s inspiring that you met such a fine, ambitious fellow!
    I have never cared for Poinsettias. It’s weird, because I love flowers so much, you’d think I would, I dunno. Maybe I had an unfortunate experience I no longer remember or something. I’m always gracious when I receive them, but somethin about them bothers me. *shrug*
    Still, so many varieties!

    Liked by 1 person

    • They are gorgeous but I understand. My problem comes after the first of the year and all the decorations are put away except for this gigantic red and white plant. LOL I have to gear myself up, walk to the property border, and give it a good heave ho. It always seems like a waste because I hardly ever throw a live plant away, but no way am I babysitting one. 🙂

      Like

  6. Norm 2.0 says:

    Wonderful post Judy. though I’m a little jealous of anyone who’s equipped to grow tomatoes at this time of year 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  7. The Poinsettia Trials! How neat! I still need to get some…wish I were closer as those colors are gorgeous!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Oh, ripe tomatoes sounds SO good. I really enjoyed your post, Judy, especially reading about those two young men and their goals!

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Eliza Waters says:

    Fantastic colors – What a treat to see so many poinsettia cultivars. Is this in Durham? I need to go there!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. rusty duck says:

    Picking tomatoes off the plant for Christmas? That would be brilliant!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Dan Antion says:

    Those are beautiful photos Judy, the colors are stunning. The idea of fresh tomatoes on Christmas, wow, that makes me want to update my list to Santa.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. What a pretty poinsettia tree. Sounds like a terrific day.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Murphy's Law says:

    Once again I learn from you. Had no idea poinsettias came in so many varieties. Beautiful. Enjoy your salad and good luck to the brothers. Hope their venture goes from a dream to a success.

    The door may be drab, but your post isn’t!! 😍

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Poinsettas and tomatoes…a combo made in heaven 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  15. pagedogs says:

    I am continually impressed by the new generation of farmers in New England. It’s a tough job and it does my heart good to see such enthusiasm, hard work, and vision. I hope those brothers have strong community support and a little luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Murphy's Law says:

    No, thank YOU for interesting, enlightening, humorous and often “food for thought” posts. So glad my daughter led me to you.

    If I may call you Judy, please feel free to call me Ginger. Although Lord knows at 76 I think I’ve outlived that nickname!! But FRIENDS and family still call me Ginger. A few people use Ginny. And I imagine the undertaker will refer to me as Virginia! Sigh…

    There are a few other names I’ve been called over the years, but I probably shouldn’t mention them here! LOL!

    So Merry Christmas my friend. And a healthy, happy and safe New Year.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It is a pleasure meeting you, Ginger. I’m also guessing that if we could talk face-to-face we would have several of those ‘other names’ in common. LOL Here’s hoping no one refers to you as ‘Virginia’ for a long, long time because I always look forward to chatting with you after a post.:-)

      Like

  17. Grandma Kc says:

    Not the most exciting door you’ve ever shown me but I did like what behind that door! We have a neighbor who has a HUGE poinsettia outside their front door. More of a tree than a plant as it is now well past their roof line! It is so pretty and in southern California it blooms almost year round.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. I love all the poinsettias! What a great way to get into the Christmas spirit!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. So beautiful! And only TWELVE DOLLARS? A lovely deal!

    I recently learned there’s a poinsettia farm about 20 minutes from my home, where they offer Christmas tours through their greenhouses. The rows and rows of many colors looked incredible on the news story I watched. Perhaps I’ll have time to visit before they’re gone for the season.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. I like the idea of tomatoes in December. That will be a wonderful winter treat! Much better than a poinsettia plant even though all of them are beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Love the “tree”! Great story about the student brothers – it kinda makes me think that the future is gonna okay.😌

    Liked by 1 person

  22. I settled for one, lovely poinsettia this year … and maybe if the light is right, I’ll take some pictures tomorrow. You just reminded me. Meanwhile, time to give it a long cool drink 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  23. I have a little ‘hydroponic’ set up in my kitchen window. in a shallow dish I place the ends of spring onions (scallions) some carrot and radish tops, the end of a cluster of celery stalks and anything else that might sprout leaves or re-grow. The scallions are the quickest and I transfer them to pots of compost when they have grown new shoots.

    Liked by 1 person

  24. What a wonderfully inspiring project Judy, thanks for sharing it, I really hope they realise their goals.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

