Thursday Doors

Real door or gingerbread door? Definitely gingerbread. πŸ™‚

AppleDoor Collage

Over the weekend, we took a short drive to Applecrest Orchard and Farm Market in Hampton Falls, NH. It is a wonderful place to visit, and this time of year it is gorgeous including beautiful wreaths and boxwood trees for sale.

DecorCollage

The Market has fresh produce, bakery, cheese and meat sections and wonderful home-made cider. You can also enjoy a meal in their Farm Bistro.

We bought some bakery goods and some cheese, but I spent most of my time checking out this great gingerbread house. Over the years, I’ve made my share of gingerbread houses so I can certainly appreciateΒ the hours and talent required to produce one of this size. Amazing. πŸ™‚

AppleDoor2Collage

AppleDoor3Collage

Is the making of a gingerbread house part of your holiday plans?

Linked to Norm Frampton’s Thursday Doors, December 17, 2015.

———-

About Applecrest Farms:

“Nearly a century ago, an “Apple Train” ran its weekly route from the heart of Boston to the rolling orchards of Applecrest Farm. People mostly drive here now, but the farm remains as New Hampshire’s oldest and largest apple orchard. It’s the oldest continuously-operated in America. Four generations of the Wagner family have worked this land, dedicated to their simple mission of sustainably growing the finest fruit and vegetables available.

Visit Applecrest today and discover a bounty of grown-on-the-farm delights, including over 40 varieties of apples, peaches, berries, sweet corn, pumpkins and an array of summer vegetables. Beneath the timbers of a 200 year-old barn, find jugs of our all-natural apple cider, made-from-scratch confectioneries (including our famous hot cider donuts) and an array of other locally produced farm goods.

History sure tastes good.”

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Photography, Thursday Doors and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. joyroses13 says:

    Sounds like a great place to visit and yup I choose the Gingerbread door! πŸ™‚ We used to decorate Gingerbread houses, the girls would always look better than mine πŸ™‚ We may have to do it again this year even tho they are teenagers now!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dan Antion says:

    Gingerbread gets my vote too. We won’t be making a gb-house, but I always like seeing them. We do visit a couple of places like this, but not every year. It’s fun to look at displays like this.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Joyce says:

    Put me down for gingerbread, too! They did an amazing job – including those black lamps over the center door! What a fun place to visit, and it looks like you went at a good time, without too many crowds. That’s one thing I like about retirement – you can avoid the crazy weekends!
    I used to make small graham cracker “gingerbread” houses and let my daughters invite one friend each to decorate them with lots of cute candy. It was a Christmas tradition.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes – we normally go wherever we want during the holiday season Mon-Fri and avoid the weekend. It’s a wonderful option. πŸ™‚ Love your graham cracker houses. They would work just as well because we all know royal icing could definitely hold it together. πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. Applecrest Market looks like a wonderful place to visit, especially at the holidays. I would love a mug of warm cider! It’s been many years since I had little ones around who would appreciate a gingerbread house, but maybe someday soon I’ll make one with my grandchildren. Happy Christmas, Judy!

    Like

  5. that’s one heck of a gingerbread house! I have never made one …just little men cookies πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. Murphy's Law says:

    What an amazing gingerbread house! Love the stone walls and the Applecrest
    Farms sign on the pole flying the American flag. Beautiful detail. Gingerbread house gets my vote. This place alone would make it worth the trip to New Hampshire.

    You take the most interesting side trips!! Great photos. Thanks for sharing. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Dawn says:

    Gingerbread door!! What an amazing gingerbread house! Although we no longer make gingerbread houses here, it was one of our favorite, annual holiday traditions throughout childhood. Baking and decorating gingerbread houses is one of my sweetest holiday memories! Applecrest Orchard is a treasure. I would love walking around there! Thank you for taking us there today. Warm Christmas wishes, Judy! β™‘

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Love this! Wish I had even a fraction of the talent … and patience!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Definitely a place I’d visit. I love apples and discovering kinds that are heirloom. When we were in Cleveland, I had a great apple guy at the market that would sell me seconds for applesauce for very little.

    Thanks for getting me in the Christmas mood even more!

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I am definitely putting Applecrest Farm on my list of places to visit on our next trip to Maine. I love the continuity of it and the donuts. No gingerbread house this year but the baking frenzy starts today.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. pagedogs says:

    Wow on the gingerbread house. And I love the thought of an Apple Train. So much better than driving.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Norm 2.0 says:

    History tastes good indeed. Gingerbread gets my vote too. Thi spost definitely puts me in the holiday spirit.
    I’ve never made Gingerbread anything, but I do make a great cranberry nut loaf; email me if you want to trade recipes πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  13. You take some very interesting trips. I love gingerbread houses, but have never made one. I could have a field day eating one tho!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Laurie Graves says:

    No plans at the little house in the big woods to make a gingerbread house. But what a house pictured in your post!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. What an impressive gingerbread house! We may be doing some at our house, but just “simple” kits πŸ™‚ I did go see a gingerbread house display myself last week. I’m amazed at how creative some of the designs can be!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. joey says:

    Gingerbread wins, fersure! I’ve never made a gingerbread house. I’ve helped here and there, but I don’t know that I could commit to building one. Requires a steady hand, and so much detail — not my kinda thing. I really appreciate the hard work involved in constructing such a large one.
    I love this post, this collection of photos fills me with the spirit of the season! All that greenery, oh I just love it! I’ve a florist friend who’s been posting photos of homes he decorates for the holidays and after hundreds of them, I’ve discovered I could never get sick of holiday greenery!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. jan says:

    We’re traveling to visit family on Christmas so I probably won’t get the chance to make a gingerbread house! Thanks for reminding me of how idyllic late fall days can be in New England!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. jesh stg says:

    I’m still a kid – so the gingerbread house door is “it” for me:)

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Geert Smits says:

    Mjammie. Mouthwatering! But I guess you have to eat it the day after building? Otherwise it is perhaps to tough to digest? Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Very seasonal, Judy, and mouthwatering.

    Liked by 1 person

  21. quiltify says:

    Such a festively pretty post…and love the snow!

    Liked by 1 person

  22. germac4 says:

    Those gingerbread houses look wonderful….you’ve reminded me to go to the markets before Christmas to buy one. (I could never make one….just don’t have that talent)

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Nancy says:

    Love the gingerbread door! I made a gingerbread house last year. So fun! This year I may try again. However… I have a collection of ready made gingerbread houses. I will be posting pictures of them soon. Merry Christmas to you and yours!

    Liked by 1 person

  24. marianallen says:

    Ooo! Nice! I’ve made a couple of gingerbread castles, but nothing this elaborate. I’m not known for my elaborate creations. heh

    Liked by 1 person

  25. Very impressive gingerbread construction. I once tried to eat a piece … and discovered it only LOOKS tasty πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  26. No, I’ve never made a gingerbread house. These are really gorgeous, but I wouldn’t have the heart to eat them. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  27. Shannon Hart says:

    What a beautiful gingerbread house!

    Liked by 1 person

  28. reocochran says:

    I was so happy to see your post about gingerbread house doors, Judy! I have read to my grandkids the Gingerbread Man and Gingerbread Boy (i like Jan Brett’s the best) books for every year they could sit long enough to listen. That and “T’was the Night Before Christmas” book are their favorites. πŸ™‚ I have not made gingerbread men out of cookie dough but have cut brown paper bag ornaments on gingerbread shape, allowing buttons, ribbons and stickers to decorate for on the tree. Hope you have a very fun Christmas, Judy.

    Liked by 1 person

  29. Reading to grandchildren – one of the greatest jobs in the world. πŸ™‚ I like the idea of your gingerbread ornaments. Merry Christmas to you and yours. πŸ™‚

    Like

  30. Grandma Kc says:

    What a wonderful place to go visit! That would put me in the Christmas spirit more — and I need that! Thanks for the wonderful doors! Merry Christmas to you and Dennis.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

