Thursday Doors

WindmillCollage

The wonderful windmills of the Netherlands – things that fairy tales are made of and do not need words to appreciate.

Sincere best wishes for a healthy and happy 2016.Β πŸŽ‰

Linked to Norm Frampton’s Thursday Doors for December 31, 2015.

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Photography, Thursday Doors and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. Joyce says:

    I do think of fairy tales whenever I see one of these majestic structures! That little boy with his finger in the dyke, especially! Mother read us folk tales from all the European countries (no computer to plunk us in front of at that time!) and I had images in my mind of all the sights and sounds of them. Your pictures here make the ones based in Holland come alive again for me! But I have never seen the inside of a windmill. Wonder what it’s like! Did you get to go in one of them?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Judy, have a wonderful new year, looking forward to another year of your blog!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Judy, I love this! Enjoy this last day of 2015.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Dan Antion says:

    I always like seeing normal sized doors in supersized structures. These are great Judy. Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. klara says:

    I agree with Dan – like seeing normal sized door in a supersized structure. and windmills are so fairy tale-ish.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Norm 2.0 says:

    Wonderful way to send out the old and ring in the new Judy. Here’s to more travels, exploring and discovery in 2016 – Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. sue says:

    Here in Michigan, for those who can’t make the trip to the Netherlands, a working windmill is located in Holland Mi. It was brought over and restored about 50 yrs ago. Of course it’s a tourist attraction but sits by downtown in a park. Tulip time in May is when it’s really beautiful there.
    No, I don’t work for the chamber of commerce! Happy New year Judy and all…..
    Me and fitbit start our “relationship” tomorrow.

    Like

  8. dimlamp says:

    Lovely shots, the windmills are of Holland definitely have character. Blessings, and Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. joey says:

    I love this! Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Eliza Waters says:

    I’m glad they still have some functioning mills. Have your ever seen the one in Orleans, MA built in 1720? It was restored in the 1980s.
    Happy New Year, Judy!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. How beautiful! There is something magical about windmills in general, and to see a row of them all lined up like that is awesome. The Netherlands is definitely on my very long travel list!! Here is to more doors in 2016!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Lorrie says:

    Beautiful windmill photo! Wishing you a most happy 2016.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. pbmgarden says:

    Nice, and a cat in the window… Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Nancy says:

    Happy New Year my friend! Loved these pictures!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Grandma Kc says:

    That is definitely one place I would really love to see.Thank you for sharing — so beautiful! Happy New Year my friend. May it bring you lots of happiness and wonderful adventures (so that I can look at the pictures!)

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Great pictures! I have always wanted to visit the Netherlands and see the windmills for myself. What is the best time of the year to visit?

    Liked by 1 person

  17. KerryCan says:

    Oh, these photos take me back! I had one trip to the Netherlands, touring by bike–loved it all! Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Nadezda says:

    They really are, Judy. Happy New Year! Love your photos!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Barb says:

    Hi Judy,am loving all your posts and photos, some how My emails to you are coming bact to me,,,
    Do you have a new email email me back
    Barb

    Like

  20. Becca says:

    Those look so pretty! I would love to visit the Netherlands one day…being in the airport on a layover just doesn’t count!

    Liked by 1 person

  21. What a magical start to the year….I just love that long row of windmills stretching away along the river….takes me back to childhood tales too! I love the sound of the inside too, it makes me think of the inside of lighthouses….and more childhood dreamsβœ¨πŸ’•βœ¨

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Kamila Pala says:

    Great shots! I like this place, have been there last October :)! Happy New Year! Bye. Kamila

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

