I will survive

I think I will anyway.

So far, 2016 has run over me like an eighteen wheeler barreling down I95 towards Boston. The day before New Year’s Eve my husband and I both came down with something. It’s way more than a cold and a little less than pneumonia. I’m guessing it’s in the bronchitis category. Anyway, it has been and still is kicking our butt.

We’ve stayed hydrated, ate nutritious food, and rested. We did all that boring stuff you do when you are sick and don’t have the stamina to walk from one room to another.

But, all this hanging around in the land of illness allowed us to make a few decisions.

Next year we’re buying wood pellets from WoodPellets.com in MA because they are the only ones who sell 30 lb. bags.  That realization hit us while we were attempting to move the current 40 lb. bags from the garage to the pellet stove and could hardly lift the bag.

Always keep extra juice and tissues in the house. They are essential items when you get sick and can’t even imagine getting dressed in real clothes, driving to the store, and mixing with humanity to buy them.

Keep several books on hand because it is amazing how may books you read when that is all the energy you have. So far, I’ve read four of Paul Doiron‘s six books about his character, Mike Boditch, a Maine Game Warden. He has a cohesive cast of characters, hefty mystery, a little of Maine’s history, and several comments along the way that cause a chuckle. I’d highly recommend his books if you like mysteries with a little New England charm added.

I’ve done some hand sewing but just can’t stay at it too long because I’m just exhausted.

We’re also thinking we need to invest in tissues, paper towels, bacterial wipes and disinfectant spray because we’ve sure used a lot in the past week.

When I’m done here, I also need to go on-line and send Fitbit a message because if I get one more notification on that smart phone that I’m inactive I’m liable to hurt someone. Inactive? Heck, I’m darn near dead so I’m not really worrying about how many steps I’m not making today.

One positive is that I’m all caught up on reading blogs so I thank you all for providing a new year’s entertainment I could handle.

Here’s hoping you are all healthy and happy this first week in January. I’ll get there, it just won’t be this week I don’t think. 🙂

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Family, New England and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

93 Responses to I will survive

  1. Hang in there!!! PS, I *knew* there was a reason I didn’t want an Internet-equipped pedometer & you have just reinforced that conclusion! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for this chuckle. The first day I was so sick I was barely moving and kept waiting for it to holler out at me – hey, lady, are you dead or what? There is something about the phone and all of its apps thinking it can run your life and tell you what to do. I download as few apps as possible because I can’t stand the constant dinging and messaging to tell you something. At my age, if I want to know something I’ll contact them, but then again, I’m not their target audience. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Sorry to hear that we’re in the same boat. Pass me a tissue, please. And some cough, cold fever medicine and any other drugs you can spare….. I hope you both get well soon, Judy.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nancy says:

    Oh My Goodness!!!!!! Feel better! And Fit Bit needs to get kicked in the ole… well you know.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Joyce says:

    awww, Judy, I feel so badly. You don’t deserve this; you do so much for so many people when you are able to bop around. You are healthy enough to make us laugh, though! Your Fitbit commentary is too cute!
    As for the wood pellet bags, the only way I can relate is to compare them to the 42 lb. boxes of kitty litter I bring home once a month from Sam’s Club. I have to remember to bring grandpa with me on those days or I’m stuck trying to haul them into my cart and then into the car!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Ah, yes, at a certain age grabbing that 40-42 lb. bag is not an option anymore without help. A ME neighbor commented above she had something similar and it lasted four weeks. Oh my gosh, I’ll be insane if I hack this way for three more weeks. Plus, we haven’t seen the grandkids since we came down with it because we don’t want to pass it along. Now this is serious stuff we’re talking about here. 🙂

      Like

  5. Oh my gosh, you poor girl. You sound miserable!!!! If I lived closer, I would bring you some warm soup!! But, you do have me laughing hysterical with your Fitbit comments. Warm wishes sending your way.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. Hope this wicked weather hasn’t hit too close to your home. The smart phone kills me especially when it starts talking to give you some weather alert – lightening in your area, take cover. Does it realize I’m ready to take cover because this phone is talking to me? 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Laurie Graves says:

    Oh, I feel your pain. We had the same gosh-darned cold, virus, or whatever. Finally, at week four, the bug is pretty much gone, but we coughed ourselves silly far too long. Be well! And happy New Year.

    Like

    • Oh my gosh – how did you make it for four weeks. The constant coughing results in a splitting headache and then you have to rest up from that episode before the next one starts. I am glad you made it through but I sure hope this goes away sooner. 🙂

      Like

      • Laurie Graves says:

        Judy, it got progressively better. By week three, the coughing fits were further and further apart. By week four, they were rare. So take hope! the first two weeks, for us, were by far the worst.

        Liked by 1 person

      • One week down today. Boy, I sure was hoping for 7-10 days but it looks like that may not be a reality. But, it is always good to know someone survive and came out the other side. LOL 🙂

        Like

      • Laurie Graves says:

        Yes, yes! This bug, whatever it is, takes its own sweet time to go away. But go away it does. Just not soon enough 😉

        Like

  7. Wishing you a speedy recovery, Judy and ‘him indoors’. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Sending good thoughts your way and hoping you both feel better soon. Don’t forget YouTube if you get tired of reading. I recently watched and loved a new gardening series by Monty Don called The Secret History of the British Garden. Here is the link to the first of four shows: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pVyNq9d1Vno.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Dawn says:

    Oh, Judy! Sending hugs, tissues, and chicken soup by the gallons! Hope you will both feel better very soon. Your Fit Bit comment made me giggle! 🙂 I guess it’s good that my REI pedometer isn’t that ‘smart.’ Can’t wait to check out the new gardening series that Marian shared! It sounds just perfect for January days as the snowflakes fall over the Midwest. Extra hugs! ♡

    Liked by 1 person

  10. We’ve had several friends and neighbors here come down with something similar, it really seems to be difficult to overcome. I hope you both feel better soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Since Christmas when I got my wife a Fitbit Charge she has been complaining of strange maladies, unable to sleep, light headedness, lack of energy – I keep asking her to not where it to bed, because its not a good idea to be bathed in RF all night long, but she keeps forgetting. Also, the obsession with the 10,000 steps a day has her up pacing the floors and running up and down the steps. Feel better !

    Liked by 1 person

    • Smiling and chuckling at your comment. I have the Zip which I take off at night because I never want stats on how well I sleep. I thought it would be depressing to actually see it in print. LOL Yes, those 10,000 steps do get ingrained and you find ways to fit them in. I normally love errands where I can park out in the boonies and walk all over the store but when you are really ‘sick’ getting 5,000 is a real milestone.

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Mother Hen says:

    Yes, you will Judy.. Not the way you expected to start the year. Hopefully you are recovering and will be back on your feet. Until then enjoy some winter rest….

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Judy, so sorry you rang in the new year under the weather. Here’s hoping you will be back to normal very soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. I feel your pain as I’ve been sick more in the last half year than in the last three or four years combined, undoubtedly related to working part time at a tea shop where other people get sick and where we all have to use the register, etc. I hope by the time you read this, you’re both feeling much better or at least well enough to kick Fitbit in its tiny electronic butt! Thanks for the fitting laugh, BTW, and I enjoyed your resolutions. I’ve read all Paul Doiron’s books and enjoy his glimpses of Maine. Elizabeth Oglivie was my original Maine author and I still enjoy her books, especially the ones about the Bennetts. As far as books go, I’m never without them, no matter the state of my health. 🙂

    All the best for 2016!

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Murphy's Law says:

    What a bummer!! This is my usual time of year to be like death warmed over. Somehow I have managed to avoid all the crap that’s going around. So sorry you and your husband weren’t so lucky. Hopefully it won’t hang around too long….although sometimes 5 minutes is too long!

    Here’s hoping the rest of 2016 finds you healthy and happy, with lots of energy. You’ll be drop kicking those bags of pellets before you know it!

    And please don’t worry about the 10,000 steps. Just concentrate on breathing in and out and keeping your sore nose from snapping off your face!! Grab one of your books and curl up toasty warm under one of your gorgeous quilts.

    Feel better soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. How awful!! Hope you’re both soon on the mend. I sent my Fitbit back. I didn’t like being spied on even when I was asleep. 😆 I hope that you’ll eventually have a happy new year. *hugs*

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Dan Antion says:

    So sorry your year started will illness. I hope you are both feeling better soon. I think the worst case is when both are sick and nobody can provide that much appreciated TLC.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. joey says:

    Sorry you’re poorly.
    I hear ya on the juice and tissues. My son was sick over Xmas and I feared I would run out! I try to keep unsweetened cranberry juice in stock in case of sick, and particularly UTI. I’d add to that, soups. Over the winter, I’m good about saving soups and stocks in the freezer just in case. The other 4-6 months of the year, I’m sad I’m the cook and there’s only cans :/
    I hear ya on the wood pellets. There are two things I’ve considered with this weight factor lately — kitty litter and salt pellets. Looks like I should take up weight training. I cannot justify paying 20% more for lightweight litter.
    I hope you feel better soon.
    I don’t think a Fitbit and I would get on too well.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. I had just emailed to see how you were doing!

    Either you both caught this bug somewhere or you should NOT be shoveling snow all day / let the younger ones deal with that from here on!

    Liked by 1 person

  20. and tell your daughter I said so..:) The kids could help with snow 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Lorrie says:

    Oh, no. Well, the year can only improve from here on in. I had something similar last winter and boy, I don’t think I’ve ever been so sick. Hits you like a 10 ton truck, doesn’t it? But given time, enough chicken soup, and laughter, you’ll be right as rain. Had to laugh about the FitBit. I never downloaded anything to my phone, but I get emails on my “progress” and I never open them. Never wear the thing at night, either.
    sending you a virtual hug and lots of tissues and tea

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Paardje says:

    Get well soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Norm 2.0 says:

    Hope you’re both feeling better soon. Spare juice, soup stock, tissues, and cough drops are staples in our house at this time of year. So far, fingers crossed, none have been needed.
    Don’t even get me started on the FitBit 😦
    Take care.

    Liked by 1 person

  24. A www Judy! I’m so sorry you’re not well. That’s no good at all. Wishing you a steady and hearty recovery …

    Liked by 1 person

  25. Mary says:

    So sorry to read that you and your husband are under the weather – we both are in our household too and it hasn’t been pleasant- so far we’ve gone through 4 Kleenex boxes! I do love how you spent your time. Hope you feel better soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  26. Hope you’re both feeling much better very soon 💕

    Liked by 1 person

  27. KerryCan says:

    You’re learning a lot of lessons the hard way! It’s so awful when both people in a couple are sick at the same time and no one has the energy to do anything. At least you’re sympathetic to each other’s ills! I hope, as of today, you are turning the corner and starting to feel better . . .

    Liked by 1 person

  28. I am so sorry to hear you are unwell. I tell all my friends that if I ever get sick that I would starve, as my hubby pretends not to cook anything. When you are ill, soup sees to be all you really have the energy to eat. Push those liquids, water water water especially, and go and see your doctor sooner than later. Really not worth the risk to wait it out. I agree, there are lots of lessons to start your year! We shop at the warehouse store, and get the big bundles of toilet paper, tissues etc. My fear would be running out of t.p. Those big heavy containers of cat litter and dog food are too much for me to handle, so hubby totes them into the shopping cart and the car. When we get it home, the dog food goes into big trash cans (on wheels) and then I scoop out into coffee cans, and bring in the house, 2 or 3 cans at a time. I can manage those nice Folgers containers with the hand grip better than 40# of dog food. (I must drink a lot of coffee as I have about 30 of them now). We do the same thing with the ice melt chemicals, and anything else that comes in too big of package. As we get older, we are re-engineering the way we do a lot of things! I hope you wake up this morning feeling much better.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know all the 30 somethings are trying to create robots to do everything and answer all questions but those of us of a certain age get quite creative in figuring out how to do things that are now not manageable. Wheels are always good. We use a folding luggage cart (before suitcases had wheels) to move the pellet bags across the room. And, your coffee can scoops sound like a perfect solution.

      Liked by 1 person

  29. Sammy D. says:

    Oosh!!! I hope this isn’t the kind that lingers in that cycle of ‘I feel better; no I don’t” for weeks on end! Sending warm wishes tinged with a ribbon of energy for you both!

    Liked by 1 person

  30. treadway says:

    I am glad things aren’t passed along through the computer, though there are times I swear they are….LOL I hope you make a complete recovery soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  31. Hope you feel better soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  32. joyroses13 says:

    AWW hope you both feel better soon!! My sister and husband got sick New Year’s Eve, she with pneumonia and him with a sinus infection. They had to kinda laugh for one of their resolutions was to do more together. They weren’t exactly thinking about getting sick together! I am sure there is more you and your husband would rather do together also!

    Liked by 1 person

  33. Karen says:

    Judy, I’m so sorry that the two of you are sick. I think my husband probably has the same thing both of you are suffering with. Take care and hopefully you feel better soon. One thing, you still have your since of humor…I could help but laugh about the notes from Fitbit. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  34. Denzil says:

    Hang in there Judy and get well soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  35. germac4 says:

    Hope you get better soon…it was a very funny post even if you were sick…gave me a chuckle.

    Liked by 1 person

  36. pagedogs says:

    Wow, it sounds like a miserable illness. Since you and Laurie both got hit, sounds like it’s headed this way! Maybe I need to barricade myself in the house to avoid it. If you record your coughing and play it outside, you might be able to scare off the deer your neighbor feeds. Sorry, I couldn’t resist. I really hope you feel better soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  37. reocochran says:

    I totally don’t do well with keeping things in stock or bulk now that I am on my own, Judy. I would include for my needs, extra lemon lime soda, herbal tea and either a good brand of chicken noodle soup or bouillon vubes. 🙂 Very sad you were hit with this “yon of bricks” and “misery loves company,” so the hubby and books are keeping you company.♡♡ Be well! 🙂 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  38. Nancy says:

    Feeling better… yet?

    Liked by 1 person

  39. Oh my I hope you are feeling better!! I can’t believe you were able to post and joke about it a bit, no less. Great tips about stocking up on tissues etc! We always have to run to CVS when illness strikes.

    Liked by 1 person

  40. Nadezda says:

    What a bad illness, Judy. Sorry and I hope you will be better soon. Of course, you’ll survive, dear. We are in extremely cold weather now -22 C, with wind. This cold goes through windows and walls, although we have good heating.

    Liked by 1 person

  41. pbmgarden says:

    Hope you’ll be feeling better soon Judy.

    Liked by 1 person

  42. Grandma Kc says:

    I am so glad that you are starting to recover and I hope you never have to go through something like that again! Yuk! Glad you at least got a chance to catch up on your reading. Hugs!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  43. Hope you are feeling better

    Like

  44. gooseyanne says:

    Sorry you were sick but I laughed out loud at being `nagged` by FitBit!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  45. swamiyesudas says:

    Seeing that I am reading this Your post maybe ten days after Your posting it, it sure seems that You are up and about again, and very glad for it. Kudos on the way You all managed.

    I also like the Positive way You see things, as in the title: ‘I Will Survive!’

    All the Best, and Love and Regards. 🙂

    Yesudas

    Like

Leave a Reply

