Thursday Doors

The white steepled church is a basic part of the New England landscape. Dare I say it, but every town has one. When you drive around, you see the next town off in the distance based upon the white steeple. Welcome toย New England. ๐Ÿ™‚

ChurchCollage

ChurchCemeteryThis lovely church was built in the early 1800’s. Off on the left side of the church, there is alsoย a little cemetery from that era as well that includesย the resting places of the original founders of this church.

It is located in Hampton Falls on a lovely villageย green that also has a bandstand, which is another staple of the New England landscape.

Bandstand Collage

During the summer months, there are regularly scheduled concerts at the bandstand. Part of the entertainment is also the sale of refreshments by local organizations – hot dogs, chips, beans, drinks, popcorn, ice cream and desserts. Beans? It’s New England folks, you’ll find beans on the breakfast menu.ย ย ๐Ÿ™‚

A lovely white steepled church with strong black doors and a bandstand on a meticulously maintained villageย green reflects a community that takes pride in itsย history as well as its future. Hampton Falls welcomes you to stop on by.

Linked to Norm Frampton’s Thursday Doors, January 7, 2016.

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Photography, Thursday Doors and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. pbodwell says:

    I love seeing all those churches when I visit New England. I think somewhere in my past I took a picture of that church while on a Model A trip. Hampton Falls sounds so familiar. Now, I’ll have to dig through all my old pictures and see if I can find it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Judy–What are the upper doors for? Ventilation?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Laurie Graves says:

    Reminds me of Winthrop, where I live ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Joyce says:

    New England certainly invented charm! The church is beautiful and so is the bandstand area! Both invite fellowship.
    We have several – but not nearly as many – of these steeples in my community. The loveliest one is 20 minutes outside the city in a rural area. It is St. Patrick’s Catholic Church – as beautiful inside as out. Across the street is its very old cemetery with many Irish names, going back to the founders. Such a pretty setting in every season of the year. I stopped by to see if it was open one morning and was just in time for Mass! St. Patrick must have summoned me! And it wasn’t even mid-March on the day that “all of us” are Irish!

    Liked by 1 person

    • You gave me goosebumps that you just happened to arrive for Mass. Good omen. Those little cemeteries just call out to my heart to envision when the population was that small yet they had the foresight to build a church so they could worship. Our ancestors were strong people. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  5. debrapugh says:

    Love the church but not the thought of beans for breakfast! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Becca says:

    I can barely stomach beans for lunch or dinner, I can’t imagine ever eating them for breakfast!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. joey says:

    I agree the white steepled churches are iconic of New England ๐Ÿ™‚ I also never tire of them.
    I read once that beans were the ultimate in traditional American food. Something about how many varieties are native to the Americas. I can’t remember how many beans, but I remember thinking that I had not tried all xxxx of them, and how sad, lol!
    I.Am.A.Bean.Eater ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  8. joyroses13 says:

    Looks like a lovely place to visit!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Dan Antion says:

    I love seeing these churches as I drive around New England. I don’t know if the question about the upper stories was referring to the steeple or the church. My guess is that the main room of the church simply has a high ceiling with the structural elements exposed. The steeple might actually be an interesting place to explore. In a similar style church that I was a member of, the clock mechanism was quite large and extended well below the clock face. Also the counter weights (in our case, sacks of rocks) had to fall quite a long distance in order to give the clock its 7-day run time. They actually dropped into a concealed space on the lower floor. I know this because I volunteered to help wind that thing on a few occasions and it was quite the workout ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Paige says:

    I love that the clock face, instead of numbers, says “Memorial Gift.”

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Norm 2.0 says:

    Lovely typical New England scenery. I just soak this stuff in every time we drive through small towns in Vermont and New Hampshire. Hope you’re both feeling better…

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Eliza Waters says:

    Yes, the iconic steeple. What would New England be without them? ๐Ÿ™‚ Love that startlingly blue sky beyond, it really sets off the white steeple.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Very New England-y, Judy, in the very best way.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Those beautiful and stately white churches against the blue sky….truly New England…there are some very old churches here in Waldo County, not quite as grand in the making , but beautiful as well. There in one not too far from us, and old, old rural church with rippled glass in the windows and gorgeous old wooden pews. There always seems to be a circle of grand old maple trees around these churches as well. lovely, really. Divine.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. treadway says:

    The churches like this always have an appearance of being dressed in style….standing true and tall.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Lovely ! I often wonder if the community really recognizes how special these church are?

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Nadezda says:

    I love steeple everywhere and there are many buildings in Saint Petersburg having steeples, Judy. Lovely church!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. They just don’t build churches like this anymore. One of my favorite memories of Europe is the ringing of the church bells. I’d like to think that these New England steeples still have bells.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. I love our white clapboard churches. They are the true symbol of New England. Doors, too ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  20. germac4 says:

    I love the elegant white church and steeple, and the bandstand. The photos show a community that takes such pride in its town. No matter where we travel I always notice towns that are well cared for…tells you so much about the people.

    Liked by 1 person

  21. pbmgarden says:

    I like the image of one white steeple leading to the next.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. KerryCan says:

    Does the fact that you’re posting mean you’re feeling better (maybe went to the doctor??!)? I always thinks the churches in New England reflect the characters of the people–strong, simple, spare, full of character.

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Karen says:

    The while steepled church really is one of the things you think of when you think about New England. Glad to read you two are feeling a little better. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  24. Classic Americana – white church with a steeple and a bandstand! Two things I love about New England ๐Ÿ™‚ glad you seem to be feeling a bit better!

    Liked by 1 person

  25. Grandma Kc says:

    What a neat little town and so different from anything you see around southern California. The church is beautiful but that graveyard next to it is even more intriguing. Thanks for sharing. Sorry I’m late.

    Liked by 1 person

  26. Lyn says:

    I represent the Friends of the Hampton Falls Bandstand, a non-profit organization to fund and organize the summer concert series on our beautiful town common. We created a Facebook page for the Bandstand, and have used the photo from this blog as our cover because it so nicely showcases the tribute to the Veterans. We hope that you will allow us to continue using this photo on our Page! Thank you for your excellent write-up, we are a new non-profit to fund the concerts and hope we see tremendous community support and attendance in 2016!
    https://www.facebook.com/hamptonfallsbandstand/

    Like

Leave a Reply

