Weekly Photo Challenge: Weight(less)

Polyanna

Every summer, at the Pollyanna Gateway on Main Street in downtown Littleton, New Hampshire, these colorful umbrellas float above the sidewalk.

Pollyanna is a children’s classic and was penned by author, Eleanor Hodgman Porter,  in 1913.

PollyannaMs. Porter was born and lived in Littleton (1868-1920).

Across from the Gateway, in front of the Littleton Library, is also this handsome statue to Pollyanna.

Each year the Littleton Community hosts a Pollyanna Glad Day.

It makes you smile just thinking about it doesn’t it? 🙂

 

Linked to Weekly Photo Challenge: Weight(less) 🙂

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Photography, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Weight(less)

  1. Eliza Waters says:

    A great response to the challenge. I didn’t realize the author was from New Hampshire. What a great classic!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. reocochran says:

    It makes me smile extra wide! This is a lovely artistic representative of lightness, floating spirits and youth’s enthusiasm for aiming high. I loved the book and Hayley Mills in this movie, “Pollyanna.” Smiles, Robin

    Liked by 1 person

  3. That is so cool. Great shot with the umbrellas.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. macmsue says:

    Well the floating umbrellas certainly made me smile.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Dan Antion says:

    that’s pretty cool !

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Paige says:

    I didn’t know this. Thanks! : )

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Nancy says:

    Those umbrellas show complete weightlessness! You, my dear, defeated this challenge…easily!
    The beauty of these high above is fabulous. What a cool way to celebrate this author.
    Thank You for sharing this… as I learned something new.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. pbmgarden says:

    Great answer to the challenge Judy as well as informative.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I love the umbrellas Judy. Beautiful! I remember watching the Pollyanna movies as a child. Thank you for bringing back the memories 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. When I was a girl I loved the movie with Hayley Mills! Thanks for reminding me of it!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Murphy's Law says:

    Once again I learn from you! Great photo. What a neat tribute to the author. Loved Haley Mills as Pollyanna.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Murphy's Law says:

    Hahah!! You are spot on! I liked movies where you had to IMAGINE what was happening in certain scenes. Today everything is so real looking you feel as though you’re actually witnessing the event. Pollyanna is a perfect example of sweetness and simpler times.

    BTW, hope you and hubby are feeling MUCH better. I have extra boxes of Kleenex if you need more!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, the camera panning to the window was so much better than the graphic details. 🙂 We are getting there and certainly feel better than we did five days ago, but we are still hacking away just a little less frequently. I hope it disappears with us and no one else gets it because we’re in day 11 and it certainly isn’t gone.

      Like

  13. Laurie Graves says:

    I’m smiling in Maine, right next door to you. Love those umbrellas!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. KerryCan says:

    I didn’t know Pollyanna was a New Englander! She’s my patron saint!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Bec says:

    Great photo 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Joyce says:

    So sweet and whimsical – just like that little lady herself! I loved Pollyanna, Anne of Green Gables, Mary Poppins and Doctor Doolittle. I imagine these books might not be fast-paced enough for kids these days!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Pingback: WPC: Weightless (Falling Diagonally) | Chris Breebaart Photography / What's (in) the picture?

  18. How beautiful, Judy! ‘Pollyanna Glad Day.’ is such a great idea for a celebration. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Love the umbrellas.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. joey says:

    Beautiful, whimsical, smile-inducing indeed! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Grandma Kc says:

    I love the umbrellas! Do they ever have a problem with the wind? Jenna has always accused me of being a Pollyanna. I’m OK with that and now that she is older so is she. I actually re-read the book a few years ago and while it wasn’t exactly as I remembered it, I really enjoyed it! Free on Amazon for your Kindle!

    Liked by 1 person

  22. gooseyanne says:

    Love the umbrellas !

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Love this whimsical image Judy and adored the old movie Pollyanna as well! Loved the scene with the chandelier crystals! Wonderful selection for challenge.

    Liked by 1 person

  24. treadway says:

    I so love this! Those bright umbrellas just made my day.

    Liked by 1 person

  25. Inger says:

    Love those colorful umbrellas – just looking at them makes me cheerful:)

    Liked by 1 person

  26. mithriluna says:

    Such a lovely post! It does make me feel glad. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

