Ice Skating

One of the items on my bucket list was to go ice skating.  I spent a lot of Sundays skating when I was growing up. I would take the bus to skate on a local pond or I’d go to a college hockey rink that had open skating.

I never had any lessons – not in the budget, but I learned to skate and enjoyed it immensely. Good memories, but I haven’t been skating in a long, long time.

A couple of years ago, Strawbery Banke in Portsmouth created an outdoor skating rink, Puddle Dock. Not only is it in a beautiful part of Portsmouth with North Church steeple in the background, it is handsome, they offer open skating, and rent equipment. Life is good.

IceCollage

Life was good until I got back on the ice. 🙂 There’s a reason most skaters are young – they have good balance and they’re closer to the ice when they fall.

I wanted to cross ice skating off my bucket list, but I didn’t want to end up in the ER. I am happy to announce that I only fell twice and just kind of sat down but that was all thanks to a wonderful railing system they have encircling the rink. I think I need to send them a thank you for that railing system.

I did it. I lived to tell the story, but I don’t think I’ll tempt fate again on the ice.

What’s next? Well, I think I’d like to either try snow tubing or go alpine sliding again in the summer. We’ll see if I’m up to it.

Last week was pretty busy with appointments, but I did finish two pillows and one bag for my granddaughter, and completed about 30 squares for my rag quilt. In between, I started and finished David Baldacci’s, “Guilty.” It is an excellent book if you like mysteries.

CraftCollage

February is starting off with New Hampshire temperatures hitting the mid 50’s. Really? What the heck is going on with the weather? Good thing Puddle Dock has refrigeration or there would just be a puddle left. There is no pond hockey on the big lakes, no bob houses, and there sure won’t be any fly ins on the ice unless they also have pontoons.

Any adventures coming up that are on your bucket list or are you keeping busy working on the necessities of life? Either way, here’s hoping you have a great Monday and a wonderful week. 🙂

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Family, Quilting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

67 Responses to Ice Skating

  1. It is supposed to be very warm here in MA as well. I live the Portsmouth area as well. Congratulations on living through your skating adventure!

    Like

  2. joey says:

    I was never particularly good at ice skating. We really do need to take our wee ones. They’ve never been (lived in Georgia, no rinks, definitely no outdoor venues) and the longer we live here the more I think we need to take them.
    I miss ice skating outdoors. I’d prefer that.
    I worked on my postage stamp quilt over the weekend. I added 90 pieces and now the entire thing can cover my dog. lol
    Our weather is much the same as yours. Are the budding trees as confused as I am?

    Liked by 1 person

    • 90 pieces – you go, girl! Impressive. I’m headed to the sewing machine right now to make some more blocks. I’ve been sitting here too long, but I’ve enjoyed the comments. 🙂 Oh, this weather is just scary. I’m guessing things will start to bud out and then we will get the rest of winter which will do some real damage. Last year, we basically didn’t have a peach crop in the state because of that happening.

      Liked by 1 person

      • joey says:

        Yeah, I’m worried about the fruit trees, truly.
        My 90 pieces does feel like an accomplishment, if only the quilt wouldn’t be made of 90000000000000. LOL But one day I will finish it. I may be blind by then, but I will finish it!
        Enjoy your sewing 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. KerryCan says:

    Sigh . . . skating. Skating and I have such a tempestuous relationship. I LOVE it but didn’t learn as a child. I took lessons from a friend who is an excellent skater and had access to the rink at the college where I taught. They had open skate EVERY day and for $2 I could skate for two hours. I often had the rink entirely to myself! And, in spite of all that, I never really got past the fear that held me back from progressing much. Double sigh. I’m glad you did what you wanted to and gave it a try and, who knows, maybe you’ll go back! By the way, do you know about the Rideau Canal in Ottawa? http://rcs.ncc-ccn.ca

    Liked by 1 person

    • There were some other mature ladies there skating and doing quite well. I’d have to take some lessons to feel more comfortable, and I’d still be concerned about doing myself bodily hard so I’m pretty sure my skating days are over and that is okay with me. I had seen the Rideau Canal on a Canadian blog and I was blown away. Oh, the thrill of being able to skate well and do it along that beautiful canal. That’s what ice skating dreams are made of I think. 🙂

      Like

      • KerryCan says:

        I actually did skate on the Rideau once . . . I was so nervous it was pitiful. But I have a photo to prove I did it! If you ever get a chance, Ottawa is magical, especially in winter.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Elizabeth says:

    Hi Judy, lots of adventure in there! All sports involving snow are better when we are kids, after growing up they get too dangerous. Have a lovely new month!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I didn’t know that Strawberry Banke had ice skating. That sounds like a nice day trip! Glad you skated and sounds like it went very well! This is crazy weather, isn’t it? Enjoy our “springtime”!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Garden Crafter says:

    I grew up with a river in my backyard almost a 1/4-mile wide. I would skate with my brother and neighbors there every winter. Once I was able to convince my brother (4-1/2 years younger) to lay down on the ice and let me jump him. I wonder if I could get him to do that again! Hmmmm.😂

    Like

  7. Eliza Waters says:

    Oh, aren’t you brave. I’ve hung up my skates for good, I’m afraid. I’d pay too dearly for a fall. I’ll just watch the young-uns. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Joyce says:

    Like pretty much every sport in the “old days,” I also figured out ice skating by myself. Dad would take my sisters and I to a public park pond nearby and sit in the car to watch us for what seemed like hours on a huge expanse. I’ve revisited that pond since then and cannot believe how small it actually is!
    Your New England adventures have all the charm of the old world, yet the convenience of the new!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. You are speaking my thoughts almost exactly I grew up ice skating outdoors all winter as long as the ice was safe. When our children were young we took them skating often on a pond near us. They grew up. life moved on and I got the hankering to skate again. The first time I fell I sat down with my arms bracing me and immediately thought Good, I didn’t break a wrist. Never in all of my previous falls on the ice would I have even considered that it could happen. The second time I fell, shortly after the first, I realized that my balance too was off and unless I put a chair on the ice to hold on to as I skated- and I am too proud for that of course-my ice skating days were over. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • For the younger kids, they had these supports that looked just like short red walkers. The little kids would grab one and push off. I kept chuckling to myself thinking I have an actual walker in the attic from an accident one time and maybe I should have brought it. With that support, I could have cruised around that rink. Of course there’s no way I could have done it, but I sure did chuckle thinking about someone pulling out a cell phone to upload a video of the grandma using a walker to skate. LOL 🙂

      Like

  10. Laurie Graves says:

    I admire your pluck! So glad you didn’t hurt yourself. I, too, remember the joys of skating in my long-ago youth. Unfortunately, weak ankles and creaky knees pretty much rule out any kind of activity on ice.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I have skated and crossed off the list long ago. Yes, old people like me don’t bounce back so fast!
    I did actually go Ice fishing last weekend. .. list has been checked! Better do it before the ice melts.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Also, seeing your writing about temperatures in NH, here in Southeastern Massachusetts I heard birds making some spring calls yesterday morning and this morning. I myself had some spring fever yesterday and our son called from Boston to say “Happy Spring!” It is only Feb. 1st so that all could change but it is unusual.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. pbmgarden says:

    Your ice skating adventures brought back memories. Tried this once in college but also was just happy not to end up in ER. Nice pillows and bag–lucky granddaughter.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Relax... says:

    Lovely items you’re making — you’re a great example for me, but the ice and I parted ways long ago. I owe a little peace to my ankles, lol, at the very least!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Good for you! Glad you survived to tell the story!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Nancy says:

    You were a busy girl! As for me… I am working in the yard. The desert plants, believe it or not , grow real fast! So lots of pruning and weed kill. I also am making sure sweet, sweet man recover from shoulder surgery.
    As for bucket lists… I wanted to zipline and I did! Next on the horizon is a hot air balloon ride. Going to happen soon.
    I loved ice skating as a child. But now I think I would need a railing as well!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Lovely pillows, Judy…it looks as if the squares have the batting and backing in the , quilted already…I wonder how they are put together for the rag effect ? I hope that you do a tutorial or show a link to one / this is so interesting ! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I did those photos just for you. 🙂 Yes, they are little sandwiches. I’ll take another photo when I start putting them together. All the seam allowances end up on the front of the quilt and when washed they get all curly resulting in the ‘rag’ effect. 🙂

      Like

  18. Ogee says:

    Ahhh…memories. I grew up in the tundra (NY…near the Canadian border). My dad built us an ice rink in the huge backyard every winter. I remember him out there in the dark after work adding a fresh layer of water – which turned to instant, perfectly smooth ice. Note to fathers everywhere (cold)…huge brownie points!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Dads will do anything for their little girls won’t they? There is a subdivision down the road where I walk sometimes, and I noticed two houses have ice rinks in their back yards complete with walls and benches. Fun family times. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Dawn says:

        So true, Judy! When darkness fell over the ice rink in the park, my dad would often drive over and shine his car headlights onto the ice, so that my friends and I could keep skating! Those special times still hold such warm memories! ♡

        Liked by 1 person

  19. pbodwell says:

    I have fond memories of ice skaing. Growing up there were a couple of lakes that we skated on but our favorite was our friend’s father would flood their back yard and turn it into a skating rink. It was shallow enough to stay frozen in our climate. Lately I too have been wanting to get my skates out. Since I retired I feel like I’m on Christmas vacation and ant to go sledding and tubing and skating. Not sure what the consequences would be though LOL. I might have a few aches and pains. I’m thinking of taking up snow shoeing. Might be easier on the body.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I can see that if we lived closer, we could probably have a lot of fun and get into some trouble together. LOL I love sledding and that’s why I think I’d like tubing. Gunstock is about an hour from here and they have a tubing run. I just hope I could get up and out of the tube before the next person pushed me into a snow bank or something. 🙂 And, I have snowshoes but no one to go with. Again, I think we could have quite a few chuckles if we lived closer.

      Like

  20. sue says:

    Ice skating will forever be entwined with memories of young teen years. City parks created rinks, night time lighted, giggly girls wearing secreted lipstick, Elvis-haired and pouty boys around the perimeter…No skating…falling would lose their cool. Maybe some hockey skating boys but they ignored us. Somehow we met and mixed there like we didn’t anywhere else.

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Grandma Kc says:

    I love the pillows! Loved the ice skating story too but I’m really disappointed that no one got video of it! Glad you are getting some much deserved warmer weather. After last year — you really do deserve it!

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Dawn says:

    Hope I will have the chance to visit Strawberry Banke again one day, Judy! I think it’s time to add another visit to New England to my Bucket List! 🙂 When I was young, I would spend every afternoon ice skating at a nearby park. When I tried it again, decades later, my ankles were so wobbly! I still have my old ice skates. A few years back, after an ice storm, I *might* have been seen skating on my driveway! 🙂 Thanks for the nice memories, Judy! ♡

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Dan Antion says:

    I’m glad you got that one off the list without breaking anything Judy. Also glad you got it in before the thaw – this weather is crazy. A word to the wise about snow-tubing. The least time I did that was when my daughter was young enough to share the tube with me. As we spun around, she saw the middle school wall approaching and bailed out. I wasn’t so lucky.

    Liked by 2 people

  24. Wow – that is first hand experience that most don’t get to talk about. I’m going to take that to heart because I’m a whole lot older than you were at that time. Oh my gosh, that’s a story. :-0

    Liked by 1 person

  25. Murphy's Law says:

    LOVE your latest creations Judy. Those pillows are awesome. I know I’m older than you, but I want to be your granddaughter too!! Whaddaya say?!

    Two regrets I have are that I never learned how to ice skate or swim. 😪 I spent a lot of time sitting on snow banks or on sand watching everyone else having such fun. In my imagination I was Ester Williams and Sonja Henie all in one package. (Yes, I had a vivid imagination!)

    I just finished ” Guilty” myself. Now into John Grisham’s “Rogue Lawyer”.

    Glad you didn’t get seriously hurt. I applaud your gusto to tie up those skates and venture onto the rink. Good for you!! 👏👏👏👏

    Liked by 1 person

    • You will love the “Rogue Lawyer.” My husband and I both enjoyed it. Glad you like the pillows, and we can be family any time but I’m thinking we’re closer to being sisters. I am an only child so I’d love to have a sister. 🙂 I always wanted to be able to dive without leaving a wake but all I could do was jump in – no budget for swimming lessons either. I learned to swim enough to stay afloat in a brook near my grandparents’ farm. Life is funny in that those of us who wanted various lessons in order to be able to do something didn’t get them and those who got them complained about parents pushing them. I guess that grass is always greener on that other side. Hope 2016 is treating you well. 🙂

      Like

  26. germac4 says:

    I loved the photos of Portsmouth and Puddle Dock…well done for skating again, it always looks like fun to me. Our weather is weird here too, normally January and February are very dry months in our region, but we have had record rainfall this year. Well at least everything looks green instead of brown!

    Liked by 1 person

  27. Good for you, embracing the joys of winter and crossing something of the bucket list. But I must confess: as much as I love winter and being Dutch too…I cannot skate and never liked trying to learn it. I did like the hot chocolate afterwards;o) xo Johanna

    Liked by 1 person

  28. What a scenic looking place to go skating….what a great adventure!

    Liked by 1 person

  29. pagedogs says:

    I’m so glad you survived intact! Skating was one of my great pleasures growing up. I never had lessons either, but was fearless in trying to spin and jump (with little success). Lots of spills with no ill effects. Fast forward forty years or so, when, like you, I decided I wanted to skate again. I have never felt so … ancient. Tiny, tentative movements with my brain screaming–“don’t fall, don’t fall, don’t fall, you shouldn’t be doing this…” Aside from all that, however, I discovered that I have muscles in my shin region that apparently haven’t been used in 40 years. They were screaming for mercy after 10 minutes and I could hardly walk the next day. I did try one more time, thinking that it might get easier. Nope. I hung up my skates for good. And surprisingly, without any regrets. Too many other fun things to do (skydiving!!).

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s so good to know I’m not alone and have so much company. LOL I was holding on to the railing repeating don’t fall, don’t fall. LOL I’m done trying it and have no regrets either. Somethings you can’t fight and age is one of them. I’ll stick to walking right now which I seem to be able to do without incident. LOL 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  30. Good for you. I never learned to ice skate, myself.

    Liked by 1 person

  31. pollymacleod says:

    I was very good at roller skating in my teens. I can’t ice skate though, I didn’t try it until I was an adult. We have a skating rink in my home town and I have been a couple of times but I’m too scared about falling and breaking something nowadays!

    Like

  32. treadway says:

    I never had the opportunity to learn to ice skate but I know I would have loved it…congrats on getting it off your bucketlist. right now I am too busy just surviving to think about much of anything.

    Liked by 1 person

  33. reocochran says:

    I am a big fan of David Baldacci books, Judy! I am a mystery nut. I think I am on “X” in the alphabet series with Kinsey Milhone which started with “A” is for Alibi. I read Alex Cross mysteries, too. I liked your projects very much, the pillows are beautiful! I also wanted to say I admire your quilting squares.
    I am glad you pursued ice skating and thought this place was very pretty. I think I am better on roller skates because there are four wheels! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  34. jesh stg says:

    Grew up in the Netherlands – you would think everyone knows how to skate – since I was young, I tried!! But never got the hang of it. Now I’m older, I’m done with trying (to skate, that is – other things, I still may try), lol.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

