She’s back

Winter that is. The final count on Friday was 10″ of heavy wet but beautiful snow. It clung to the trees and bushes and looked like a Hallmark Christmas card. Once we had everything shoveled out, it was amazing to look at.

WinterCollage

We even had a visitor on Saturday who wanted to indulge in some of the fruit left on this ornamental apple tree. She came out of the wetlands all alone, stayed almost 15 minutes, and seemed to have quite a feast. Our neighbor feeds them andΒ although I’ve seen tracks, this is the first deer I’ve actually seen in the yard.

DeerCollage

We have another weather warning for today and tomorrow with 5-8″ of additional snow forecasted.

I think the fairies are going to have to do a little winter cleanup as well. In case you are wondering, that’s a fire hydrant in the background. Up here, they have extensions that stick up so emergency responders can find them in the snowbanks.

Fairy House

We made a large pot of vegetable beef soup yesterday so when we come in from shoveling this afternoon, dinner will be ready.

I have a couple of good books to read, will start to put the rag quilt together, and I’m going to give needle punch a try. Tomorrow NH votes in the primary. Finally, the political calls and mail will stop. Spring break for granite staters until it starts again.

Here’s hoping you have good weather, a warm greenhouse to garden in, and a nice week coming up. If you want any snow, just let me know – I’ll gladly share. πŸ™‚

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in New England and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

57 Responses to She’s back

  1. Joyce says:

    That amount of snow is great once you’ve shoveled and then nestled in with your projects! Beautiful photos! And just think – after tomorrow, It will be safe to turn on your tv again – and answer your phone!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nancy says:

    Soooooo pretty! What gorgeous photos! Enjoy your soup after all that hard work. BE CAREFUL!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Just beautiful! I know you’re looking forward to a break from the politicking!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love looking at your photos of snow but I am so glad I don’t have to live in it! I love your fairy house covered in snow!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. That’s a lot of snow. We haven’t had much snow so far this winter here in southern Ontario.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. joey says:

    We received small slushy snow last night, but not enough to shovel. I don’t feel like we’ve had winter yet. It’s been so warm and strange. A few days of bitter cold, some snow, just not what I expect from winter.
    I’m having particular trouble thinking about my apple trees…My coral bells are still purple and springy, my ground cover still green and perky. I can’t even. :/
    On the flip side, I’m getting a lot more exercise this winter! πŸ˜€ lol

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Laurie Graves says:

    Such a nice post! The pictures are lovely, and you so eloquently describe the beauty and, yes, comforts, of winter.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. sue says:

    My Iowa cousins said prayer time increased dramatically post vote. As in ” thank God it’s over”
    Michigan will be coming up early March. We don’t get the big spotlight like Iowa and New Hampshire. But I think Netflix will be getting our vote till the TV ads disappear.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I wouldn’t wish this on anyone so I’m glad yours will not be this intense. Tomorrow’s results should be at the very least interesting. The snowstorm is suppose to be over by morning so it shouldn’t affect voters, but I’m guessing some of the side roads may be not cleared as quickly as the main roads. πŸ™‚ Now, I tried Netflix the other night and had to give up because except for repeats of Longmire I couldn’t find a thing to watch. LOL

      Like

      • pagedogs says:

        Judy, I just got sucked into a Netflix series called “A Time in Between.” It’s a subtitled Spanish series about a dressmaker (among other things) during the Spanish Civil War. Lovely period scenes, a little melodrama, and very entertaining. Not sure on your taste in series, but you may want to give it a try. Brenda

        Liked by 1 person

      • I will check it out because I am always looking for any intelligent life on Netflix. LOL If you have access to ‘Mercy Street’ on cable it is set in the Civil War era about the level of medical care available. No big stars but a nice cast of characters, and it is somewhat of a history lesson via Hollywood. We’ll need some entertainment this weekend because we’ll be hibernating because of the cold temps. .5F here this morning. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • pagedogs says:

        I watched the first episode of Mercy Street–thanks for the recommendation. Three below zero here this morning. Nice and sunny though! Stay warm.

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Relax... says:

    We got political flyers from all of the candidates; some were addressed to folks who don’t even live here anymore. At one point (must’ve been 17 sheets of them in one drop), I thought the postman was just dumping these things! I’ll be soooo glad when this part is over. I’ll be glad to get all snowstorms behind us as well. This one really was pretty and the white silence was golden, but I’m all wintered out!

    Liked by 1 person

    • If I never had to get out my shovels again, it would be okay. πŸ™‚ Can you imagine what good could be done with the money wasted on all that mail? We could feed and house a lot of people or provide rehab or mental health care with all that money. It just seems so wasteful because, come on, who actually sits and reads all that stuff day after day. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Your magical pictures and your writing capture that cozy feeling of snow. People who don’t experience-or maybe just people in my family who no longer experience it πŸ™‚ don’t get that. They see the hype of the media and get anxious and don’t know why we would live in a place with such a bad climate. We don’t see it that way. Winter has its inconveniences but you prepare and then go with the flow. We’re not hardy Yankees for nothing! I wouldn’t live anywhere else. My Pennsylvania husband understood that before marriage vows!

    Liked by 1 person

    • That right – hardy Yankees. Some may look at us as a strange bunch, but we sure do know how to do snow. It always makes me laugh when we listen to all the news and weather folks trying to scare us to death that snow is coming our way. Bring it on, we have equipment and we’ll be unburied in record time. Although I do prefer spring and summer. πŸ™‚

      Like

  11. Yes, that isn’t to say we don’t crave spring when the time is close. I do remember last year the national news talking about a big storm coming across the country and they said “millions in danger.” Yes, inconvenience likely but we know we have to be flexible. Danger? It isn’t exactly a tornado or a hurricane. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  12. jesh stg says:

    Our landscape does not look this stunning, but we see deer daily!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Such beautiful snow shots, Judy…and a bonus to see the pretty deer in the snow. I hope that you don’t get too much on this round!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Karen says:

    I love all your snow photos…I’ve always said it looks like a winter wonderland when that sticky snow stays on the trees. It is especially beautiful when the sun is shining and everything sparkles. I remember the beauty of it but don’t miss it. I am continuing to live my New England life through your blog and enjoy it so much. Certainly no snow here but the weather is cold for our area…it was 38 hear this morning.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Since you keep me supplied with delicious recipes, the least I can do is remind you why you moved south. πŸ™‚ We just cleared about 3″ and it’s suppose to snow until about 3 a.m. I think just maybe we’ll have to plow ourselves out in the morning in order to get to the polls. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  15. RuthsArc says:

    I love this global blog world. Thanks for sharing such pretty snow photos while I’m experiencing mid summer πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  16. treadway says:

    We have a skim of the white stuff, but only a skim. It is so cold though, that my kitty will want out and half the time when he feels the cold he turns around and walks away from the door.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. germac4g says:

    Lovely photos, it looks like something out of a movie….. I hope you can stay indoors and read and quilt until the spring.! (if only..)

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Eliza Waters says:

    Yes, she’s back for sure! πŸ™‚ The snow is so pretty today.
    When we lived in the city, there was a hydrant across the street from us and my husband always shoveled it out. He said if there was ever an emergency every second counts. Some cities have bylaws stating if there was one on your side of the street, like the sidewalk, you’re obligated to clear it. Is that still the case? We don’t have hydrants here, but pumper trucks that fill up at the river!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well…that hydrant is across the street on a neighbors’ property. I don’t know him, but he is an older gent, spends hours hand shoveling and manicuring his driveway even though he has a good sized snow blower. Last year, we had an old fashioned blizzard and it was buried. He was out using his snow blower so I walked up the road to talk to him. I introduced myself and asked him if he would consider taking the snow blower and going around the hydrant. He looked at me and said ‘no.’ I was blown away and didn’t really know how to respond. I asked again for the community if he would do it because we didn’t have one small enough to do the job. He said ‘no’ again. In my younger days I would have tackled the job myself, but I’m too advanced for that anymore even though the mind is willing. So, when I got back in the house, I emailed the facilities manager for the town and asked if there were any sources for having the hydrant shoveled out. I was thinking maybe county inmates. But, in a few days a fire engine pulled up and some firemen shoveled it out. All I could think of was how ridiculous it was that firemen had to shovel them out because home owners wouldn’t.

      Like

      • Eliza Waters says:

        Wow, not surprised, however. Our hydrant was the only one shoveled out, so it is clearly not something people think about or feel responsible for. If that guy’s house caught fire, he might wish he had responded differently.

        Liked by 1 person

  19. Eliza Waters says:

    I forgot to say that your photos are beautiful!! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  20. We received 3 ft two weeks ago and there are still patches that haven’t melted! Our snow came down as powder so I didn’t end up with many pretty pics, just a few of the wall of snow. Your pics are beautiful. πŸ™‚ I’m very curious to see how the primaries play out.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh my, you were buried under that last one, and we never got a flake. Between last night and this morning I figure we moved another 6-8″ but it was very light. The heavy wet stuff makes the best photos that’s for sure and is the hardest to get rid of. YES, we vote today and the phone calls and the mail will stop. Hooray.

      Like

  21. I can’t believe he would refuse to do that! I used to snow blow the sidewalk for lots of neighbors and do driveways for people who didn’t have one. People are supposed to shovel their sidewalks but many don’t. I always do ours even if someone wouldn’t be able to walk anywhere else on the sidewalk.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Ogee says:

    We’ll take some of that (melted) snow! But I must say…it looks beautiful right where it is!

    Liked by 1 person

  23. KerryCan says:

    Your photos really show winter at its best–I love that snow that clings to every twig. You have a good plan for surviving it all–soup, crafts, books–I’d be happy for weeks!

    Liked by 1 person

  24. Dan Antion says:

    Now it looks like a proper New England winter. I love the photo of the deer. I know they represent future damage to all things green, but they are pretty. We don’t have a hydrant near us, but I’ve gone up a few houses and opened one up. Those few minutes might make a difference.

    Liked by 1 person

  25. How did you know??? I woke up this to a nice big fluffy pile of it;o) Your photos are so wonderful xoxoxo Johanna

    Liked by 1 person

  26. About the same accumulations here, Judy, and i think more om the way. They are saying very cold this weekend, pawing through seed packets at the moment but won’t fire up the greenhouse until I return. Enjoy your day!

    Liked by 1 person

    • What type of greenhouse structure do you have, Denise?

      Like

      • Our greenhouse is a Rimol, it’s a 28 feet long and it has a peaked roof( Gothic style, they call it), to help shed snow). We begin heating it in March and use an oil furnace out of an old house trailer. Funny, I have never lived in a house that uses oil for heat…always wood, and for 2 1/2 months a year I heat an outdoor structure using oil! A wood burning stove is an option but much harder to regulate the temperature and it would mean going out on very cold nights to stoke. We’ve found the furnace to be the most efficient.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Sounds wonderful, Denise. And, you got lucky this year because oil is so cost effective. I can only imagine all the happy little seedlings that will get a start within those glass walls. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  27. I suppose I was being a bit unrealistic thinking winter might miss us this year. Oh well. It’s pretty. My feet are going to be cold until spring. Brr.

    Liked by 1 person

  28. pagedogs says:

    It looks like we have about the same amount of snow here. Uh-oh, deer in the daylight. They’ll soon be knocking on your door for food. No greenhouse here yet, but I’ll be covering the plants in the cold frame with a layer of protection today for the anticipated cold this weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

  29. Grandma Kc says:

    I sure don’t miss that snow! Certainly don’t miss having to shovel it all just to go anywhere. Must seem strange to have the phone no longer ringing non-stop! Stay warm and safe.

    Liked by 1 person

  30. You’re getting way more winter this year than we are. The snow that fell here a couple of days ago is already mostly gone.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

