Weekly Photo Challenge: Life Imitates Art

NubbleCollage

Cape Neddick Light, or The Nubble Light as locals call it, is inΒ York, Maine. On the left is a watercolor by Sharon Farber, CT, done in 2011. On the right is a photo I took in October 2014. If you are ever in the area, this beautiful structure located on the rocky coast of Maine is a must see. You will not regret a detour to view it in person. πŸ™‚

Linked to the WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge: Life Imitates Art.

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Photography, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Life Imitates Art

  1. Laurie Graves says:

    Son of a biscuit, Judy! You really got it. I’m so impressed.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. jennyskip says:

    Yes, I want to come see it some time! My ancestors are from Maine, and I want to get up there one day…breathtaking! Thanks for posting, really awesome

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love the Nubble Light! Your photo captures it beautifully.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love the lighthouses in Maine, although I’ve not seen this one. Great answer to the challenge, Judy.

    janet

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Murphy's Law says:

    Love lighthouses. They are fascinating and never get “same old, same old”. Your photo is outstanding and the artist’s rendition is spot on. Your photo and the painting deserve a blue ribbon!!

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Dan Antion says:

    That’s a great photo and a fantastic choice for the challenge Judy. In fact, your photo looks a little like a painting.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. germac4 says:

    Very picturesque …I love the clear light you have captured in the photo, what a beautiful part of the world..

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Lovely image Judy….Stay warm this weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. K.Z. says:

    this is wonderful. just perfect for the theme πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Pingback: Life Imitates Art (Remake 1) | Chris Breebaart Photography / What's (in) the picture?

  11. Dina says:

    This is a magnificent take on the challenge, Judy!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. pagedogs says:

    Excellent challenge response! I don’t know what it is about lighthouses, exactly, that makes them so appealing, but I just love them. We visited some real beauties down south during our RV trip. We’ve just started on the Maine lighthouses. Have you been to the lighthouse museum in Rockland?

    Liked by 1 person

  13. KerryCan says:

    You Maine-iacs do love your lighthouses! That’s amazing, how close the two images are in detail!

    Liked by 2 people

    • If you mention lighthouses or covered bridges to a ‘mature’ New Englander, our pulses quicken immediately. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • That was similar to what I was thinking- looking at lighthouses never gets old. Neither does thinking about what life was like for the keepers and their families. Your comment about our pulses quickening with lighthouses and covered bridges is so funny and so correct! I grew up hearing a lighthouse foghorn in the distance and being lulled to sleep by it. We recently lived on Cape Cod for two years and could hear the foghorn in the distance the first night we were there. I am a light sleeper and my husband was concerned it would bother me but he learned differently.

        Liked by 1 person

  14. Great job on the challenge! I love lighthouses and we have been known to drive way out of our way to see a lighthouse.

    Liked by 2 people

  15. Wow this was a great one for your challenge!
    Stay warm ! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  16. treadway says:

    Both are beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Dawn says:

    Just wonderful, Judy! I have always been fascinated by beautiful lighthouses and their stories. Many thanks for taking us along to ‘visit’ this special place! β™‘

    Liked by 1 person

  18. The famous Nubble Light! Love it – hope to see it in person one day. Your photograph is so bright and colorful – love it!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. What a beautiful painting and a beautiful photo! Very nice!!

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Grandma Kc says:

    Amazing how you captured the exact same composition! Beautiful photo and a beautiful place.

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Very Maine – painting and photo!

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Tina Schell says:

    I was there 2 years ago Judy and it was a dismal, drizzly day with a horrific grey sky. The only good shot I got was when two Japanese ladies with bright red umbrellas moved in front of me and I added them to the shot. So glad to see you had much better luck! Excellent approach to the challenge.

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Nadezda says:

    Your photo is absolutely the same this picture by Sharon Farber, Judy. Have you seen it before to make the same photo? Lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

    • When I was thinking about the challenge, I started wondering about the artists and photographers I’d seen on site there in the past. So, I pulled up my photos on one side of the computer screen and started scrolling through New England artists looking to see if I could find one that was even close. I had an ‘aha’ moment when I found her painting. I’m glad you liked it. πŸ™‚

      Like

  24. Joyce says:

    Nicely done! VERY nicely done! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  25. Nancy says:

    You rocked this challenge! I still do not know what I am going to do!

    Like

Leave a Reply

