Weekly Photo Challenge

Four seasons

New England definitely has four separate seasons. But, when the challenge came through for seasons, I immediately thought about seasonal flowers.

I love spring flowers like Bleeding Hearts, have beds full of Day Lilies, appreciate the beauty of giant Sunflowers, and enjoy Poinsettias during the holidays.

I’ve been reminded that flowers can’t be eaten so why grown them. My response is flowers feed my soul. I hope they do yours too.

Snow is forecasted for tonight. I may need to print this photo and paste it on the refrigerator to remind me spring is coming. It is coming, right?  🙂

Linked to the Weekly Photo Challenge: Seasons.

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in New England, Photography, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge

  1. It is coming! Flowers feed my soul too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dan Antion says:

    You made a great selection Judy! Life would be pretty boring if we only grew what we can eat. I think you’re right, they feed our soul.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Eliza Waters says:

    That’s exactly my response to why I grow flowers and buy them for the house in winter. My soul needs them!
    30 days until it is officially Spring! We’re almost there! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge-Seasons – WoollyMuses

  5. SO pretty! If I could, I’d have fresh flowers every day. Thanks for these.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  6. VocareMentor says:

    Flowers feed our soul! Beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: WPC: Seasons (Winter Sunrise) | Chris Breebaart Photography / What's (in) the picture?

  8. So beautiful and colourful – my soul’s just been fed. Thank you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Joyce says:

    They feed your soul because you feed them! It seems like everything you touch turns to gold – and pink and red and yellow! You have a wonderful talent for creating beauty from dirt!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Ha ha! Love the collage! I think you’ve already heard the joke: We have 4 seasons: flood season, construction season, leaf season and winter season. 😉

    Like

  11. Laurie Graves says:

    This confirmed foodie thinks that food for the soul is just as important as food for the body.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Even if it snows (it’s raining, here), it’s going to warm up into the 50s in a day or two. Spring WILL come. The flowers will bloom. The sun will shine. I can feel it coming 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Ingrid says:

    I always enjoyed perennial gardening over vegetable gardening. There’s something about flowers that make me smile or as you say ‘feeds the soul’.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Not sure about spring but from a look at my forecast MUD SEASON is coming…

    Liked by 1 person

  15. pbmgarden says:

    Flowers are nourishing. Hope the snow is gentle and soon gone.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. I love the four photos, wonderful color. And don’t forget that some flowers feed the stomach as well as the soul.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Winter is definately hanging around this year!! The vibrant colour here is a great reminder that soon the earth will change colour:-)

    Like

  18. Grandma Kc says:

    Spring is coming! Just might not be as soon as you wish. I agree 100% — flowers feed my soul! Thanks for sharing yours.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Nancy says:

    This was a most perfect entry from you for this weeks photo challenge! The collage and the different flowers for each season! PERFECT!

    Liked by 1 person

  20. reocochran says:

    “The Seasons of New England Flowers” sounds like a great book, Judy. Photos framed in a perfect arrangement as you presented would decorate a kitchen or lined along a shelf in oak frames. “Flowers feed our souls,” so true!

    Liked by 1 person

  21. reocochran says:

    Oh, by the way. My great grandfather lived in Sweden and was a stone mason. He met a young woman while he was creating a stone wall around a bourgeois family’s garden. A young woman would sit nearby on a bench, reading. Long love story (“Love: European Style”) short. They married, began a family, immigrated to Rockport, MA and he put tomatoes in their flower gardens. He was practical, while she was a dreamer. ♡♡

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

