Flower Show

Our local nursery, Wentworth Greenhouse, sponsored an Exotic Flower Show over the weekend. A fellow MG and I went Saturday afternoon.

There were beautiful Orchids on display along with exotic animals. I don’t have any orchids, but I certainly do appreciate their beauty.

Orchid2Collage

We ran into another MG who had a cart full of plants to go with her other orchid collection at home.

Orchid2 Collage

The exotic animals were interesting, but the snake crawling around the woman’s body was enough to make me move quite quickly from that area. I am scared to death of snakes, big or small, and this one was big.

AnimalCollage

Sunday morning, I enjoyed an exotic flower show of my own when I noticed two new blooms on my Walking Iris. Life was good when I saw this on my porch before I’ve even had my first cup of coffee. 🙂

Walking Iris

It will still be several months until there are flowers outside, but the warm days and cool nights mean the sap from the Sugar Maples is running. So, this morning, we’re headed north to visit our friends at their Sugar Shack. It is always fun to watch maple syrup being made and bottled.

So, whether your week includes working outside the home, gardening, quilting, or even making maple syrup, I wish you well . 🙂

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Gardening, New England and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Flower Show

  1. Hi Judy, Fun to see plants that grow elsewhere….the orchids are quite showy! Going to a plant show can surely get you excited for our own upcoming season! Have fun at the sugar shack….check out this old song, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iHzjfGF6MiU , not actually about a maple syruping but will stick in your head for the tapping season, one year someone started singing it while we were boiling down, it has stuck in my head since then!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. reocochran says:

    Having a cup of coffee on your porch, gazing at your own glorious twin buds of walking Iris would bring a spring in my step, Judy! The flower photos are superb.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. sweetk8 says:

    Great flowers. Your walking iris is stunning. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It is so wonderful to have flowers to admire in this last leg of winter! Your irises make me very happy too! xo Johanna

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Dan Antion says:

    It’s always fun to see those first daring blossoms in spring. We don’t have many early birds in our yard, One of these days, maybe. Today, I’m going to be vicariously cheered up by your Iris. Sorry, but I skipped the middle row of pictures.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Nancy says:

    Orchids are always such a beautiful sight! Lovely photos of your greenhouse visit!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’m with you on the snake! I wouldn’t have stayed around long enough to get a photo! Enjoy your fresh Maple Syrup!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. joey says:

    Wow those are so beautiful! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. The flowers are stunning! The snake, not so much. I could see a quilt in the colors of one of those flowers or the parrot. Nature is so inspiring! I have a daffodil in bloom outside today on “leap day” of all things. Amazing. And a Christmas cactus in the dining room trying to bloom. Strange winter. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. There is something so refreshing about orchids in winter. So satisfying. But snakes? One good thing about winter is that we don’t see them. I know they are important in the ecosystem but..

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Norm 2.0 says:

    I don’t know what it is about orchids that I find so appealing, but I ALWAYS stop to admire whenever I see them. Great shots Judy 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Dawn says:

    So much color, at the nursery and on your porch, Judy! Sweet wishes for a fun visit to the Sugar Shack. I always look forward to your stories about Maple sugar time! ♡

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Laurie Graves says:

    I, too, am with you on snakes and admire your bravery in stopping long enough to get a photo. Such beautiful orchids. Love their little faces. And for New Englanders, it’s an exciting time when the sap starts to run. Spring is coming!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Joyce says:

    Lovely pictures! Orchids are so exotic, but I have heard they are temperamental little divas, difficult to raise. I’m with you on the snakes. Cannot imagine people wrapping them around themselves like that. Now, the parrot? Lovely and colorful – just like the flowers!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. germac4 says:

    The orchids are stunning, but I do love the walking Iris, I must see if I can get one and grow it. And …as for snakes, I’m with you….I don’t like to be anywhere near one!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. treadway says:

    Gorgeous flowers!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. KerryCan says:

    I definitely prefer exotic plants to exotic animals! The sap has been running here, too, although we’re preparing for a winter storm that will slow things down for a few days!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. elisa ruland says:

    I’m enjoying catching up on your blog…everything is beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Gosh what beautiful flowers….but that iris is simply stunning! How wonderful to have the chance to go out and gather maple syrup yourselves….I’m officially envious😊💕

    Like

  20. Collecting sap from Maple trees and boiling it down into Maple Syrup is the best ever. 🙂

    Like

  21. pbmgarden says:

    The orchid show sounds marvelous. I share your phobia and that would have ruined it for me. The maple syrup making sounds great.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Oh those orchids are beautiful as is your iris. I am not comfortable around snakes either!

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Grandma Kc says:

    Sure wish I could go to the Sugar Shack with you! I do love maple syrup. As for the snake — I skipped that part of your post. I am beyond uncomfortable around them!

    Liked by 1 person

  24. Denzil says:

    Are you familiar with wild orchids Judy? Not as glamorous as those in your pictures, but I always get a thrill when I come across them in the spring.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

