Thursday Doors

I am lucky that when I want to walk outside, there is a neighborhood close by where I can walk a couple of miles if I meander through the streets and cul-de-sacs.

They are all two stories with 2, 2 1/2, or 3 car attached garages, large lots, invisible dog fences, and based upon the signs, the landscape companies spray the lawns almost monthly.

This is a fairly new neighborhood, and basically the houses all look alike except for the shade of tan paint and the color of the door and trim.

Blue Door Collage

This  house always has a lot of kids playing there. When you look in their backyard you know why.

RinkCollage

In the summer, soccer, baseball, and ATVs driven on the lawn are the attraction. The gigantic net includes a ladder and even a chair affixed to the tree. This time of year, it is the ice rink with the basketball goal. Oh, and did I mention there are spotlights up high in the trees?

The door this week is plain, but the back yard definitely isn’t. So, I’m wondering what do you think? Best Dad ever or nightmare neighbor?  🙂

Linked to Norm Frampton’s Thursday Doors, March 3, 2016.

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Photography, Thursday Doors and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

58 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. Nancy says:

    Hmmm… you definitely know where your kids are! (if they were our kids…)
    Creative spin on your Thursday Doors posts!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I vote for best dad. I just spoke with a very long and dear friend whose parents house was the epic gathering place for every kid in the neighborhood. Their back yard had a well-worn baseball diamond created by our marathon whiffle ball games, I practiced countless lay-ups on their homemade basketball court, I think they bought peanut butter and jelly in bulk containers. Ben’s parents always kept the door open for all of us, we were so lucky to have this opportunity to run, jump, and to be noisy. I think I learned the value of community by being allowed at an early age to help create and be part of a healthy, safe, and nurturing kid community. Just hope the kids stick to ice hockey and baseball and don’t form a heavy metal rock band!

    Liked by 4 people

  3. For me, nightmare. But I don’t have kids. If I had kids, perfect!
    My parents were like this, ass-u-ming that we would want to stay home and bring other kids over, opposed to going out of Mom’s sight.
    I hope that they have an extra medical rider on their insurance!

    Liked by 1 person

    • So true about the insurance. I’ve lived in subdivisions like that and there were home owners regulations. When that gigantic net, ladder, chair and lights went up I was shocked, but the whole thing just seems to keep growing. Maybe the neighbors’ kids play there all day. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Maybe momma wants the nightmare outside the house, rather than inside:-) Jokes aside, I think it’s the attitude and demeanor of the family (adult and child) that determine if they are good neighbors or not.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Dan Antion says:

    The best dads are often the nightmare neighbors. It all looks like fun and there seems to be enough property to keep the noise contained. We have a very small lot, so we actually avoided certain activities out of respect for the neighbors. I hope the next generation is as kind to us. The color combo is nice on that door.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I imagine both, depending on a variety of factors! It drives me crazy to see newer neighborhoods with obviously expensive homes, where all the houses look more of less the same. I’d prefer a nice variety!

    janet

    Liked by 2 people

    • They have great sidewalks. 🙂 So, I walk with headphones and normally don’t even look at the houses because they are so identical. But, that gigantic back net sure caught my eye because of its ugliness and how it just looks so out of place hung up in those trees. I have to admit I’ve never seen anyone go to that extreme. 🙂

      Like

  7. Joyce says:

    I suppose he could also be a “super-dad” if he took kids for nature walks and held relay races that only required a stick in the ground for a goal line. I do applaud him for keeping his kids at home and including other children in the fun, but the whole “ballpark” doesn’t really fit into the neighborhood! Tree-top chairs and spotlights – yikes!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Looks like a kid’s paradise in the back 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  9. joey says:

    Best dad. Stuff like that is what kids need more of these days.
    These are the most common doors I see here. Just like my own. So boring, lol! Even after I paint it, it’ll be boring. *sigh*

    Liked by 2 people

  10. NIce at least to think of the kids actually playing outside rather than in front of video games all day.

    Liked by 2 people

  11. Norm 2.0 says:

    I’d vote for best dad too. As others have said it’s a great way to know where the kids are while encouraging them to be outdoors and stat active. If I had something like this when we were kids, my mom would of had to come pick me up and drag me in for supper 😉

    Liked by 2 people

  12. dimlamp says:

    When it comes to doors and houses, variety is good.

    Liked by 2 people

  13. I vote BEST DAD ever! The problem with cookie cutter neighborhoods is they are BORING. These homes lack any character and personality. This family home will be the central gathering place for all the neighborhood kids, having good, healthy fun. Much better than in the basement in front of the game console or t.v. We have a quasi-victorian, and across the road used to be a field, now it is filled with cookie cutters. I want my grandkids to have a place to play when they visit, so we have been known to have big-wheel races in our circle driveway; the front yard (fenced) filled with scooters and trikes and little tykes play structures when the stayed for the summer. We are lucky to have 2+acres and I don’t give a darn that the neighbors can hear the laughter, the shouting, the delightful squeals of fun. It is what makes a house a home. I hope there is a spot where the adults can sit out back on a deck and enjoy the antics! We love to sit out on the wrap around porch and watch the kids play!

    Liked by 2 people

  14. Best Dad! What a set up. Definitely the place to hang out and have some fun.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. I vote for both: best dad AND most annoying neighbor. Such fun for the kids but the squeals of delight would fill me with joy for about, oh, 5 minutes. Then I’d be retreating to the farthest point in my house… a spot with no windows… and heavy insulation to dampen the happy noises from next door.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. KerryCan says:

    I like the backyard better than the house–it has way more personality! Do you know Malvina Reynold’s song, Little Boxes?

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Cheryl Robertson says:

    Although it looks a bit extreme, how fun for their children to have a place to play outside. My grandchildren live next door to me and their play yard is between our two houses. They have a jungle gym/swing set and a trampoline to play on. I often wonder what our neighbors think about our yard. Lol!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. I didn’t bake cookies, and wasn’t even particularly good with large numbers of kids, but the children gathered at our house. I later discovered that I was the only mother that allowed the neighborhood children to come inside to play. That’s the reason my house was so popular!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Chuckling because I was the only mother that allowed inside or outside. They loved our basement with a ceiling covered in a parachute with old furniture and a freezer stocked with twinkles and such. LOL There was a door to the backyard swings and trees, and they went in and out like a revolving door. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  19. Geert Smits says:

    What is noise with a garden like that? In Gouda we can fit three to five nice houses in there 🙂 So bring on the kids and let them play!

    Liked by 1 person

  20. jan says:

    You are lucky – looks like a lovely neighborhood!

    Liked by 1 person

  21. treadway says:

    I am in the Best Dad & Mom side…hopefully if it is shouting and laughter for fun, neighbors won’t care. At least hoping no one is trying to sleep…that would be the worst thing.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Eliza Waters says:

    Could be Best Mom, too! I like to hear kids playing, it reminds me of LIFE, happiness and being present, as most kids are, having not a care in the world. Good mindfulness reminder. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  23. jesh stg says:

    am happy someone is keeping the kids busy with an outdoors activity:)

    Liked by 1 person

  24. Lucky kids. I have no problem with it except for the ATVs. I hate ATVs, plus they’re dangerous for kids.

    Liked by 1 person

  25. germac4 says:

    Fun for the kids, but the spotlight would be a bit of a worry for me if I lived next door. Interesting to see your neighbourhood..

    Liked by 1 person

    • We live on four acres and this entire subdivision was just acres of trees when we moved here. Now it is blocks of cookie cutter houses with another 42 being built as we speak. We have wetlands between us and them and that is a good thing because except for walking their sidewalks I can ignore them. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  26. Best Dad ever but heart attack waiting to happen for Mom! I admire these parents sometimes but on the other hand I just know boys in particular aren’t the smartest when it comes to doing things. I could never have this in my back yard!

    Liked by 1 person

  27. reocochran says:

    I think best Dad ever and the home is gorgeous, Judy. The doors are pretty and considering my plain Doors post on Thursday, this looks quite “posh!” 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  28. Laurie Graves says:

    Best dad ever, but I agree with Jason from Garden in the City about the ATVs. How wonderful those children are being encourage to play outside. Usually, kid noise ends at a reasonable hour, well before 10 p.m. It’s when they get older and the parents are away that you get real noise 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  29. Nadezda says:

    ATVs are very noisy, I agree too, And mother is lucky to hear this noise outside. Lovely house door, I think is expensive a house, isn’t it?

    Liked by 2 people

  30. I’d say Best Dad and Nightmare Neighbour together – I’m just imagining the noise but then imagining being one of the kids – tricky choice! I think the spotlights would probably swing it over to nightmare though ! 🙂 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  31. Karen says:

    We had a new neighbor that moved in next door to our farm house who had a ice/hockey rink in his backyard that had spotlights. It seemed that they only played hockey at night…thank goodness that our bedroom windows weren’t on that side of the house. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  32. Grandma Kc says:

    That house is huge! Best Dad ever in my book but I bet Mom goes broke handing out Popsicles in the summer and hot chocolate in the winter!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

