Wordless Wednesday

BobHouse

Sixty plus degrees today and standing water. I sure wouldn’t want to be the person venturing onto this ice to remove those last three bob houses. 🙂

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Photography, Wordless Wednesday and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Wordless Wednesday

  1. Julie says:

    Lovely composition and colours Judy. We have nothing like that here, I’m guessing they float in fashion of sorts by the name of them?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well…they are suppose to be on the ice and not in the water. 🙂 They are used for ice fishing but are usually taken off the ice when the weather gets warm. These three are the last ones I could see anywhere on Lake Winnepesaukee. With the standing water, and now they say it is going to go up to 70 today, I can’t imagine how they are going to get them off the ice. Well, I guess they’ll take an ATV out and pull them in, but I sure hope they do it safely or those fishing shacks will suddenly be ‘bob houses’ for sure. Glad you liked it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Gosh no! Don’t want that job.
    However, I work smarter than harder. Couldn’t they have put a rope on them earlier and then wait for the ice to melt and then pull the floating house in? I’m just spit-balling 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. pbmgarden says:

    Wow, I wish them luck getting those moved safely. The temperatures rose quickly here too. We’re headed to 80 today. Hope spring doesn’t grow up too fast.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I went out yesterday and spent a couple of hours picking of branches and sticks and taking covers off blueberry bushes. It was heaven, but I noticed that most of the trees are budded which will be wonderful if we are having an early spring. But, it won’t be so good if we have a late winter storm. I guess we all keep our fingers crossed. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Dan Antion says:

    This is a beautiful photo Judy. I hope they get to these before they begin a journey of their own.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. KerryCan says:

    We have the same view out our living room window. Sometimes I sit and ponder what I would do if I saw one go through . . .

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Norm 2.0 says:

    Excellent shot Judy. I hope they get those in soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. hmmm… that’s a problem that I wouldn’t want to have.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Me neither! Nice photo, though. Glad the weather is mild.
    We had a mild, almost springlike day yesterday. I hope today is also mild.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Laurie Graves says:

    Nice photo! I’ve never heard them referred to as “bob houses.” Only fishing shacks. Or something along that line. But the name makes complete sense. You never know what you are going to learn when reading a blog 😉 It’s wonderful.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Ogee says:

    They will make lovely underwater fish habitat soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Joyce says:

    It’s been unseasonably warm here, too, over the past few days. Kind of nice to smell spring approaching, but I just hope tulips don’t emerge and then get frozen by a sudden storm – like last year! Love the bob houses and I hope they get hauled in safely!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I always love seeing the ice huts in winter but indeed, i wonder how do they get them of now? xo Johanna

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Eek. Maybe someone can throw out a hook and pull them to shore.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Mary says:

    I’m with you, they waited too long – yikes!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. pagedogs says:

    I’ve never heard them called “bob houses” either. I love it. But I’m really surprised those are still out there. A man fell through the ice and drowned a few days ago on Lake Megunticook near here.

    Liked by 2 people

  16. Grandma Kc says:

    Glad you are getting some warmer weather. Spring is almost there and soon you can start planting! Love the picture.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. It’s really warm, but it was raining most of the day. I have to admit, I’m good with early warm. As long as it keeps raining. We need the rain.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. I showed my fishermen husband this image…he started to salivate! Smile…..

    Like

  19. Oh my they’d better hope for another freeze or two!!

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Yikes! It’s too warm here for ice fishing as well…in the past week, there has been a couple of reports of vehicles going through the ice.

    Brilliant colours and light in this photo. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Nancy says:

    I have been traveling so catching up on your posts! You sound like me… Can’t have just one love! Oh and I love a craft IPA Beer!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

