Thursday Doors

Door

It seemed only appropriate this week, to look through photos and find a lovely door from Brussels. 🇧🇪

Screenshot 2016-03-23 15.40.38This is one of the doors to the Musical Instruments Museum, part of the Royal Museums for Art and History, and celebrated for its collection of 8,000 musical instruments.

The collection dates back to 1877, but the museum is closed this week due to security concerns.

In May, we flew out of the Brussels airport and had coffee and scones at the airport Starbucks while we talked about what a wonderful trip we had enjoyed.

The news reports this week have been hard to watch. We continue to pray for all those who have lost loved ones, are injured, and for the rest of us who try to make sense out of something that is nonsensical.

I hope there will be a day when we can all live in a world where atrocities like this don’t happen. Until then, we all feel the impact of these attacks as we go about our lives.

Have a safe and happy Thursday as you’re out and about checking out doors.  💙

Linked to Norm Frampton’s Thursday Doors, March 24, 2016.

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Photography, Thursday Doors and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. Thank you for sharing your wonderful memories of your time in Brussels. The situation is heartbreaking and beyond my comprehension.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Norm 2.0 says:

    That is a lovely old door indeed. Despite the terrible events there this week, and elsewhere around the world seemingly every single day, it is important to hang on to and appreciate all that is beautiful in this world. Thanks for sharing this beauty.
    Enjoy the weekend Judy 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. joannesisco says:

    A lovely and touching selection given the events of this week.

    Although my maternal grandfather and his family were all from Brussels, I’ve never been there … an omission I hope to correct one day.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Joyce says:

    The door is majestic. And the careful preservation of musical instruments for the enjoyment of future generations is something I’d expect from a people so goodhearted that they lovingly maintain a cemetery resting the remains of soldiers who died defending their country in WWII. I’ve learned a lot from you about these good people. They don’t deserve what happened to them. Nobody does.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Laurie Graves says:

    So very appropriate. What impressive doors! The destructive nature of humans is truly appalling. I think that’s why I read so many books about the English countryside. I need a break.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I thought you’d have a good tribute post and you did and it’s beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Murphy's Law says:

    Great doors and such a beautiful and appropriate tribute to Brussels and its people who were so brutally violated. I don’t understand this relentless violence either. How can human beings have such hate in their hearts? Stay safe everyone.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Dan Antion says:

    This was a very appropriate door for today Judy. Having a personal connection makes these events hurt a little more. I have not been to Brussels but several of my coworkers have been there often as we have business partners in the region. I too wish for a time when these events are relegated to history.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. joey says:

    Beautiful doors. I imagine after your time there, you feel a sense of connection most of us cannot. Such a tragedy must weigh on you differently. Peace to you.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Very appropriate door to post this week, Judy. My niece travels to Brussels quite frequently as part of her job, thankfully she wasn’t there on that tragic day.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. jan says:

    The stories out of Belgium are indeed horrifying. Those doors look twenty feet tall, don’t they?

    Liked by 1 person

  12. germac4 says:

    The photo of the doors, and the museum, is a lovely reminder of Brussels’s history, of building and creating a wonderful city. I too cannot believe such senseless violence against them.

    Liked by 2 people

  13. When I was in Europe in the 70’s, we had mussels in Brussels. Absolutely delicious! The latest happenings there are terrible. I can’t imagine hating anyone enough to randomly kill anyone possible and myself as well.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  14. reocochran says:

    This door of the museum is magnificent with its details and layers. I agree with your wishes for no more atrocities, saying we need to have more harmony and less strife in our world, Judy. I really like the purpose of this building,preserving the heritage of musical instruments. Such an interesting and meaningful post, despite the somber situation in Brussels. I enjoyed your firsthand experience here. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Lorrie says:

    Many years ago, as a college student, I spent the summer just outside of Brussels. My heart aches for all those who have suffered loss this week – loss of life, of health, of innocence. I pray for them and for peace to rule. What horrible things people will do to one another.
    Music is a beautiful thing that unites – a wonderful door to share.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. jesh stg says:

    Have grown up about 2 – 2 1/2 hrs. N. Of Brussels, which is in the S. Of Holland, Several school trips were taken in that area. it is very difficult to understand the direction Belgium has taken in the last decades. it was such an ultra traditional country. One good thing (even though it resulted in these attacks) is that they fight against violence.
    I can imagine several buildings are closed right now because of security reasons.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Thank you for sharing this particular photo, Judy. This door has opened up and allowed folks to share their voice and to express their horror and confusion about the recent attack. I am so saddened by the reality of violence and chaos that appears to be so prevalent in our world these days. I worry about the young people who are so accustomed to hearing news reports about bombings, raids, brutality, that they become desensitized to the wrong in all of this. I spend more time than ever these days talking to my own children ( young adults now) about these things and how important it is to never lose sight of the goal of Peace. Best and peace to you, our thoughtful friend.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. KerryCan says:

    It’s always especially shocking when something like this happens in a place we know well and can envision. I haven’t been to Belgium but you help bring this closer to me, through your words, and, as hard as that is, I think it’s important. Important never to get desensitized and distant from something so horrible.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. pbmgarden says:

    Judy, I’ve thought about your trip to Brussels this week. Happy to see this photo today.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Very nice doors and thanks for honoring the innocent people that fell this past week. I visited Brussels on my first tour out of this country on the early 2000 and I remember it even though we only spent a day there. It was before the Euro and the money exchange was so generous in favor of the US currency so everything there was inexpensive. We had pots of steamed mussels, Belgian Waffles and more; good memories and wishing the world will find peace so everyone can enjoy their lives.

    Like

    • We had a wonderful visit to Belgium and enjoyed some of the food items you mentioned as well as delicious chocolate and I can’t forget the amazing beer. 🙂 When I hear the word Belgium, I think beautiful architecture, cobble stone streets, horse driven carriages, delicious food, and friendly people. But, for those who have never been there, it has acquired new associations. Maybe as long as those of us who have visited can share positive memories, we can balance out those other links. 🙂 Have a great weekend and thanks for commenting.

      Like

  21. Julie says:

    I share your hopes Judy.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. A wonderful old door Judy and perfect that it should be the entrance to the museum of musical instruments – at least the arts in all their forms are means to unite people and spread a little harmony. I think the most important thing in these troubled times, especially here in Europe, is to keep a sense of perspective and not to allow hysteria to triumph – this is all the terrorists are seeking and sadly the media often plays right in to their hands. Wishing you a wonderful and peaceful weekend! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Nancy says:

    Thank You for posting this lovely photo in honor of the people of Brussels.
    Praying for Peace!

    Liked by 1 person

  24. Your Brussels doors are beautiful. I have a shot of doors in Williamsburg, Virginia, that are nearly identical, albeit smaller. I think our immigrants brought their architecture with them 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  25. My husband routinely travels to Brussels so the news was upsetting, to say the least, especially since he had just returned from there when the story broke. I love an old, solid, handmade door. Those are quite handsome.

    Liked by 1 person

  26. Denzil says:

    Thanks for your kind thoughts about this country Judy. Things seem to have settled down somewhat, but now all the incriminations are coming out, blaming the government, the security forces, the local mayors etc. It’s sad really. This country has so much to offer, yet there is so much division. I hope the door opens soon to a new, more positive future for Belgium, and Brussels in particular.

    Liked by 1 person

  27. The news has been hard to watch for me as well. Your prayers are shared by millions, I have no doubt.

    Liked by 1 person

  28. Nadezda says:

    This door is nice and the place is calm, Judy. The last days in Brussels were terrible. It was hard to watch TV 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  29. Grandma Kc says:

    You picked the perfect doors.

    Growing up in the 60s and attending anti-war demonstrations and no more war toys rallies I never thought we would be living in the fear we live in now. I was so naive as to think we would certainly have peace by now. I just sit and shake my head an worry for the future Amara may have.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

