Thursday Doors

Version 2I’m a sucker for barn doors of any type so when I attended the Blueberry Pruning workshop at Tuckaway Farm I had to take a shot of these doors.

I love doors with character and history. They cause me to wonder – who built them, what year, how many times have them been opened and closed, what’s inside?

I once dreamed of converting a barn into living space until my heartΒ caught up with my wallet. Then I moved on to wanting a set of barn doors inside, but that never worked out either. So, I’m just a big barn door fan.

Barn

Tuckaway Farm is home to four generations of the Cox family, covers 250 acres, has a bio diesel facility, grows huge vegetable and fruit crops, and is home to the Wentworth Hunt Club.

It’t not your average farm so it shouldn’t have average barn doors. πŸ™‚

Linked to Norm Frampton’s Thursday Doors, March 31, 2016.

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Barns, Photography, Thursday Doors and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. I can see why you’d snap a photo of these…so old and full of character.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love how the whole building looks like an amalgam of bits and pieces collected from other interesting working buildings. Very fine doors – and very fine weather by the looks of it!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love old buildings and these are great!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. joannesisco says:

    I too love barn doors on a sliding track. It’s unlikely I will ever have a farm, or a barn, but I keep hoping for an inside door on a sliding track πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I am tickled by these doors and their nearly new hardware!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Dan Antion says:

    Well weathered building and doors Judy. This building has a charm that is hard to describe, but I’d like to go inside and poke around. I can only imagine what secrets it holds. I love barn doors as well. I did manage to build one for my workshop, I’ll feature that after the long-delayed renovation is complete.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. pbmgarden says:

    Good one Judy! Old farm buildings catch my eye and I always wonder about the lives touched by them.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. As wonderful as old doors are, the stories behind them, plain or not, are indeed what makes them most fascinating. Have a wonderful Thursday, Judy.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Dawn says:

    Old barns always catch my eye as well, Judy. Love these old doors! Just imagine all of the hard-working people that opened these doors early each morning as they set off to work. Blueberries always make me think of New Hampshire. While visiting NH years ago, I bought a small, stoneware crock with a basket of blueberries inscribed on it. Today it holds dried flowers and herbs from last year’s garden. So many wonderful places to visit in your area!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Laurie Graves says:

    Wow! That’s quite a farm, and those are quite the doors. Lucky for you, with your love of old barns, that you live in northern New England.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Joyce says:

    I have seen homes with reclaimed barn doors in decorating magazines and they are so appealing! Ages ago, I went through a “I-want-to-live-in-a-barn” phase, too. Just seems like you would feel so powerful and protected inside one of them! (But, of course, the project was well out of my skill set and financing ability!) The doors you show here remind me of my grandpa’s chicken coop. He built in that same style of simple, utilitarian charm.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I spent a lot of time reading books about living in a barn, renovating a barn, etc., etc. I just never appreciated what it would cost to do that either yourself or with a contractor. It was so far out of my retirement range, it was funny. Your grandpa had a chicken coop – I bet you have stories to tell. πŸ™‚

      Like

  12. reocochran says:

    There is something about barns and their history that attracts my eyes as I “tool” along the countryside. Did you ever see my winter, weathered white barn (Thursday’s Doors post) in the fog, where the clever owners named it, “Lazy Man’s Rest,” Judy?

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Well, if I would of been there with you…we would of planned our get away with these doors!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. joey says:

    I love old wooden doors, let alone barn doors, and on a track! Excellent capture.
    I have some family that restored an old barn. Rumor is that restoring that barn cost them more than their home — but who can put a price on history, hm? (I can. Which is why I don’t restore barns. lol)

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Norm 2.0 says:

    I’m a sucker for old barns too. This one is just lovely Judy – good find πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Murphy's Law says:

    LOVE anything to do with barns and farm houses. These doors are great. I wish they could talk! They’ve seen years of use and are still going strong! The photo is “picture perfect” I would love to live in a converted barn, but that ain’t happening! LOL!

    Maybe we all lived on farms in another life!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Now, that’s an interesting thought. πŸ™‚ I know growing up and being able to enjoy my grandparents’ barn sure made an impact on me, then we built a new modern barn in KS, and now we have an old barn. I may not live in one, but I have one to enjoy. πŸ™‚

      Like

  17. Very sun-kissed building, lovely old barn. Interesting about the blueberries. They grow wild on a mountain not too far from us and we go there every summer to pick them. Unfortunately the birds and wildlife like them, too, and they hardly leave any for us – but the exercise we get in climbing is worth the effort.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. jesh stg says:

    Never give up on your dreams, Judy! Who knows you’ll have another chance for barn-living:):) The one you captured has looks warm and inviting! Blueberries – oh yum!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. germac4 says:

    A lovely old barn door, I feel as if someone should be sitting in front of it singing a folk song!

    Liked by 1 person

  20. RuthsArc says:

    Very nice doors, Judy.

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Oh I love a good set of barn doors too! Those sliding white doors are great – nice choice!

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Beautiful barn doors and the barn itself if pretty cool, too! Add me to the list of those who love old barns.

    Liked by 1 person

  23. The photos have a lot of character, reflecting the farm.

    Liked by 1 person

  24. Wonderfully rustic doors for the challenge, Judy. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  25. Grandma Kc says:

    So you are famous! I was sitting in the doctor’s office this morning (Friday, April 1) and your door post was in my news feed on my phone! I was so surprised and very happy for you! Bet you had some good stats on this post — which is awesome by the way!

    Liked by 1 person

  26. Great weathered barn door and barn! Do the two doors in the first image open apart/together on an exterior wheeled track? I can almost hear them sliding across the track.

    Liked by 1 person

  27. treadway says:

    When I was young I found these plans for ‘barn’–the bottom was for the horse and the upstairs for me to live in! It just never came about.

    Liked by 1 person

  28. I saw a home design redo show that used barn doors in the house. Very cool! I’d love a pair as long as they don’t smell like the barn they came out of. πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  29. Wow, absolutely beautiful! I would love to attend a blueberry pruning workshop. Sounds so helpful πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

