Thursday Doors

There are so many great doors. These are some of my favorites – horse stall doors. When I went to the UNH Macfarlane Greenhouse open house last week, I was across the road from the UNH horse barns. So, I made sure I had enough time to stop over and see the current residents.

HorseCollageThe UNH students enrolled in the Equine Program board their horses there along with some others that stay year round. Each stall has its own door that slides on a barn door rail system.

Normally, I can walk all around and would be able to take as many photos as I wanted, but that day was a busy one. The stalls were being cleaned, walkway being raked, horses were being saddled up, and there were already a lot of riders and horses out.

We have stalls in our barn, but no beautiful sliding doors on them. They do have character left by the horses that lived there during its 175 year history –  teeth marks on the wood. 🙂

A barn, barn door, stall door, horse – they all cause my pulse to quicken. Happy Thursday to you as we have another winter meets spring day here in New Hampshire.

Linked to Norm Frampton’s Thursday Doors, April 7, 2016.

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Barns, New England, Photography, Thursday Doors and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. KerryCan says:

    That’s a beautiful stable! In addition to the look, I love the smell of a stable–I have it in my head now, after seeing your photos!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful horses and rider too!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. pagedogs says:

    There’s something heartening about seeing land-grant colleges that retain strong agriculture programs, with beautiful barns and greenhouses. And those are some sweet horse stalls!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Dan Antion says:

    I don’t blame you for getting excited. Doors aside, just being in and around those beautiful animals would tick-up anyone’s pulse. I love sliding barn doors. Big heavy and yet moving things. It always makes me smile. Good choices, Judy!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Norm 2.0 says:

    Any door post that has horses in it will get me excited too, they’re such noble creatures.
    Thanks for the smiles Judy 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Laurie Graves says:

    Oh, yes! Wonderful doors and a wonderful stable. Airy and clean. Just right for the horses.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Geert Smits says:

    I love horses. I love doors. That’s a lot of love if you combine them 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Joyce says:

    So heartwarming to see such respect for and attentive care of animals. Wonderful program. I’m glad you are allowed to just stroll in and take pictures! Beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

    • This is a fabulous barn. It is in great repair, full of handsome horses, friendly young people, and it is open to the public due to our tax dollars being at work for the university. The grandkids loved to visit when they were little, and I still go back whenever I’m in the area.

      Like

  9. Eliza Waters says:

    I love visiting stables with all their pungent smells. I am fond of work horses and one of these days I’m going to get to the Blue Star work horse sanctuary in Palmer MA http://www.equiculture.org

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Thank you for sharing this! Odd as it may seem, visiting such a spot is on my (not really a bucket list) bucket list. The idea of the regal steeds in their stalls seems quite magical and powerful to me. (As long as the place doesn’t stink… too much).

    Liked by 1 person

  11. jesh stg says:

    Always fun to visit where the horses live -each with their own personality! Fancy to have sliding doors:)

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Beautiful images for the challenge, Judy. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  13. treadway says:

    I so would love to walk around there!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I think you would. It is a wonderful place with an ‘open to the public’ sign on the door, parking available, and then the handsome horses and the friendly young people (mostly ladies). It is as clean a barn as I’ve ever seen, and it just makes you smile. 🙂

      Like

  14. reocochran says:

    Judy, I think sliding doors may be nice but the true history and character of your barn doors comes from the horses. (And their teeth or “chew markings”) They are the best part or the heart of the barn. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  15. reocochran says:

    Judy, my post was Thursday’s Doors ~January 28, 2016: Country Roads, Lazy Man’s Rest, two views. You would think I could give you a link but I use my cell phone to blog. Links are not as easy to get to show up.
    I still don’t link directly to Norm but we “visit” each other! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Nancy says:

    What a beautiful stable! And a great entry for Thursday Doors!
    And the horse is spectacular!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Great idea, I think that’s a first but Norm is the only one who could confirm that for sure!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Grandma Kc says:

    What a wonderful place to go and wonder around. I miss being around horses and being able to ride. Oh and very pretty doors, too!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. I think I might have killed someone to be part of an equine program in college … or anywhere else. I still love horses, even though I can’t ride.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m with you. We actually had horses when our daughter was younger – pure bliss. Even at this mature age, I’d love to have one even if I couldn’t ride, Tthat old saying, ‘hay burner’, does impact the budget and the decision making process. Too bad. 🙂

      Like

  20. itsjusttoni says:

    Oh my gosh! I have never heard of Thursday doors until today! I thought I was the only one obsessed with doors! I have photographed doors (not to mention other architectural details) all of the time in my travels! By the way, before I forget, thanks for visiting my blog (or I would have never discovered this!)!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

