Postcard from Kansas

image

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
Image | This entry was posted in Photography, Traveling and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Postcard from Kansas

  1. Joyce says:

    A reminder, I think, that sometimes the old ways of doing things were better for the health of the earth. I love natural energy like wind power, but lots of majestic birds are killed in those blades. It’s such a surreal scene, though – like the landscape of an alien planet!

    Liked by 1 person

    • When we left the area in 2002, there wasn’t a wind turbine anywhere that we saw. But, now in the western part of the state, there are just large groupings for miles. I don’t know what the toll is on birds and hope it isn’t too high, but I do wish we all were looking for alternative energy sources.

      Like

  2. Dan Antion says:

    I’ve seen wind farms driving across Iowa. The do take some getting used to.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Laurie Graves says:

    Love those wind turbines. I, too, hate the toll they take on birds, but compared with what climate change will do, the wind turbines don’t seem so bad. Have a great trip!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. joey says:

    We have windfarms here, too. They make me smile! 🙂
    (We have a lot more green grass though…)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Norm 2.0 says:

    Nice choice of contrasting images.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. joannesisco says:

    Very interesting composition. I know they aren’t popular, but I really like wind turbines. They’re like gentle giants on the landscape and I find them quite mesmerizing to watch.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Eliza Waters says:

    Good place for windmills, I expect. I like the juxtaposition you have here between fossil and renewable energy.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Love the postcard / wasn’t sure if you’d post while away or not 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I’ve seen many wind turbines, Judy, they are new energy. But here they are not. Are you in Kansas?

    Like

    • Yes, we went to Kansas to visit family and had a wonderful week. As you travel along the highway in Western Kansas, there are now many miles of these wind turbines. I know some think they are ugly, but I think they are kind of handsome and represent moving towards a goal of less dependence on imported oil. They fight them here in New England because they feel they interrupt the views of the mountains and oceans for the tourists. Personally, I think it is our loss.

      Like

  10. germac4 says:

    Interesting photo Judy. The wind farm looks amazing, we have some around here too.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Everything has a price. Short of disappearing, humans aren’t going to fix anything without paying the toll.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Brenda says:

    I have a feeling you’re not in New Hampshire anymore … watch out for tornadoes! I agree with Joanne’s comment above. Wind turbines mesmerize me and, in some places, they are like moving works of art on the landscape.

    Like

    • We spent a week with family in Kansas enjoying the 70-80 degree temps but not the wind and the tornado warnings on two days. And, you said it – works of art on the landscape. I took that photo going 75 mph down the highway, and couldn’t believe it came out at all. 🙂 I would have loved to have climbed a couple of fences and gone up the incline and I could have gotten large groupings. They are not in a straight line but rather scattered around. I’m sure there must be some mechanical reason for that, but however they are arranged they do look like ‘art on the landscape.’

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Grandma Kc says:

    We need lots more wind farms! What beautiful scenery — something I will likely never see. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

