Weekly Photo Challenge: Admiration

Holland

When visiting Amsterdam, the roads, parking lots, and streets aren’t crowded with cars. Instead, they are crowded with bicycles of all types, shapes, and colors.

I admire these hearty people for their decisionย to make their way around their day-t0-day life on their bicycles using the power of the pedal. They are not only saving fuel and expense, but more importantly, they are staving off the obesity crisis we are experiencing here in the United States.

The Dutch people haven’t fallen victim to a sedentary lifestyle, and for that, I admire them greatly. ย ๐Ÿ™‚

If you want to admire some other entries, click here.

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Europe, Photography, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Admiration

  1. Eliza Waters says:

    Did you see many elders on bikes? I’m curious!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dan Antion says:

    That’s s lot of bikes! Great shot.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Rebekah M says:

    Oh, I LOVED seeing Nubble as header image!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    The Netherlands would be great for biking — at least it’s flat!

    Like

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge-Admiration – WoollyMuses

  5. sue says:

    At local library today found they now have bikes available! Show your library card and away you go. I was so surprised I didn’t investigate further but I will.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Good response, Judy. I ride my bike to the library and other places sometimes in the summer, but many of the streets have so much traffic. Often when I’m grocery shopping, I go to several places in the same round, so I’m at least making good use of my van.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  7. joyroses13 says:

    When we toured Paris, Italy and Swizterland, we noticed the same thing. I believe Europeans are much better at being active than what we are sadly!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Admiration | Musings of a Random Mind

  9. pommepal says:

    I live biking too, but I am lucky to live in a flat area.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. germac4 says:

    I think bike-riding works well in cities with relatively few cars in the city, …here in Canberra we do have cars and bikes, and they are learning to get along …slowly!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I really like your choice for this challenge, Judy. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  12. KerryCan says:

    I did a biking tour of part of the Netherlands and loved being part of the biking crowd! The car drivers are so much more accepting of and respectful of bike riders there. I admire that culture, too!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Murphy's Law says:

    All I can say is HOLY COW!! Lived on my bike and roller skates when I was young. But haven’t been on either in years…..and years!

    In the top photo, I love the one lone bike leaning against the pole. I guess he couldn’t find a parking space!! ๐Ÿ˜œ

    Great choice for photo. Enjoy the weekend.๐Ÿšฒ๐Ÿšฒ๐Ÿšฒ

    Liked by 1 person

  14. pbmgarden says:

    Great images Judy. We have a lot of bicyclers in my area, but nothing approaching this dedication.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. I fear that I’ve fallen more in line with the sedentary lifestyle than I wanted to, but riding a bike might not be the answer for me. Haven’t done it in years, and the experience might not be pretty! Good entry for this challenge.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Karen says:

    The problem in our country is that everything is so spread out. I think how far I used to have to drive just to go to the grocery store in New Hampshire. I’d never have made it to the top of our hill on a bicycleโ€ฆjust walking to the top had me breathing hard. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Joyce says:

    “Admiration” is the correct word! And especially for their creativity in transporting all sorts of cargo. Was it here where I saw a picture of the dog being driven about on a bike in Amsterdam? I think so!
    Just to add to the story about how soft we Americans are – my daughter told me that Bree just learned to ride her two wheeler and immediately asked if she could ride it to school. OMG! I was horrified! It’s a half mile hike to school but all I could picture was her falling off, getting hit by a car or being sent out the door (shudder!) ALONE! Well, someday, if spring ever does arrive, mommy will accompany her and they’ll take the path that winds through fields in back of their house right up to the school door – whew! (Maybe I should go too – creeping slowly along behind them, “just in case!”)

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Rupali says:

    Wonderful entry.

    Like

  19. Oh, my! No traffic jam worries, the only stress would be in finding your own bike among the collection! So great to see so much peddle power, just imagine the savings on fuel and the reduction of emissions.

    Liked by 2 people

  20. reocochran says:

    I would love to visit Amsterdam and enjoyed my trip with you, Judy! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Grandma Kc says:

    That is a very lot of bikes! You are right, we would all be better off if we would just start peddling our tails everywhere! We really do need the exercise!

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Pingback: Admiration (Flower Parade 1) | What's (in) the picture?

  23. Denzil says:

    I always wonder how you find your bike amongst so many thousands!

    Liked by 1 person

  24. I remember when you were visiting there and did a blog post about that and it was amazing! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  25. Laurie Graves says:

    Wow, wow, and wow! Wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

