Thursday Doors

I’m feeling bright and  cheery this Thursday morning so how about some bright red Castle doors from De Haar Castle in the Netherlands?

RedDoor1Collage

RedDoor2Collage

We toured this beautiful Castle last year, and I could have taken a lot more door photos because there were handsome red and white doors everywhere I turned.

RedDoor3Collage

It was a true adventure from the 1800’s castle itself to the red and white  doors and shutters to the gardens, oh the gardens. And, I didn’t even mention the great pastries and cappuccinos we enjoyed on the patio.

RedDoor4Collage

There are many interesting stops in the beautiful Netherlands, but this could easily be added because it is a real show stopper. Would I consider going back? Oh my, yes. 🙂

Linked to Norm Frampton’s Thursday Doors, May 19, 2016.

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Europe, Photography, Thursday Doors, Traveling and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. ‘Lawn mazes’ are the old/new up and coming fad. I’m curious as to when I might be asked to install one…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. reocochran says:

    First of all, I love castles, second, I love red Doors, Judy. ❤
    Your Netherlands castle is amazing and thanks for brightening up my am! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dan Antion says:

    Wow! Judy, those doors are stunning. I’m not sure, but the door in the upper right photo looks like it might be a door within a much larger door. In any case, it’s beautiful. The other photos are equally beautiful. I am glad you didn’t share photos of the pastry today. I have to wait until a series of all-day meetings begin before I get a snack 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  4. joyroses13 says:

    You brightened my morning! 🙂 Thanks! Beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. pbmgarden says:

    Those doors command attention. Love the garden.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. sue says:

    My curiosity..I checked the castle web site. No answer to why the red and white trim. Did you get an answer while you were there? I think I see some quilt patterns here and there! Kinda jarred me, guess I’m just a beige sort of girl.

    Liked by 1 person

    • There were huge barn doors painted in the same theme but I could find a photo. Everywhere you turned, there was red and white. I have no idea why, but it sure was eye candy. I am a very beige kind of person as well but these colors just made me smile. 🙂

      Like

  7. What a colorful way to start my day, Judy! Thanks for sharing. I can see why you’d go back (and the pastries and cappuccinos are the icing on the cake.)

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  8. bikerchick57 says:

    Someone certainly loved red and red doors and shutters when this castle was built. Or was the color added later? Such a beautiful place, Judy. I can see why you would go back!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Really creative doors. And so cheery, too. Good choice on a day with thunderhead coming in overhead 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Laurie Graves says:

    Wow!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. joey says:

    Wow! Just wow! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Judith says:

    The cheerful red and white patterns seem to emphasise the fact that this is a make-believe castle, built for entertainment rather than defence. Like Sue, the designs remind me of quilt patterns.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. How fun are these doors!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Ludwig says:

    Wow indeed!

    Like

  15. jesh stg says:

    That is quite a big castle! Probably asked you before, but where is the location? Love the left bottom door. They’re creative, but if I would be the renovator, I would have chose something else (since I’m Dutch, I would be the one to say it, haha).

    Hope to see you back in a few days for SEASONS!
    If you’re still there, or for a next time, the Open Air museum (Openlucht Museum) near Arnhem is really worth seeing. You see several parts of life and work in the history of Holland. -buildings, windmills, interiors, etc.)

    Liked by 1 person

    • You will probably know better than i when you see the address: Kasteel de Haar Utrecht
      Kasteellaan 1, 3455 RR Haarzuilens, The Netherlands. I know we visited when we were in Amsterdam. 🙂

      Like

      • jesh stg says:

        Hm, Part of the name is Utrecht, which is in the middle of the country 1/1 1/2 hrs. from Amsterdam. The adress is Haarzuilens, and I have have to look that up!
        Hope you also took pics of the inside of the castle?
        The outside is beautiful though!

        Liked by 1 person

  16. I see “Hexie” quilt patterns in that first photo:)

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Eliza Waters says:

    I never this of castles in the Netherlands for some reason! This one seems intriguing!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Great, colorful doors; now I know how smoking dope (in Amsterdam) makes them design their doors.

    Liked by 2 people

  19. Oddment says:

    I am having Thursday on Friday this week, and am off like a rocket with this beginning. I am a red person, and I love these doors! Thanks so much for these wonderful images.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Wonderful, Judy! Thinking now about a bright red door on the outhouse outside the studio! What do you think? been absent from the computer a bit…..just catching up on posts, always a delight to read your blog! when are you heading to Ireland? Any trips to Maine this year?

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Yes, a bright red door with a sign that says ‘we don’t care’ should cover all your bases. 🙂 Ireland is in September and there’s never a summer with a trip to Maine. 🙂

    Like

  22. After a long absence i browsed around happily!! And than ending with this delightful Dutch post,bliss! xoxox Johanna

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Stunning photographs. I love red doors. They say come on in. Looking forward to reading more from you.

    Liked by 1 person

  24. Brenda says:

    Such glorious, vivid contrasts. I’m starting to itch for a trip to the Netherlands. This didn’t help!

    Liked by 1 person

  25. pommepal says:

    Those doors are a real statement and so bright and cheery. They made me smile. What a fantastic castle.

    Liked by 1 person

  26. I have never seen a castle quite like that one before – and those colourful doors and shutters. Fabulous!

    Liked by 1 person

  27. lumar1298 says:

    These have been my favorite doors by far… So unique and bright…

    Liked by 1 person

  28. Love the red and white candy-stripe doors.

    Liked by 1 person

  29. KerryCan says:

    All I could see was quilt patterns, too! What amazing doors!

    Liked by 1 person

  30. Norm 2.0 says:

    What a fun and colourful theme this week – these are gorgeous. So cool!

    Liked by 1 person

  31. joannesisco says:

    Holy Cow! Turrets everywhere!! Who cares about the doors? TURRETS!!

    Liked by 1 person

  32. Joyce says:

    I had the same initial impression as Debra did on those red “quilted” doors! They are solidly “Americana” quilting influence (or vice versa, I suppose!) Those gardens are the picture of luxury – endless space and time to prune and perfect without regard for any limitations!

    Liked by 1 person

  33. Grandma Kc says:

    Oh those doors really are beautiful — what a greeting to anyone who comes knocking. Doesn’t it make you just wonder what goes on behind those doors?

    Liked by 1 person

  34. Irene says:

    Wow! Those are the most unique doors I’ve ever seen. Your great photos made me wish I could see them for myself. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

