Thursday Doors

DblDoorCollage

On this beautiful, sunny, warm Thursday, I thought some handsome double doors from Bruges, Belgium, would be just the collection to share. If there is one thing the European cities know how to do, it is doors made of sturdy wood, handsome surrounds, and metal and glass accents. It makes me smile just to look at these doors.

Happy Thursday. 🙂

Linked to Norm Frampton’s Thursday Doors, May 26, 2016.

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Europe, Photography, Thursday Doors, Traveling and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. Sabiscuit says:

    Lovely doors. Happy Thursday. xo

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dan Antion says:

    What a beautiful collection Judy. I love the arched doors, but that blue one is stunning. I love how meticulously the portion above the transom ties in with the stone work. It looks like it simply flows right through and it just lifts me up onto the building when I look at it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. pbmgarden says:

    So interesting to see how much variety there can be in doors. Love that blue color in the upper right.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Prior-2001 says:

    I love double doors – and all the more when they are sturdy! And it is hard for me to select a favorite from the ones here – so I just enjoyed them all! 😎

    Like

  5. It makes me smile, too, Judy. I’d be hard pressed to pick a favorite…so I’ll simply enjoy them all.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  6. joannesisco says:

    Wow – it would be pretty hard for me to pick a favourite out of these doors. Each of them has features I really like. Normally I would automatically gravitate to the arched ones, but the black doors with that interesting embellishment on the top keeps drawing my eye.
    Great choices!!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Norm 2.0 says:

    Happy Thursday indeed. These are all wonderful though I have to say all the detailed work in the black ones wins the day for me. Nice selection 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. joey says:

    Beautiful collection! They’re all stunners. I love that first set of doors, though — the long and tall of them, the depth of their finish, and that transom with the reflection. I dig reflections. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. taphian says:

    wonderful gallery

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Nancy says:

    Such beautiful doors. Once I get through all my pictures from Europe… I hope to post some pictures of doors! I agree with you totally… The doors in Europe are astounding!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Oddment says:

    A closed door can be so ambiguous: does it say STAY OUT or COME ON IN? But no ambiguity here: they say LOOK AT ME! Lovely photos.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Beautiful doors and surrounds.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. reocochran says:

    Judy, I am drawn to the blue door with the lines like sunbeams but blue. I also liked the deep green door, with green stained glass points like a star only just part of it. I am a little tired but enjoyed all of the doors, dear. Have a Happy Memorial Day weekend, enjoy and relax!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Murphy's Law says:

    Great collection of doors. But the blue one gets my vote. The way the sections in the top so perfectly line up with the surrounding arched stone. What workmanship! We wouldn’t see that in Home Depot, would we?!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Exactly. 🙂 Here in the US 99.9% of our doors can be found in Home Depot or Lowes. In this part of the country, those with enough money may pick one up at an architectural salvage shop and gain some uniqueness. But, for the masses the doors all look alike. 🙂

      Like

  15. pommepal says:

    Good solid doors. Love them all

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Joyce says:

    The doors just scream “Europe!” Substantial, elegant, inviting, timeless…….

    Liked by 1 person

  17. swamiyesudas says:

    Good looking doors indeed, Judy! Happy day to You! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  18. elisa ruland says:

    Beautiful selection of doors, they’re addicting aren’t they!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Grandma Kc says:

    They really do make beautiful doors and buildings, too. So glad I have you to share them with me or I would really miss out!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

