For the love of gardening

If you’re a gardener, this time of year tends to make your heart sing. Trees, shrubs and perennials are lush, green, and colorful.

PicMonkey Collage

Although it is Monday, and a couple of good Peoniesblogging friends, PMBGarden and  Eliza Waters, participate in In a Vase on Monday, I don’t have the skill set required to do flower design on their level.

I know what I like, and in this case it is two peony blooms in my grandmother’s vase. 🙂

My grandmother would enter her flowers in the flower show at the Mount Hope Grange Old Home Days celebration, and this vase always made an appearance accompanied by the blue ribbon that it usually took home.

It has been raining, and it’s going to rain several more days. Oh well, it’s good for the plants and the weeds are easy to pull in between storms.

Follow up: Every gardening attempt is not successful. A while back I took sixteen Lavender cuttings. Today, there is one that may make it. The other fifteen got moldy and never produced one root. Next, I’m going to try pinning a few branches down to the ground with landscape pins and putting a little compost over that area and see if they will root right there in the ground. I’ll let you know how that endeavor turns out.

Last fall we took out five raised beds and put in three stock tanks for veggies. Lettuce and Schwartzenberries are doing well in one and there are six tomatoes in the other two. I over bought plants so two are in containers and there is actually one in the perennial garden.

We decided to put a hoop over the tomatoes to try and fight 2016-06-06 06.51.03the blight. It was too large a flat expanse on the top and the water pooled. We then added a brace in the center that gives it enough oomph for the water to roll off. The plastic is held on with clips because this is where the snow blower distributes snow all winter long and we have to be able to take the plastic down.

A fellow MG teaches a glass in alternative watering like using a water bottle next to the plant or wicking in the ground. I decided to try the water bottle method by cutting off the bottom, drilling holes in the caps and placing at an angle to the plant. When I first did it, the caps kept getting full of soil and wouldn’t drain. In the barn, I found a white sleeve that is intended for drainage pipe put in the ground to keep soil and small rocks out so I cut small pieces and attached it over the bottle caps. Works like a charm. I fill the bottles and the water goes directly to the roots and the leaves don’t get wet.

So, what’s keeping you busy this week?  🙂

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Gardening, New England and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to For the love of gardening

  1. Dan Antion says:

    Your flowers are beautiful Judy. I think it’s nice that you can include your grandmother’s vase in your hobby. That makes it even more special. I fully understand the “leave a place for the snow blower to put snow” thinking that has to go into New England gardening. These four seasons are challenging at times 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That dear little vase is a treasure and now I am off to google Schwartzenberries ; first I’ve heard of them to my recollection! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have bitten off more than I can chew as usual Judy. I was in the seaside garden all weekend and still didn’t get it finished, and I was planting begonias in the dark in London last night. I really don’t have time to work!. Thanks for sharing your lovely montage of fabulous flowers. Especially love the arisaema.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Eliza Waters says:

    Your vase of peonies and coral bells looks wonderful, Judy – of course you have talent for arranging! It must smell exquisite. My first peony will open today. The benefit of all that good rain yesterday. Good things happening in your garden I see, I esp. love the apricot iris and clematis. Isn’t June wonderful?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Dawn says:

    Your garden is a rainbow of beautiful blossoms, Judy! Your grandmother’s vase is a real treasure. It looks lovely with your white peonies. Blue ribbon! ♥ Isn’t it fun to try new ideas in the garden? Your new stock tanks for veggies and your water bottle design for directing water right to the roots sound great. Hope the rainy days will turn to sunny days this week, Judy! ♡

    Liked by 1 person

  6. KerryCan says:

    It’s all happening here, too, Judy and, yes, it is an intoxicating time of year! I love your peachy irises and, well, all of it! I guess I really should take a walk around and take some photos of my own.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. bikerchick57 says:

    The flowers are gorgeous, Judy. I am a bit envious of you and many other gardeners who get to “play” all summer long in their flower and vegetable gardens. It’s therapy for the soul. Hang in there, the rain has to end soon. By the end of the week, it’s going to stop here and be very hot and humid. Not sure if I will like that any better…

    Like

  8. Norm 2.0 says:

    Wonderful shots Judy. I’ve seen that upside down water bottle watering technique before but always wondered how it didn’t get blocked up with soil – now I know what to do if I decide to try it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. A lovely looking garden, indeed

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Laurie Graves says:

    Judy, you are so right. This is the BEST time of year. Busy finishing up with planting and fertilizing. After that, it’s just maintenance, which is a snap compared with spring chores. But I love it all. Also, your simple bouquet is oh so lovely.

    Like

  11. Ogee says:

    I can’t keep up with you, and won’t even try! Beautiful vase and flowers. And exactly how much stuff is in that barn anyway? Seems like the perfect solution is always found there. When you get tired of the rain…send it to us. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Joyce says:

    Your competencies impress me! Fruit and flowers! Everywhere – and so well tended. I am sure you’ll find eventual success with your lavender cuttings. Your grandmother’s vase – living on so happily to see more pretty flowers enjoy its support is touching. Grandma knows this, I’m sure. I’m one of those who believes she is right there with you, smiling away!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. joey says:

    Fabulous! It is a wonderful time of year for gardeners. I’m starting to see my foods come to life, but it’s taken so long, I’m glad I have the flowers despite the rains.
    Not a single lavender seed took. Not inside sitting in front of the southern exposure, not outside next to the tomatoes, not in the ground on the south side. I cannot grow it from seed. Reading of how you’ve struggled with cuttings makes me feel I’ll need to buy lavender plants. *sigh*

    Liked by 1 person

  14. I’m not gardening much these days (rented house, already landscaped), but this is a great time of year for me anyway, as there are plenty beautiful flowers all around as well as wild in the parks. When I was young, we had peonies, so they always bring back good memories, as well as memories of the ants always lurking inside of the blooms. 🙂

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Nancy says:

    Even though you may have had a few setbacks… your flowers are beautiful! And I think your flower arrangement is PERFECT!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. pbmgarden says:

    Your grandmother would be pleased with your beautiful vase of peonies. You should link up to Cathy’s meme. Interesting technique for watering. Your garden has really come into its own now.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Oddment says:

    I often cannot believe a flower is real. It is too beautiful to exist. That is my reaction to the white peonies and the apricot iris. The grandma’s vase is a charming touch. For the love of gardening indeed.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. lulu says:

    How right you are. I’m loving every new petal, bud and bloom that appears.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. This is so fresh! Beautiful pictures and your grandmother’s vase is really lovely 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  20. We are overwhelmed by the Gypsy Moth invasion. It’s really taking the bloom — in this case literally — off the rose(s).

    Liked by 1 person

  21. germac4 says:

    The peonies are absolutely gorgeous, you must be very proud of them…….they are difficult to grow here so I think of them as being very exotic. I love your inventive way of managing your watering system.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Brenda says:

    Your post perfectly captures a New England June. Those peonies! Ours are hugely budded but not yet out. Thank you for the follow up on the lavender, but how disappointing. I have a scraggly old lavender that sent out some low lying branches that have taken root, so perhaps your new method will work. Please report back! Enjoy the June bliss.

    Liked by 1 person

  23. I like that white Clematis and the Jack in the Pulpit. I’ve given up on Jack as he always seems to come down with rust in my garden. As for what’s keeping me busy: weeding, staking, staking, weeding. Also, what’s a schwartzenberry?

    Liked by 1 person

    • That weeding and staking never quite get finished they just go on to the next day. 🙂 It is a blue berry, smaller than a blueberry and has more seeds. They were brought over the Volga Germans and we brought the seeds with us from KS. Baked in desserts they are wonderful childhood reminders for my husband.

      Like

  24. pommepal says:

    A lovely flower gallery. Gardening is such a pleasure always something to keep you busy. The lavender pinned down should work. Did you make a small slit on the underside of the stalks where they touch the ground?

    Liked by 1 person

  25. Grandma Kc says:

    I love the peony blooms in that vase! Simple but so beautiful! Glad summer is finally here and you can play in the dirt! Hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

