Weekly Photo Challenge: Curve

Bishop of Llandaff Dahlia

These are the curves of the Dahlia Bishop of Llandaff in my garden.

My blogging friend, Dan, at The Frustrated Gardener has the most gorgeous Dahlias I’ve ever seen. This one is a little too tame for his landscape, but he did mention it in a post; and it hit a hot button with me. My grandparents’ farm was in Landaff, New Hampshire, and I have wonderful memories of my summers with them on their farm.

I ordered five bulbs, but only three have made it. That is okay, because I would have been happy with just one bloom, and the way it looks I’m going to have several.

Gardening is a joyful venture all in its own, but when you add a connection to beloved grandparents and a favorite blogger, it is just a marvelous adventure that puts a gigantic smile on my face.

Have a great weekend and a wonderful Father’s Day. If you are trying to decide what that perfect gift is, remember time with that special person is always the best gift of all.

🌺     🌺

Don’t forget to check out the other curves.

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Photography, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Curve

  1. That’s gorgeous.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great choice of dahlia Judy! A classic. Sending you a big smile back across the Atlantic 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. So lovely, Judy. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. pbmgarden says:

    Beautiful bloom Judy and great Father’s Day advice.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Gorgeous color, Judy! Time is the perfect gift not just for Father’s Day. And it doesn’t have to be stored anywhere, so no clutter. 🙂

    janet

    Liked by 2 people

  6. So nice to see blooming dahlias. Nothing is blooming here … except the fuchsia. I’m hoping that they will bloom late rather than not at all.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Dan Antion says:

    That is such a beautiful flower, Judy !

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Sue says:

    The colour is superb and the image just makes me want to reach out and touch it. Beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: Curve (Young Man River) | What's (in) the picture?

  10. Oddment says:

    What a lovely beginning to my day! Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Just put some dahlias in this year…now I wait to see. Boy, oh boy, that red! I remember an old friend who had many, many varieties of dahlias and how bold and cheerful they were in his garden. Your photo of that sharp red bloom reminded me….thank you, Judy. I love how you so often refer to your grandparent’s farm when talking about plants and gardening…their days still important to your days now. Best to you, Judy….and howdy to Dennis!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. KerryCan says:

    I have a bunch of dahlias, too, but none quite that bright and saturated a red! I love that you chose it because of the name. I’m forever picking flowers, and apples, based on their common names and some way they resonate with me!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. germac4 says:

    Loved the dahlia! What a colour! And I completely agree with you, time is the best gift of all, especially for a parent.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Laurie Graves says:

    As we Mainers would put it, that is some dahlia. And how wonderful that it brings back such warm memories for you.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Perfect curves and memories:)

    Liked by 1 person

  16. pommepal says:

    Such a gorgeous, vibrant colour.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Joyce says:

    I saw this photo on FB before I had a chance to get over here and enjoy everything I’ve missed over the past two weeks. I almost fell off my chair at the vibrancy! This is just stunning. It’s almost entering a new realm of color!
    Seems like you can pretty much grow anything! I’ll bet if you planted a spool of thread, there’d be a queen size quilt rolled up waiting for you the next morning!

    Liked by 2 people

  18. Grandma Kc says:

    That is an excellent photo and beautiful flower! Made even more beautiful by the connection to family. Enjoy it my friend. I hope you get lots of blooms!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

