Flowers feed the soul

It’s lily season in New England. I know they only last for a single day, but I love them anyway.

They’re the same, but different. The colors are all beautiful. They’re straight, and they are curly. They are large, and they are small.

They’re like us humans – all different, but all beautiful. πŸ’—

Collage_FotorLily

“Gardening is a matter of your enthusiasm holding up until yourΒ back gets Β used to it. “

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Gardening, New England, Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to Flowers feed the soul

  1. Nadezda says:

    Judy, lovely day lilies, especially I love the curly ones. Your collage is beautiful.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Judy these are just beautiful! Our day lilies bloom in May and June and I have been missing their blooms! Thanks for reminding me how beautiful they are.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Flowers feed the soul! So true and you never ever can have enough soul food! I have a question, what do you do to your lily plants once they stopped flowering?

    Liked by 2 people

  4. KerryCan says:

    That’s a beautiful array of flowers! I wish we could celebrate the differences among humans as we do among flowers . . . .

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Dan Antion says:

    Most of ours our orange. Thanks for sharing the beautiful colors, Judy.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Brenda says:

    You have a beautiful variety there.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Joyce says:

    Ours just popped out too! They’re along the edge of the woods and so pretty in orange and yellow. I love the way they spread by themselves and resist dying the second I look at them the way most flowers do!

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Hello my friend…as always your flowers are stunning. Hope you are staying cool in this heat.

    Liked by 2 people

  9. Cee Neuner says:

    Beautiful lilies. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  10. pbmgarden says:

    Beautiful collection Judy. Mine are done for this year except for an aggressive, old roadside-type thug of one that I can’t seem to get rid of.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. My soul thanks you.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  12. We’ve had a huge bumper crop of day lilies this year. There are SO many on each stalk … I wish they would last forever. They are my favorite garden flower, I suppose because they are so dependable and tolerant. Not to mention beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. So beautiful, Judy. Love the frills. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  14. germac4 says:

    I love the day lilies because they always pop up unexpected, and all are different but lovely, just as you say. I love your gardening quote too!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Maverick ~ says:

    Good selection of lilies, beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. joyroses13 says:

    Very pretty and great quote!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Rupali says:

    Beautiful post.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Nancy says:

    I am here and enjoying them right along with you!!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. They are just beginning to open here in Maine as well, Judy. I do love them ….daylilies are just plain happy and seem to really speak ‘summer’. And the assortment, quite stunning!

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Oddment says:

    Ah, the soul and the bones — the wherewithal of the gardener! That kaleidoscope of lilies is balm for both. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  21. lumar1298 says:

    Yes they do… Lovely pictures…

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Judy you have such a beautiful variety there! ::)

    Liked by 1 person

  23. These are all so lovely! Beautiful shots πŸ˜ƒ

    Liked by 1 person

  24. What a lovely gallery! Our good friend Mark Zennick, an American now living in Shropshire, has well over 2000 in his collection and we love to go see them.

    Liked by 1 person

  25. reocochran says:

    I liked all of the colors in contrast to each other. I am rather partial to the pinkish and lavender rosy colored ones. The curly-edged ones always remind me of ruffled blouses. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  26. wordzfrommeblog says:

    I LOVE lilies and daylilies. They do feed the soul. We have a Will Rogers Park in Oklahoma City where I had my first taste of lilies, and they were beautiful. It stays in your heart.

    Liked by 1 person

  27. Grandma Kc says:

    Your lilies are beautiful! Really doesn’t matter what color they are. Should be the same with humans. Have to admit I worry about you traveling.

    Liked by 1 person

  28. Karen says:

    I wish I could have dug up my lily collection and taken it with me to Florida. Not enough cool weather here for them to grow and bloom. I’ll just enjoy your beautiful blossoms instead. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  29. Pingback: Flowers feed theΒ soul β€” NewEnglandGardenAndThread | Old School Garden

  30. dweezer19 says:

    Exceptionally!

    Like

Leave a Reply

