Thursday Doors

DoorCollage

I pass this beautiful New England home several times a week on my way downtown. It always makes me smile, but what really amazes me is that two-story screened in porch.

In a lot of cases, these larger homes have been divided into apartments, but it appears by the single mailbox that it is still enjoyed by one family.

I can imagine ladies in their Colonial dresses sitting on the porch doing some handwork while enjoying tea and cakes.

Do you love it and wish you could have a tour or can you leave it?  🙂

Linked to Norm Frampton’s Thursday Doors, July 21, 2016.

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Photography, Thursday Doors and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. joannesisco says:

    I love these old stately homes and would LOVE to live in one. Never mind the old colonial ladies, I can imagine ME sitting on the veranda sipping a drink and reading a book … or simply watching the world go by 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

  2. KerryCan says:

    I love it! I’d love to see the inside–I’m always curious about how current homeowners mix the old/quaint and new/convenient in these homes!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oddment says:

    Oh, please, invite me!

    My eyes immediately went to that porch, both screened and not, and then to the wonderfully aristocratic front door. I covet it all! And to think you can see this any time! Thanks for letting us see it too!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Love these doors — and New England architecture, too. Thanks for posting!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Dan Antion says:

    I love this house, Judy. I can only imagine that it is a challenge to maintain, so at this age, I might not want to live in it (unless I had enough money to hire a maintenance crew). Great choice. I can see why you like driving by.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. mvobsession says:

    look forward to your doors every Thursday 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Murphy's Law says:

    What a magnificent home. Would love to see inside. I’m not as interested in ladies in their colonial dresses sitting on the porch doing handwork. I picture ME, in my capris and t-shirt sitting on that porch reading a Harlan Coben book!! Lol!

    But I wouldn’t want to foot the bill to heat that grand old girl in the New England winters!

    Thanks for sharing. You never disappoint.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m with you on the dress code and the good mystery and then maybe either a nice white wine or iced coffee. I think we could have a good running conversation as well. 🙂 Yes, the heating of that building must be a number that would be staggering. The homes of that era did not have any insulation and even after it is added it’s not quite the same. So, I’ll keep admiring from the street. 🙂

      Like

  8. I’d love to see it, but my first thought on owing one is the same as “Murphy’s Law”: Oh, the heating bill! I’d love to have a porch, screened or not, although two stories wouldn’t work on our rental house. 🙂

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  9. What a house of dreams! You could think up lots of dramas that might have gone on there many moons ago.. It’s nice to know I’m not the only one that sometimes stops to admire and take in what they see around them.
    Wonderful blog and pictures too, Thankyou.
    And yes a tour would be nice but might shatter my illusion of how I would expect it to be, so maybe I will stick to my imagination this time!

    Like

  10. Joyce says:

    After years of decorating my colonial style house and hanging quilts and displaying antiques like old crocks and sugar buckets, I’d say I’d be first in line to admire this elegant senior lady! My “Early America” is copied, the places you live among are authentic!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Relax... says:

    Gorgeous! I married a carpenter, so a friend made us an Adirondack chair, and I’ll probably have to forego the long held ceiling-to-floor bookcases dream, but I’m still holding out for a screened-in porch! Those lucky ducks!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. bikerchick57 says:

    This is one of those homes that you wish you could explore inside…the nooks and crannies and the porch! Thanks for sharing this very cool home, Judy.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Dawn says:

    What a gorgeous treasure of a home! I would just love to tour the inside, noticing all of the beautiful, historic details and hearing all of the stories this home holds. It would also make a lovely B&B, wouldn’t it? You pass the most wonderful places in your daily travels, Judy! New England is calling to my heart! ♡

    Liked by 1 person

  14. pbmgarden says:

    Yes, please, I’d like the tour.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. joey says:

    I’d stroll through, mmhm, but where I live, these are still kinda common. Must have been all the rage to build a ginormous house on every Midwestern street. Way too big for me and my dresses, lol! How do they even pay for heat and cooling and can you imagine how much plumbing and paint? Yikes! When I see houses like this I always have two thoughts, “Oh how grand!” and then “More money than sense.”
    I love the doors. Tall, narrow, wooden, those are fab. Great choice! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Such a grand old home. Lovely images. Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Sue says:

    We have a Heritage Hill area where preservationists held the line years ago. Some have been converted to apts but with pretty strict guidelines to keep the original details. When I worked as a public health nurse I was in a project assessing lead hazards. Loving old homes, I “learned” to mention wainscoting, cherry banisters etc you get the idea! I would usually get an invite to see more. Two birds, one stone. I saw some fantastic homes, albeit some in sad shape and a chance to evaluate possible hazards.

    Liked by 1 person

    • What a great profession and an opportunity to learn about historic homes. Win, win. It certainly takes lots of money to keep them in good repair, and I’m guessing that is why so many are subdivided. I would love to sit on that porch for an afternoon. 🙂

      Like

  18. Norm 2.0 says:

    One of my favorite things about driving through towns in this part of the country is big beautiful homes like this; just gorgeous! Though it’s way to big for us and I could never manage the maintenance myself, it sure is nice to admire 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Great photos. I love New England homes, even a studio apartment in one would be a delight for me.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Grandma Kc says:

    Take me on a tour! And please pour me some tea or a beer and lets sit on that screened in porch! I bet that place is just amazing inside. I would love to have an old home like that. But I bet it is a lot to keep clean!

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Love it! I’d enjoy sitting on the veranda reading, having a nice cuppa, and watching the passers by, and chatting with girlfriends. I’d love to see inside it too.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. I love it and would so enjoy having a peek inside. It’s like the home in one of my favourite movies “Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe”.

    Liked by 1 person

  23. germac4 says:

    Wonderful photos of this house Judy……and how I wish the rooms could talk and tell us all about the families in the past…my favourite way of learning about history is through people’s stories.

    Liked by 1 person

  24. This house looks like a place where you could come stay a while. 🙂 We looked at a brick colonial here in Virginia with a wood paneled den that looked destined for cigars and bourbon.

    Liked by 1 person

  25. Candy says:

    Love it! It looks so grand.

    Liked by 1 person

  26. Eliza Waters says:

    I would love a screened porch for sleeping outside in the summer – as we did when I was a kid.

    Liked by 1 person

  27. I’d love a tour if only of the porch! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  28. Such a beautiful home! I absolutely love the porch. I would sit out there everyday. 😃

    Liked by 1 person

  29. Nancy says:

    These door posts of yours are fabulous! And what is behind each door?!?
    By the way… I gave you a shout out in my post today. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  30. Denzil says:

    I think there might be room for a rocking chair there too, don’t you think?

    Liked by 1 person

  31. daseger says:

    I never tire of old doors!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

