Thursday Doors

One of the nice things about living in New England is the ability to take interesting day trips so yesterday we headed sixteen miles south to the town of Exeter.

Exeter was founded in 1638 by Reverend John Wheelwright and was one of the four original towns in the colony. It was also a seaport in the late 1600’s and 1700’s and served as the capital of the state during the American Revolution.

Collage_FotorEDoor

This beautiful Town Hall and the cupola on top holding The Statue of Lady Justice were built in 1855.  It sits at the center of the historic downtown.

A few feet away from the historic Town Hall is a wonderful bandstand. The original one was erected in 1895 and replaced by this one in 1916.  On Monday nights in July each year there are brass band concerts which have been going on since the founding of the Exeter Brass Band in 1847.

Collage_FotorStand

Directly across the street from the Town Hall on the other side of the Bandstand is the historic 1809 Inn by the Bandstand. Exeter has a lovely small downtown area with numerous shops and restaurants.

FabricQuiltI have to admit my main reason for visiting Exeter was to check out fabric artist Nancy Morgan’s exhibit at the Seacoast Artist Association.

If you sew, quilt or even admire talented craftsmen, I would highly suggest checking out her website. She does things with fabric and thread that the rest of us only dream about.

Historic doors, buildings, bandstands and talented artists – all good things on a beautiful summer day. 🙂

 

Linked to Norman Frampton’s Thursday Doors, August 4, 2016.

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in New England, Photography, Thursday Doors and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. KerryCan says:

    Wow–that quilt artist is doing amazing work! I love the seacoast scenes especially. I haven’t been to Exeter–1638 is ancient by US standards!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I watched a local show that showed her studio and some of her projects. I was so amazed I had to go see it in person. The ones on exhibit were all behind glass so I had trouble getting even one photo without reflections. She stitches from the back, clips the material on the front and uses pieces of netting and lace for shadows. To look at it up close just absolutely blows you away. To buy one would blow your budget away too. 🙂

      Like

  2. joannesisco says:

    What a lovely treasure of a town so very close to you! I’m quite fond of bandstands – my hometown also has one … but most impressive is that Exeter has had a performing brass band for almost 170 years!! All I can say is *wow*!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Murphy's Law says:

    What a beautiful piece of America Exeter is. So meticulously kept up for all these years. There was a bandstand where we used to live and concerts were given all summer. Everyone brought chairs, a picnic supper, lots of wine!! Youngsters came in their pj’s and (mercifully) fell asleep on blankets. Even dogs came to enjoy the music!

    I checked out Namcy Morgan’s website like you suggested. OMG!!! The more I looked the more I couldn’t believe what I was seeing and how it was done. What a talented, creative artist. Thanks for bringing it to our attention. I love seeing all these wonderful places and exhibits from the comfort of home! 😜

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bandstands and concerts = happy family memories. 🙂 When I saw the coverage on her on our local NH TV, I couldn’t believe it. I had to see it for myself because I just couldn’t imagine how it was done. In the story, they showed that she drew a pattern on the back of the base fabric, then laid the fabric on the top, stitched from the pattern on the back, and then trims the fabric on the front. Lace and thread is used for shadowing. She was asking from $250-$1,600 for the ones at the exhibit. That’s way out of my budget, but I can’t imagine the hours invested in each project. I am going to order one of her books where she describes how she does it because it still amazes me. 🙂

      Like

  4. Nancy says:

    That quilt was amazing! But oh the New England I fell in love with… Thank you for taking us with you on your short road trip!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. bikerchick57 says:

    Judy, you live in such an interesting area, rich with history and beautiful old buildings. I’m glad you get to enjoy that without having to drive too far. Nice post!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. joey says:

    Great doors, stunning sky, beautiful buildings, but oh, that quilt! WOW!

    Liked by 2 people

  7. You are surrounded by so much beautiful history …I will certainly check out her website as well 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Dan Antion says:

    So many beautiful things in such a small area. That is New England, Judy. I love the historic buildings, but I’m also a big fan of the craft-work people do. That little sample you shared here is beautiful and it’s hard to imagine someone making it. Is this where Phillips Exeter Academy is? I have a friend who attended. I’ve always assumed it was in Exeter but I never bothered to look it up.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. BeckyB says:

    Love the quilt . . .a work of art. Also love your post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Joyce says:

    I enjoy the glimpses of American history you share with us. That band stand is so iconic. I’m glad they rebuilt instead of just considering the original an antique from the past.
    And the quilts! Amazing! I had to stare to closely to make sure this one wasn’t really one of your photos!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I love the Inn with its Carriage entrance and lovely portico and cheery yellow and white colors.

    The Town Hall is wonderful too. Such rich history you have so close to you.

    I’ve made a few lap throw quilts, but they were slap-dash crazy quilts. I wish I could sew and quilt something this beautiful. It’s a work of art not something to throw on to chase the chill away while reading or watching TV.

    Liked by 2 people

  12. What a beautiful place. I followed your link to Nancy Morgan’s site. Her work is amazing, no wonder you wanted to see her exhibition.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Oddment says:

    If I tell you that I used to scotch-tape pieces of fabric together by way of sewing for my dolls, will that give you some idea of how awed I am by this fabric art? And that bandstand and the history of its brass band is just what I needed to read about today. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Norm 2.0 says:

    You have just about everything I love about New England all in one post – well done Judy. The Town Hall shot had me thinking back to a wonderful unplanned visit a few years ago to the Lebanon Opera House on the other side of the state 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  15. Lovely, classic New England. And so very tidy. No construction. That may be unique to the region.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. pbmgarden says:

    You find the most interesting places to highlight. That inn is beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Grandma Kc says:

    You do have so many places close by that are so steeped in history. What a wonderful place to go and spend the day.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. germac4 says:

    Loved the photos of Exeter … I had a very good history teacher who taught us some US history & seeing these photos brings it all flooding back . Also loved the bandstand … Many Australian towns have them …oh the stories they could tell!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Annie says:

    She is an amazing artist… such talent, and, by the way, welcome to Exeter. Did you by chance check out the removal of the Great Dam? It’s been quite a spectator sport in Exeter.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. reocochran says:

    Judy, I loved the beautiful quilt-like stitched wall art hanging. It was the “piece de resistance!”
    I am one who looks at the art, then studies the buildings and setting next. 🙂 The Exeter bandstand and Inn by the Bandstand were both historical and showed fine craftsmanship. The burgundy or wine door with the white posts and balcony, along with a golden buttercream building just was gorgeous.

    Like

  21. Karen says:

    So close to where we lived in Danville. One of my favorite places to visit…the farmer’s market, Loaf and Ladle, the Handkerchief Factory, all were on my rounds there.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. dunelight says:

    Thank you for the trip to Exeter. That quilt is marvelous! Which reminds me, I love your banner photo. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  23. reocochran says:

    I enjoyed seeing this older post and the quilt plus other sight seeing places in your area still take me back East. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

