In-Laws

There are a lot of jokes about in-laws, but I’ve never needed the humor because I married into the absolute best family ever.

For an only child from the Northeast to marry a young man from Kansas who had eight living siblings was a dream come true. My mother and father-in-law were both the absolute best. They were role models on how there was always plenty of love and understanding to go around.

We’ve been married a long time, have outlived my in-laws, one brother and one sister in-law, and the rest of us are all getting up there in years. That happens if you are lucky enough to live a long life. 🙂

This year one of my brothers-in-law fought successful battles with both open-heart surgery and bladder cancer. It wasn’t an easy fight, the moving forward has been a challenge, but he’s with us and his quality of life is good.

When he was young, he lease a Texaco gas station to support his growing family while also attending college. He graduated with honors and bought into a local accounting firm. He has nurtured it into a family owned business that now supports three generations of his family while it continues to be a vital part of their small Kansas community.

CarA few years ago, he and his sons bought an old gas station where they could work on cars, watch a football game, or just hang out together. This summer the ‘boys’ repainted the garage, added a Texaco sign and his childhood nickname, Chub.

We all have families and work on our relationships, but some do it better than others. This family knows how to support, encourage, and show their love for each other.

Texaco

Happy Monday, friends, and I hope you have a wonderful week and that you take time to reflect on your good fortunes.

My mother-in-law loved her flower and vegetable gardens, and my father-in-law loved picking his Schwartzenberries. So, I’ll be smiling while I’m deadheading and berry picking this morning and reflecting on my good luck to marry into this family. 🙂

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to In-Laws

  1. My in-laws suck. BUT, this has made me appreciate my family more than I already did. And my husband now has a supportive family when it comes to HIS in-laws. 🙂

    Like

  2. Rupali says:

    Lovely post Judy. Stay blessed.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. What a great family to be joined with. What is a Schwartzenberry? I love the story of the Chub’s Texaco. Great classic car too! Praying the health problems don’t get in the way of him having fun in his final years!

    Liked by 3 people

    • Mary, the berry is a small blue berry with a lot of seeds and not quite as large as a regular blueberry. They are somewhat tedious to pick, but a pie in the dead of winter almost causes my husband to swoon. 🙂 We brought the seeds with us when we moved East and plant them every year. My FIL counted them when he picked them and kept a running tally. I don’t do that, but I think of him every day when we pick them.

      Liked by 3 people

  4. joey says:

    How nice 🙂 Gorgeous car!
    I love my in-laws but they make me crazy. I’m sure that’s exactly how they feel about me, too.
    My husband loves his in-laws and they don’t make him crazy.
    Hardly seems fair. 😉

    Liked by 5 people

  5. lorigreer says:

    First, I am crazy about that car!! Yes, marrying into a loving family is wonderful. Also, being able to appreciate, receive and give love is vital to successful relationships. I have a feeling that you hit a home run on all three!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Sabiscuit says:

    That yellow is delicious. Gorgeous classsic. Have a great day, Judy. xo

    Liked by 1 person

  7. pbmgarden says:

    Wasn’t familiar with that berry. Have fun picking. Great to enjoy your family so much.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Dawn says:

    Such sweet memories, Judy! What a special family you have! I grew up in a small, quiet family and married into a very large, Greek-American family. It took a while to learn everyone’s names! It was such fun getting to see the interactions in a big family. So much love on both sides of our family… and we count our blessings every day! Have a good week, Judy! ♡

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I wish that’s the way it had happened for me. It didn’t, but that’s what I wanted. Not this lifetime, I guess.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Norm 2.0 says:

    Loved this Judy. Supportive families, including in-laws are so important. For those who have that in their lives, it is a special gift indeed.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Prior-2001 says:

    U are very fortunate and glad it was so win win – the yellow car is nice and looks like the paint job is perfect – 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Ogee says:

    My own mother was not a great fan of mothering. My mother-in-law stepped in to that role. What a gift. Thanks for the smile. Happy Monday!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Lovely tribute to your in-laws, Judy. I was also very fortunate with mine. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Donna says:

    Very nice tribute. I was lucky, too.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Sue says:

    Chubs Texaco….That’s a real “man cave” Great tribute post Judy.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. What a lovely tribute to your in-law, Judy and I am sure they were/ are equally happy with you!!! The car is absolutely fab!!! xo Johanna

    Liked by 2 people

  17. Mr ET has a large family too – seven sisters and a brother. My Mother-in-law was the best ever and one of my best friends. We’re lucky to have such wonderful families.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. joyroses13 says:

    A heart warming post! Thanks for sharing! I love my in-laws as well!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Gillian says:

    What a lovely family Judy. People are what really matter in life and it sounds like you’ve had a ball with them all. Lovely post.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. germac4 says:

    Lovely to hear of your lovely in -laws Judy, I too have married into a big family who are warm & accepting of everyone. .. How lucky are we!

    Liked by 1 person

  21. Wow! That is really sweet and you are really lucky somehow… With all those siblings how does everyone get along. The older I get the more I find out about the dynamics of our extended families and the less I like everyone. It makes me sad. I liked being in the dark. What a lovely post!

    Liked by 1 person

  22. reocochran says:

    I have had great relationships with families of friends and ex-husband’s

    Liked by 1 person

  23. reocochran says:

    Your family being small helped enhance the positives of a large family with 8 children. I think you are an all around pleasant person who appreciates special qualities. This old fashioned well-kept yellow car with a real “trooper,” who has overcome a lot in his life really warmed my heart. Makes me think of liking at the “sunny side of life,” Judy. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  24. Eliza Waters says:

    I loved reading your accounting of your blessed family life. We need A LOT more stories like this!

    Liked by 1 person

  25. Oddment says:

    That car really made me sit up straight! For one reason, I’m not used to cars so clean. For another reason, it’s not a flower. It took me completely by surprise. A great graphic for your story. You sure packed a lot of family history into a few paragraphs. Very nice indeed. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m not a car enthusiast, but I couldn’t help but be impressed when on our trip this year I saw what they had accomplished. The interior is as meticulous as the exterior. A project that you can tell was done with a lot of love. 🙂 They are a really unique family, and I’ve always been impressed by the love they show each other.

      Liked by 1 person

  26. KerryCan says:

    Your message here is so positive–love the lovely people you’re lucky enough to be blessed with, support each other, and savor every moment we’re given!

    Liked by 1 person

  27. Murphy's Law says:

    Love the car!! Love your relationship with in-laws even more. I come from a small family and married into a LARGE Italian/American family. Unfortunately, neither family was brimming with love or good will. Sigh…..

    So nice to know there’s loving families out there. Make no mistake my friend, you won the lottery with your in-laws, but they got a treasure in you!!! Enjoy your wonderful memories. Best wishes for good health to all of you. 😍😍

    Liked by 1 person

  28. Each family entity is unique isn’t it? It always makes me wonder how we, humans, can be so different. I don’t have any answers, but I do think about it. 🙂 Good health to you too. 🙂

    Like

  29. Beautiful, warm, and lovely thoughts, Judy. And I bet those in-laws realized what a catch Dennis was bringing into his large family. So lucky to have such love in your life…from all!

    Liked by 1 person

  30. That place takes “Man Cave” to a whole new level!! And oh my that car !! Love the colors of it

    Liked by 1 person

  31. I’ve heard the saying “the family that plays together, stays together” 🙂 What a nice tribute to your family! I’ve heard all the jokes/horror stories about in-laws, but I am lucky enough to enjoy mine as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  32. What a heartfelt post. I have married into a family that is quite the opposite to my own in many ways, mostly good. My mother in law is an amazing gardener and is my inspiration, the only thing is that we are worlds apart, but she has blessed me with her son and that I am most thankful for.
    Thankyou for making me stop and think xx

    Liked by 1 person

  33. joannesisco says:

    It’s so refreshing to read about families that like one another and support each other. I wish there were more stories like this. You are certainly blessed!!

    Liked by 1 person

  34. Grandma Kc says:

    You did get very lucky! I did much better the second time around! LOVE the car!

    Liked by 1 person

  35. Joyce says:

    What wonderful people! But I’m sure you were an easy person to embrace when you came in that door for the first time to be shown off by Dennis!
    The car is beautiful! I don’t think I’ve ever seen a bright yellow vintage one. Those in-laws are an enviable group – imaging just going out to buy a “man cave” and filling it with fun things to enjoy together – doesn’t happen too often! Every family could learn something from them. So glad they are yours!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

