Thursday Doors

Blue Door

There are a lot of lovely historic homes in this part of the country, but the vast majority are white.

This lovely home stands out from the crowd with its beautiful colonial blue color and red door.

It has a three car garage, but it had a really ugly truck parked in front of the third bay so I edited it out. 🙂

Blue House

I don’t know who lives here, but I can imagine they must smile as they drive in because this is without a doubt one of the best looking homes in town. It could use a little touch up paint on the garage doors, but, hey, nothing is perfect.

Happy Thursday. It is going to reach 95° today with the humidity over 90%. I’ll be finishing a book, working on a wall hanging, and enjoying the AC and the ceiling fans.  Stay safe and cool where you are.  🙂

Linked to Norm Frampton’s Thursday Doors, August 11, 2016.

About Judy @ NewEnglandGardenAndThread

Master Gardener who enjoys gardening, quilting, photography, and traveling.
This entry was posted in New England, Photography, Thursday Doors and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Thursday Doors

  1. joyroses13 says:

    It is lovely! Thanks for sharing! Supposed to be high humidity here as well! So thankful for A/C 😉 Have a great day!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dawn says:

    Such happy colors, Judy! Blue house houses with red doors are my favorite color combination. I chose a lighter blue color… and our back door is red! We are having the same weather here. Hot, hot. hot!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. It looks like a cheerful home! I love the carriage doors on the garage. Funny how it was left all white. Maybe with the need for paint they will consider matching the home!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Murphy's Law says:

    Eye-catching entryway. Handsome home. Garage? Not so much! 😜 But as you point out, nothing’s perfect.

    Hot and humid here as well. Air feels like you could drive a Sherman Tank through it!! But it is August, and I would rather be complaining about the heat than the freezing cold!! Lol! Have a great, relaxing weekend. Once this heat/humidity passes, we’ll all be up to our ears in weeds!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Dan Antion says:

    This is a beautiful house, Judy. I really like the entrance, and the red door is perfect. Garages always need something 🙂

    We’re heading into that same hot and humid wave. I’ll be in my garage, getting started on a small home improvement project. Fortunately, I’m not out in the sun yet.

    Enjoy the book, the AC and the (artificial) breeze, and have a great weekend. I’m starting mine at noon today.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. To me that looks like a classic New England front door.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. dennyho says:

    This is a beautiful (love that RED) door on what I think of as a classic New England home. Very pretty.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Norm 2.0 says:

    Lovely home indeed Judy; the red and blue contrast nicely. High 80’s, low 90’s with stifling humidity here too – I can’t even think of being outside in this weather.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Hot and humid here today, too, Judy, and I’m sensing a theme from the comments. I agree that this would be a beautiful house to come home to and so different from those around us. I do love seeing the different styles, not just in this country, but around the world.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Love the house and the door. Very New England.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Love that pretty red and blue. It is the same weather here…already 80 some degrees and like the tropics. The smell of broccoli cooking is wafting from my kitchen because I am cooking dinner NOW lest I melt trying to do it later. Same weather as yesterday and I don’t see relief in sight in the forecast.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. joannesisco says:

    I LOVE the colour of that house!! A 3-car garage isn’t shabby either 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Pat says:

    Very striking!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. boristoronto says:

    Very memorable house, it looks like it should be featured in a postcard.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. That’s a beautiful shade of blue on that house. I hope you’re keeping cool enough. Here in Ireland we’ve been having our usual hit and miss summer. Last week my husband turned on the heating because it was quite chilly one evening. Thankfully, today the sun has paid us a visit here in the south east but I saw a video someone posted on facebook of the Cliffs of Moher in the west and it was foggy, with rain. I wish I could send you some of our cooler weather. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  16. That’s a great door in that colorful colonial home!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Eliza Waters says:

    A fine and handsome home! Stay cool!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. pbmgarden says:

    That is a lovely home.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. I used to live in a house virtually identical to that one, except gray-blue, not dark aquamarine (?). Those houses are wonderful inside. Roomy, bright, big rooms. It was a great old house.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Oddment says:

    Oh, that cool blue! It is so needed! Here in Indiana trying to breathe outside is like trying to breathe under water. I ditto everything in the comments above — except the one from Ireland, of course. At least this door looks cool even if nothing else there (or here) is.

    Liked by 1 person

  21. joey says:

    Gorgeous. I love a blue house. They’re rare these days. I drove through a suburb I hadn’t been in in 20 years today…it’s changed so much, I almost got lost, but I saw some stunning homes, and my fave was BLUE. What a stunner that one is, with it’s symmetry and it’s bold red door. Classic.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. I have a soft spot for a red door. And this one is a beauty!

    Liked by 1 person

  23. germac4 says:

    I love that New England house! Good luck with the heat & worse still the humidity .. Thank goodness for AC!

    Liked by 1 person

  24. KerryCan says:

    I love that you cropped out the ugly truck–it was the right thing to do! Hot here, too–I feel like the Wicked Witch of the West . . . I’m melting!

    Liked by 1 person

  25. Vicky says:

    A beautiful house, lovely doors, looks fairly grand ( and expensive) …I expect their air conditioning is pretty good!

    Liked by 1 person

  26. Grandma Kc says:

    What a beautiful home to come home to. I notice they have window fans on the 2nd floor — bet they need lots more than fans to keep cool right now. Sorry you are suffering so.

    Liked by 1 person

  27. Nancy says:

    The red door on this house welcomes us with a cheery hello! Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  28. Lovely post, and beautiful house,I love looking at beautiful properties near where I live too. We are quite rural here in Wales, UK and a lot of properties locally date back as far as 1600s so I’m sure you would have a field day here!

    Liked by 1 person

  29. I love the color scheme, the door, and the house. It says Americana to me.

    Stay cool!

    Liked by 1 person

  30. Joyce says:

    My favorite style of house! I insisted on it when we built ours in 1985. When we moved in, it looked like a giant cardboard box that fell off the back of a UPS truck! I went to paint stores and was impressed at the color combinations that recalled New England homes. I needed to paint shutters, trim, and the front door. My husband painted that door 4 times before I made my final decision on a deep green. This home is really striking – someone really took their time to scheme it. Wish they’d finish the garage though! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

